We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I would like to comment on my stay there for one night on May 13th in room 125. Yes, the property could use some updating but overall, everyone there was accommodating and gracious, rooms spacious, clean and comfortable, the ocean front view was incredible and the location is right in near the middle of town close to shops and restaurants. Also, the price was half of what other ocean front rooms were in Laguna that weekend. I loved this place and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay! There's nothing better than waking up to a beautiful view of the beach. Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're looking forward to seeing you again next time you're in town.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    371
    165
    141
    129
See reviews for
382
525
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

The hotel was clean and manageable but not up to the standard of other JDV Hotels or worth the price. The hotel seemed to spend their money in the wrong places. The hotel welcomed us with a hand written card and bottle of wine, but this couldn't cover up for the fact that the hotel needed some serious TLC and updating. The walls are paper thin and doors and cabinets very old thin wood. The hotel was painted in cheery colors but pillows and beds were lumpy. They promoted the hotel as having a full kitchen but had no plates, dinnerware, microwave, or toaster. If you are coming here and have no where else to stay, this place will work. But looking for a great vacation spot.... I vote no.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 484AshleyT484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
I'm sorry that you were disappointed. We take pride in making each guest feel comfortable, so it's upsetting that you felt your room was not up to par.

It is unfortunate we did not inform you, but we do have kitchen kits avaliable upon request. Furthermore, your bed should not have been lumpy. I will make sure that every bed is in perfect condition.

There is always room for improvement, and your review inspires us to do better. Thanks for bringing these concerns to my attention. I hope you'll give us another opportunity to impress you next time you're in Laguna Beach.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Too much to mention I stayed in room 208 great location for beach access and shopping and restaurants service was impeccable nothing bad to say can't wait to go back parking is 22 bucks a night but hey it's laguna and parking is all paid parking everyone should give this hotel a try you will not be sorry

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigsexyandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
There's nothing better than relaxing on the beach! Thanks for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location! Front Desk was extremely friendly and accomodating with my requests. The deck had an amazing menu! The warm pita bread with a delicous hummus and olive mixture that even my boyfriend, who dispises ALL olives, couldn't keep his hands off of and the calamari was very fresh and serve with an amazing jalapeno tartar (to die for)! I'm a huge bloody mary fan on mornings when I am planning on relaxing for the day and I have sincerely not had a spicy bloody mary that was perfectly made in months! The deck's spicy bloody mary was soooo good and definitely perfectly made. Juan the bartender was ON IT and managed to bartend the entire restaurant but still engage just enough in conversation with us to let us know we were on his priority list at all times! The room itself had an incredible view of the ocean! You could look our from our ocean front room and see the ocean as far as you could possibly sea. Waking up and falling asleep to the sounds of waves crashing...can't get any better than that! Excellent service, increidble views, great food, killer bloody marys...we'll definitely be back to the Pacific Edge!

Room Tip: Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go! and it's unbelievably affordable for what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Jamie,

Sounds like an excellent getaway! I'm so glad we could help you and your boyfriend relax on the beach. Of course, a bloody mary never hurts! Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you next time you're in Laguna Beach!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torrance, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This place is great for a weekend get away at the beach. A little older than expected from the photos but rooms decorated nicely and fit the beach atmosphere! Get the ocean front, it is a must and you can see everything from your balcony and leave it open at night to hear the crashing waives. The Deck had awesome food and drinks...try the lemon basil martini...YUM!
The beach house restaurant was great for a nice dinner. The beach staff was so nice and pointed out whales, dolphins and a seal. Dont be dissapointed when you drive up, as others have said it looks like an old motel, and it is, however, nicely repainted and perfect spot on the beach. Having the fridge in the room was great. There is a place a block away called the Orange Cafe that has the best breakfasts!! The provide beach towels and beach chairs and you can walk where ever you want to go. Bring paper cups as the glasses in the room are small and bring your robe. They dont provide them and it is so nice to sit on your balcony and have coffee in the morning. The cabana's looked like fun too.

Room Tip: beach front all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenturq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And it's great that you were able to spot some wildlife with the help of our staff — that must have been an amazing sight! It sounds like you had a lovely stay. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your time with us that much better! We'll see you next time you're in Laguna.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.0 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.3 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.1 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
1.2 km away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price range (per night): $227 - $551
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing