We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
USD 148
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 234
USD 200
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
USD 233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
USD 179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Shores Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
USD 303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 400
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
USD 552
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
29
14
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew wingkeurig coffee machinenewer roomslarge roomsitting areabreakfast roomwindandsea beachfive minute walkbreakfast includedfirst morningmission beachstayed heresan diegovery nice stayfront deskthe ground floorgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in March 2018. The photos online don't do justice to this place. Our room looked very small online but was actually spacious and comfortable. The location is great, close to the beautiful La Jolla beaches. My only complaint is the extremely low shower pressure and the thin walls.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Wow! Thank you Liz for the great review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies for the low water pressure, we will certainly look into that. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We stayed two nights in two rooms. We appreciated that the hotel upgraded both our rooms from standard to a studio, which was in a brand new building. The rooms were spacious, very clean, had a small balcony, great air conditioning, a refrigerator and microwave, Keurig coffee machine, very comfortable beds (including an extra sofa bed) and great comforters. While the balconies opened toward a main street we had no problems sleeping (with windows closed and A/C on). The breakfast (included) was very good. The hotel has a small but nice pool and its own parking lot. Overall we had a very nice stay. Thank you Rali and Justin for helping with information needed for the reservation and for the upgraded rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suzannaPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you Suzanna for the great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your upgraded rooms to our newly opened building. We just love these large rooms! We hope to see you again soon! Wendy Molton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

I spent some time here while working in the San Diego and I can't say enough good things. The property is unique and charming, and is located very close to the beach. The room was very clean and service was excellent. I look forward to staying here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Linzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you so much Linzie! We are so proud to be your hotel of choice when working in the San Diego area. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Wendy Molton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Our stay was for 2 nights at the end of January. Stayed here based on a good AAA rate and good reviews and proximity to San Diego. Front desk staff very pleasant when we arrived and she walked us to our room. Too my surprise we were upgraded to a suite. Luckily the street noise did not bother me but if you are a light sleeper it may. Our first morning there was an issue with the shower drain not draining. I notified the front desk on our way out for the day and thanked me for notifying them and stated it would be fixed. They did fix the issue and upon check out gave us a discount on the room for "our trouble". I was not expecting anything from this small issue but very much appreciated it. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear First time in Southern Cali - January 2018! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your first visit to SoCal, we are so happy you picked us out of the many options in the surrounding area. We are just thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip! Sincerely, Wendy M., General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Stayed here for several nights while on business. My room was in a little courtyard, and was very quiet. Everything looked modern and was spotlessly clean. The bathroom although cosy had an excellent walk in shower. There is an outdoor pool and the wi-fi was very good. Breakfast was typical HIX standard. Very convenient for downtown La Jolla (15 min walk) and is only 5 mins from the beach. Would certainly use again.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank DesertDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

To the Desert Drifters, Thank you so much for staying with us while you were here for a long stretch on business. We hope you had some play time in between your work schedule... We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Wendy M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews