We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well a Worth It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montage Laguna Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montage Laguna Beach
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well a Worth It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our Wedding Anniversary and this hotel could not have been a better place to spend a long weekend being pampered. There are too many examples of how the service exceeded our expectations but I did want to mention a few. They have a complimentary car service (Mercedes SUVs) that ferries you back and forth into town. Great for those who do not want to drink and drive (which should be everyone!) and parking downtown can be a nightmare. The lobby piano player/singer was very good and even took the time to learn our request (our wedding song) and play it for us. I could go on and on about the excellent service from the front desk, the Spa (which has an unforgettable view of the Pacific while you are working out), the restaurant and the pool boys. Selecting this hotel is an easy decision and will make you look several IQ points smarter (and I need those point!).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSailo1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Montage Laguna Beach is extremely fortunate to have such an amazing team of associates. I am glad that their kind assistance contributed to your wonderful stay. Happy belated anniversary. I hope it was just one of my celebrations at our beachfront resort.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    168
    60
    32
    24
See reviews for
274
452
34
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I celebrated a slightly belated 25th anniversary get-a-way for 4 days and The Montage was a lovely location.
Check-in with the valet service, baggage handling was amazing along with someone showing us to our room and making sure we understood all that was available to us and comfortable.
We had a beautiful view of the ocean along with the relaxing sounds of the waves. We enjoyed the patio, comfortable bed, spacious bath area, with the use of soft robes and bath products. We enjoyed nightly turn down service 2 of the evenings but they forgot us the 3rd. We were looking forward to the sweet treat for that night. A few finishes in the room need slight updating and the bath drains need a slight adjustment but we felt very comfortable.
The spa services were top notch. We enjoyed a "togetherness massage" and Peggy and Gina made sure we received the perfect massage for our needs.
We enjoyed each of the 3 restaurants on different days and the service and food at each was nice.
Our party of 4 at "The Studio" would have preferred the music to be much lower and actually asked 2 times,(it was turned down for a short time then turned up again) It was difficult to hold a conversation which is a shame for such an exclusive restaurant, We were anticipating an elegant relaxing experience, which was not the outcome.

Besides very small issues mentioned above we would defiantly return to The Montage property again if the occasion presented itself in the future.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the main pool area, which someone mentioned in a previous review tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glee4533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
293 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

At montage for four days...I can not come up with a single negative here. The hotel location is amazing. The staff is the best. The food is wonderful. The spa is the best we've been to. The style is ideal and the pool is gorgeous. We love the ritz and four seasons, etc but montage has everything done to the extreme. It could be the best hotel in the west, we certainly will be back and can't wait to do so. An experience soon not forgotten.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Your comments of our resort are sincerely appreciated. Your compliment of Montage Laguna Beach as "best in the west" is more praise than we could ever ask for.
We look forward to recreating a wonderful experience for you in the near future.
Many thanks,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed for 7 days in August. Amazing views and beautiful coastal eastern elegance. Check in was very impressive and entire staff were wonderful. Room was beautiful, but near a service door, so we heard clanking and carts moving in and out most of the time. Housekeeping must have been short staffed, because our room was never cleaned before 3:00PM and one night came by at 9:00 PM for turn down service and missed us on Saturday evening. Complimentary gym classes were fantastic. Restaurants were great. Our dinner at the Studio was perfect!. Our server, Roger, treated us like royalty.
My main complaint was the pool area. You were lucky to find a chair and felt more like a kids camp. One day we came by later in the afternoon and were told by pool staff all the chairs were taken, but we could sit by the kiddie pool. Really? Drinking a coctail waching 3 year olds cry and fight is not my idea of relaxation. After 45 minutes noticing half the chairs were still empty, we just moved ourselves .Every day it was a fight to find a chair because hotel guests would save the chairs early in the morning and then return when ever they felt like it.
I would return to this hotel, but not during peak season.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
I am going to follow up with the team immediately to address the issues you encountered. I share in your disappointment over the noise disturbances and challenges at the pool, and am saddened that your relaxation was compromised. I would like to personally ensure that your future visits are seamless. Prior to your next stay, please contact me at the email or phone number I provided you in a private message. We look forward to redefining your experience.

Warm regards,

Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

From the time you pull into the valet parking area upon arrival to the time you leave you are pampered and treated like royalty. Yes, it is pricey but this is a beautiful property with great service. The person who checks you in escorts you to your room personally followed closely by the bellman with your bags as well as a chilled bottle of complementary sparkling wine in an ice bucket. All rooms have ocean views with the beach mere steps away.
The quality of the meals and service in all of the dining facilities was outstanding.
Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joebftsplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
4.2 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.9 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
4.6 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.4 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.3 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Property: Montage Laguna Beach
Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-4221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price range (per night): $1,088 - $1,469
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including including rejuvenating wellness options at the 20,000-square-foot Spa Montage; gourmet dining at Studio, The Loft, or Mosaic Bar and Grille; outdoor relaxing by one of two onsite pool decks; and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing