We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location! Front Desk was extremely friendly and accomodating with my requests. The deck had an amazing menu! The warm pita bread with a delicous hummus and olive mixture that even my boyfriend, who dispises ALL olives, couldn't keep his hands off of and the calamari was very fresh and serve with an amazing jalapeno tartar (to die for)! I'm a huge bloody mary fan on mornings when I am planning on relaxing for the day and I have sincerely not had a spicy bloody mary that was perfectly made in months! The deck's spicy bloody mary was soooo good and definitely perfectly made. Juan the bartender was ON IT and managed to bartend the entire restaurant but still engage just enough in conversation with us to let us know we were on his priority list at all times! The room itself had an incredible view of the ocean! You could look our from our ocean front room and see the ocean as far as you could possibly sea. Waking up and falling asleep to the sounds of waves crashing...can't get any better than that! Excellent service, increidble views, great food, killer bloody marys...we'll definitely be back to the Pacific Edge!

Room Tip: Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go! and it's unbelievably affordable for what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Jamie,

Sounds like an excellent getaway! I'm so glad we could help you and your boyfriend relax on the beach. Of course, a bloody mary never hurts! Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you next time you're in Laguna Beach!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    358
    160
    136
    123
See reviews for
370
509
47
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
torrance, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This place is great for a weekend get away at the beach. A little older than expected from the photos but rooms decorated nicely and fit the beach atmosphere! Get the ocean front, it is a must and you can see everything from your balcony and leave it open at night to hear the crashing waives. The Deck had awesome food and drinks...try the lemon basil martini...YUM!
The beach house restaurant was great for a nice dinner. The beach staff was so nice and pointed out whales, dolphins and a seal. Dont be dissapointed when you drive up, as others have said it looks like an old motel, and it is, however, nicely repainted and perfect spot on the beach. Having the fridge in the room was great. There is a place a block away called the Orange Cafe that has the best breakfasts!! The provide beach towels and beach chairs and you can walk where ever you want to go. Bring paper cups as the glasses in the room are small and bring your robe. They dont provide them and it is so nice to sit on your balcony and have coffee in the morning. The cabana's looked like fun too.

Room Tip: beach front all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenturq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And it's great that you were able to spot some wildlife with the help of our staff — that must have been an amazing sight! It sounds like you had a lovely stay. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your time with us that much better! We'll see you next time you're in Laguna.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hollywood, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We regularly frequent JDV hotels. We are members and watch for deals from JDV and/or Hotels.com. The hotels are relatively pricey, but worth it. For reference, our other favorite chain is Kimpton. We discovered Pacific Edge after we stayed at the Huntington Beach sister property Shorebreak. We like Pacific Edge because it is pet friendly, Laguna is a vacation paradise and the beach front rooms are literally on the beach. You don't get many rooms where you could throw a stone into the water from your balcony. We love to bring our two terriers and enjoy the pet friendly beaches. For other dog owners,it is such a relief to take a vacation where you can bring your dogs and it is comfortable. They can sit on the beach with you, eat at awesome restaurants like Sundried Tomato Cafe and get groomed at Anything Canine. The hotel rooms are what you should expect for a room directly on the beach. Basic, colorful and clean. There is a small fridge and Kuerig coffee maker. We always request a micro. There are a million wonderful places to eat, but we love breakfast take out at our table in front of the sliding glass doors while we watch the ocean. We get awesome fresh juice and other delightful food from Orange Inn, which is just behind the hotel. The hotel offers a facility to work out off site. It is nothing fancy, but gets the job done. We usually use the beach for work outs. The on site spots to dine and drink are totally appropriate. Outdoors, on the beach, live music, good looking people and classic California menu. There is something for everyone in Laguna and you can't pass up the experience of staying in one of the beach front rooms at Pacific Edge. We go back as often as possible.

Room Tip: Must get room on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOCJAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
You're right — there is something for everyone in Laguna, and we try to mirror that in our hotel. It is lovely to hear from you, especially since you've come back to us time and time again! I'm glad that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay. Of course, let us know if there is anything we can do to make your time with us that much better! We'll see you next time you're in Laguna.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Pulling up to the hotel it doesn't look like much, decorating the front lobby again and exterior would help as it feels like a motel at first, don't expect a resort. But dont let that impression fool you, it only gets better from there if you have an oceanfront room awaiting you. It is located in a very convenient location, very easy to walk down the street to visit all the shops and restaurants of Laguna beach. Ralphs is a block away. The hotel is separated into several buildings and separated by an alley. We requested early check in and a quieter room, upper floor for the oceanfront king we booked. We were given room 705 in the Surf bldg which was beautiful, very large, top floor, kitchenette, 180 degree views, literally hanging over the shoreline. Stunning, great people watching, can't be beat. We viewed another room in the reef bldg to be sure and it was much smaller and did not have as huge a deck. I was very impressed by the staff and their willingness to accommodate. When we could not get real creamers for our coffee since room service wasn't open til 8am, the front desk sent us coffee in to go cups and creamers from the lobby!
The room service is also very good and fast, serviced by the Beach House restaurant kitchen I believe. Great burger, chicken fingers, fries, lobster bisque, lobster quesadillas, ahi sashimi, yellowfin, spinach salad, chocolate lava cake, all very very good, high quality items.
The bed is very comfortable with high end linens. Great blow dryer hanging in bathroom, love that they thought of that for us girls with long hair. They could use more shelves somewhere to place your toiletries and make up bags.
They set up the beach umbrellas and beds for guests. The Deck is a fabulous oceanfront lounge for cocktails. I wish the pool and hot tub were oceanfront but it is a lovely area, could use more flowers and foliage for my liking. The resorts are all too far to walk to town, it is nice to be able to explore the area without renting a car. The mall at Newport beach was a short 15 minute cab ride away and worth the visit.
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you book oceanfront and being very close to the water is what you want. If you're not happy with something, just ask, they will try to accommodate you. Excellent service makes this place worth the visit.

Room Tip: Room 705 in the Surf building was fabulous, top floor, very large with great deck and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
We always love hearing such thoughtful, thorough comments from our guests. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay! The oceanfront view truly can't be beat. I'm thrilled that you were so impressed with our staff. They really will go above and beyond to make sure that your time with us is fabulous. Thank you again for the review. We'll see you next time you're in Laguna.

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

From the beginning there is no place to park for check in, but after finding a parking meter on the street and checked in we were directed to return to our car and drive around the block to valet parking. Maybe they don't understand the meaning of valet parking which turns out to be in the middle of the street with traffic passing through from both directions. No real system of organization here. After checking in our car comes the really confused part. With our luggage in hand we find our way into the smallest elevator I have ever been in. When we get to what we think is our floor, we realize we can't get to our room (#20). So we take the elevator back down to lobby level where we started. (Why didn't I unload luggage here in the first place?) So now I have to climb a flight of stairs with my luggage. But it is a good thing I made this hike because now I know where I have to go to get ice. Down the stairs, then down the elevator and back out to valet area for ice. Once into the closet sized room we are greeted by a dank smelling room with a broken noisy rusted A/C which is actually blocked by a heavy curtain that doesn't move. We had to use a chair to hold the curtain from blocking the A/C. A huge bulky analog TV actually takes up most of the room on the dresser. The counterless bathroom was the biggest disappointment. One 2 foot long 2 X 8 inch board serves as a shelf. A couple more bathroom shelves and a flat screen TV alone would improve the quality of this room along with a properly funtioning A/C. No information was provided on the room or amenities, but we were able to obtain some information from front desk. Hotel website says two heated pools - we found 0. The deck lounge was disorganized chaos at best, with watered down drinks, sub-par food, and lousy service. And the hits just keep on coming. When we left and complained, we were told we should try to book an Ocean Front room. After $500 for 2 nights in a closet I wonder what that would cost me. Laguna Beach is beautiful with lots of great places to stay, visit, and eat, but the Pacific Edge is not one of them. You can do so much better for this kind of money.

Room Tip: Absolutely avoid rooms 16-20. Ocean front rooms appear to be in newer condition from outside but I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich-N-LorasView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
I'm sorry to hear about this. It is disappointing that you were unhappy with your room. Did you ask to move? We're always happy to accommodate those requests whenever other rooms are available. It is also unfortunate that you were unable to find the pools. However, I can assure you that we do indeed have two pools on our property, as well as a jacuzzi. Remember that we are always happy to help, so don't hesitate to reach out if you need assistance locating anything in the surrounding area.

The experience you described does not meet our standards, and I apologize. I appreciate your honest feedback, and I will share your review with our hotel staff as well as The Deck's staff to see what we can do to improve. I know we can do better. I want to make this right for you. Please call me at (949) 494-8566 if you'd like to discuss this further.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.0 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.3 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
2.3 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.2 km away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price range (per night): $210 - $444
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing