We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Cypress
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My wife and I just completed a 3 night stay during the last week in Jan/2012. The room was great, view of Lake La Quinta was beautiful, breakfast was wonderful, and the helpful personnel,Chris and Mary were courteous and very helpful. We would highly recommend this quaint location to anyone who wants a QUIET Getaway.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonsaibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    34
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
160
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

First off I would like to get this out of the way; I'm rating this hotel with 3 stars only because we had a discounted rate through Living Social. If we had paid full price for this weekend i would have expected much more. Now that is out of the way let me begin...Our weekend at Lake La Quinta Inn was quiet and relaxing. The hotel is located in a residential area, with a few hotel/resorts sprinkled amongst the homes. The area is quiet and serene. The view of the lake from our room was great! (see pics) We arrived late, after the office had closed, but we were given a door code to get in and our key and paperwork was right where we could easily find it. The check-in was smooth, no hassle. Upon entering the room we were greeted with a cute little gift box that included some body lotions and such. Very nice. The place was clean and we had a first floor room with french doors that opened right onto the lake. Very nice. The room boasted a fireplace, but we never lit it, because it was July (hot!)

My husband and I had a super fun weekend. After arriving in a summer downpour and learning I left my iPad on the top of the car and killed the hard drive in it, I figured I deserved a big frozen yogurt. By this time the rain was really coming down hard, but we called the froyo place up the street and the awesome young man said he would stay open until we got there. YES! Thank You froyo guy! So we ate big overflowing cups of froyo covered in toppings as we snuggled up to watch the storm. Very nice!

The following day we drove to Palm Desert and strolled through the shops, had lunch at Tommy Bahama's outside balcony. Highly recommend the fish tacos and the pina colada cake. That evening we dined at The Cliffs in Palm Desert. We weren't expecting much at dinner, but were pleasently surprised with the food and service we received. The next day we spent lazing by the lake under a tree in some adirondack chairs that had been set out (see pics). The warm sun and blue sky along with the sparkly lake after a summer storm made us happy to be alive and in love.

It was a nice weekend. Now about the room....they say a picture is worth a thousand words, so I've posted a few for your review. You will see for yourself that Lake La Quinta Inn is not the Four Seasons. The room, the decor, the bathroom, even the bath towels all need updating. We had heard the hotel had just undergone a remodel and it did look like there was a fresh coat of glaring white paint in the bathroom, but it seriously needs much more. The decor in the room amounted to Ikea's weekly special. The towels were dingy and scratchy. The shower tile was early 1970s. In addition, the landscaping was dead and burnt out. At the front entrance you are greeted by one of those gaudy plaster or stone cupid angels. Dead bushes and grass, no flowers, trash mixed in among the dead plants (see pics). And no, this was not due to the location (dry desert). Everywhere else was green and lush.

So, the bottom line is this- Yes, the place is quiet and clean, but unless you are visiting with a special discount or coupon you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: They offer a basic sit-down breakfast. It was pancakes and everyone has the same thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OCAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiovanniGiammarco, Owner at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
We are sorry you were disappointed with the aesthetics your stay! We have since done even more remodeling. Also, our landscape was in the middle of a seasonal change, hence why you say the grounds were dry/bare. We had just had the gardener uproot the grounds and prep them for our spring flowers, which we currently have in place!
We hope you will come back soon and check us out again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here a couple of months ago. We got a little break from our kids - yea!
The hotel is off the beaten track, it sits right on a lake which is very scenic. It's quiet and clean. The breakfast was substantial and set us up right for the day. There's a pool that has plenty of lounge chairs to sit and while away the hours.
We'd go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Habra, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

This bed and breakfast was amazing! Beautiful, clean room! Jacuzzi that fit 2 with plenty of room! No interruptions. So much privacy. Great breakfast! Chris and his staff were so helpful! Chris took care of making our dinner reservation for us at a local resteraunt, and we were treated like stars! This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and we will definately be returning in the future!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Great place to take a romantic get-a-way! Loved our jaccuzzi tub, fireplace, and beautiful lake front view!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaInLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
2.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
1.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
2.3 km away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.0 km away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.8 km away
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Property: The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
Address: 78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Price range (per night): $210 - $524
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chateau at Lake La Quinta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta now more than ever has everything you need to recharge and reconnect. Modeled on a French manor, The Chateau brings old world charm and service to the desert. No request is too big or detail too small. Want The Chateau all to yourself? The resort is available to buy out for corporate and special events, including weddings, reunions, golf outings and more.A chic boutique with a gorgeous lakeside view, picturesque surroundings and stunningly appointed guest rooms awaits you at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. Energetic and vibrant with an intoxicating mix of attentive service and desert solitude, The Chateau invites indulgence and overwhelms your senses. Fresh from a $3.5 million renovation, which has transformed the property, adding thirteen additional new guest suites, a spectacular new lakeside restaurant, Melange, along with a beautiful new lobby bar, The Chateau offers its guests spectacular lake views from all 24 guest suites, outstanding food, sourced from California's finest family farms, and premium cocktails and wines. The Chateau is a remarkable, new, desert experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chateau at Lake La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
The Chateau At Lake La Quinta California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing