We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
41
21
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
21
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room new wing keurig coffee machine newer rooms large room sink area nice shower ac unit free breakfast windandsea beach five minute walk travel lodge first morning mission beach the ground floor great room san diego
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in March 2018. The photos online don't do justice to this place. Our room looked very small online but was actually spacious and comfortable. The location is great, close to the beautiful La Jolla beaches. My only complaint is the extremely low shower pressure and the thin walls.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Wow! Thank you Liz for the great review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies for the low water pressure, we will certainly look into that. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We stayed two nights in two rooms. We appreciated that the hotel upgraded both our rooms from standard to a studio, which was in a brand new building. The rooms were spacious, very clean, had a small balcony, great air conditioning, a refrigerator and microwave, Keurig coffee machine, very comfortable beds (including an extra sofa bed) and great comforters. While the balconies opened toward a main street we had no problems sleeping (with windows closed and A/C on). The breakfast (included) was very good. The hotel has a small but nice pool and its own parking lot. Overall we had a very nice stay. Thank you Rali and Justin for helping with information needed for the reservation and for the upgraded rooms.

Room tip: Rooms on the top floor are quieter
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suzannaPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you Suzanna for the great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your upgraded rooms to our newly opened building. We just love these large rooms! We hope to see you again soon! Wendy Molton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

I spent some time here while working in the San Diego and I can't say enough good things. The property is unique and charming, and is located very close to the beach. The room was very clean and service was excellent. I look forward to staying here again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Linzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you so much Linzie! We are so proud to be your hotel of choice when working in the San Diego area. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Wendy Molton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Our stay was for 2 nights at the end of January. Stayed here based on a good AAA rate and good reviews and proximity to San Diego. Front desk staff very pleasant when we arrived and she walked us to our room. Too my surprise we were upgraded to a suite. Luckily the street noise did not bother me but if you are a light sleeper it may. Our first morning there was an issue with the shower drain not draining. I notified the front desk on our way out for the day and thanked me for notifying them and stated it would be fixed. They did fix the issue and upon check out gave us a discount on the room for "our trouble". I was not expecting anything from this small issue but very much appreciated it. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear First time in Southern Cali - January 2018! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your first visit to SoCal, we are so happy you picked us out of the many options in the surrounding area. We are just thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip! Sincerely, Wendy M., General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Stayed here for several nights while on business. My room was in a little courtyard, and was very quiet. Everything looked modern and was spotlessly clean. The bathroom although cosy had an excellent walk in shower. There is an outdoor pool and the wi-fi was very good. Breakfast was typical HIX standard. Very convenient for downtown La Jolla (15 min walk) and is only 5 mins from the beach. Would certainly use again.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank DesertDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

To the Desert Drifters, Thank you so much for staying with us while you were here for a long stretch on business. We hope you had some play time in between your work schedule... We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Wendy M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews