We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Hotel was dated. WI-FI connectivity was sporadic. When I called the front desk about poor connectivity it they suggested that I call the ISP - that's the job of the front desk, not the job of the guest. No parking near rooms, breakfast was average at best. Broken light switches. A poured concrete top on the nightstand with rough edges - really? On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and the room had a mini-fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redandbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express La Jolla during your recent visit. We are happy you did and that you found our beds very comfortable. We have 24 hour technical support for guest Wi-Fi. This support team can determine the exact problem and location. Remotely reboot, reroute and or assist with laptop configuration in a much more efficient manner than we can. Please accept my apology for not communicating this service appropriately while you were here.

Best regards,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    118
    62
    23
    14
See reviews for
102
89
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed here December 27-30, 2011. It's very close to the best beach in La Jolla, and about a 5 minute walk to local eating establishments (10-15 minutes walk will get you near the center of La Jolla with loads of restaurants, shopping etc). The room was nicely appointed, and there was always a place to park which is a plus in where parking can sometimes be an issue. Everything in the room worked fine, including the wifi which for some reason often has problems in hotels. The free breakfast was good, with eggs, sausage/bacon, cereals, bagels and breads, etc in a comfortable eating area. The staff was very nice. It's not a full service hotel with a concierge, room service etc - it's a middle tier hotel that is a lot less expensive than pretty much everything else in its area. The only thing some folks might have a problem with is some road noise, which you would have in any low-rise hotel near the street. I didn't have a problem with it, and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohio44124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Great little hotel near the best beach in La Jolla last week. I had the opportunity to walk down to the beach on Saturday and spend a little time in the sun…It sure was beautiful.

Happy New Year! We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Had wedding guests stay here. Overall mediocre reviews from the entire family. One pair of guests stayed elsewhere due to ?mold? issues. General manager Susan Knapp is great. The hotel IS within walking distance of the best beach in La Jolla / San Diego but culinary options are limited unless you have a car. Cautiously recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Thank you for the recommendation. I’ve recently taken over for Susan, and from what I understand she is terrific. I love our location near an awesome beach and close to Downtown
La Jolla and all the fabulous restaurants and shopping.

Best wishes for a Happy New Year!

Larry

P.S. We’re working hard to eliminate caution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

No, we were not greeted as priority club members. Don't think they cared.

No, there was not much parking. We were lucky to squeeze into a space in their dark parking lot. It didn't seem like they were at full occupancy.

No, we were not told how to get to our room (which turned out to be confusing in the dark, outside with no clear signs.) We requested an inside room but weren't given one & wasn't told that our room was outside.

No, the room was not clean. The floors were extremely sticky & my white socks (which kept sticking to the carpet) turned so black I had to throw it away. Plus, the base of the shower had mold under the sealants. Not sure it's sealed.

No, the floor plan was not great. The light for the vanity area shines straight at the beds with no door in between. So, when I woke up at 6am for my conference both my husband & son had to wake up because there was no way to block the lights. I didn't use the restroom in the middle of the night for that same reason.

No, the breakfast was not good. We stay at many HIE throughout the country. This was the worst. We had to find food elsewhere.

No, the front desk person did not care. When my husband told them that the floors were dirty, she asked "Why? Did you spill?"

We changed our hotel at the last minute (paid at least $50 more) to stay at this hotel, first for the HIE brand and second for the convenience of being near my conference so the boys could sleep in. What a horrible mistake. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NongNoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Thank you for the review regarding your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I care greatly about the service and product we provide and would really appreciate the opportunity to learn more regarding your experience. Please contact me when you have a few minutes.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
858-454-7101
lclark@pacificahost.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura County
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

How can you complain when you happen to be in La Jolla in December and it's a balmy 79 degrees? This hotel is little older and has been redone, my room was really large with a little kitchen that was convenient. The bathroom was redone with great shower, no shower/tub combo with the yucky shower curtain. Free breakfast, free wi fi and free parking are a plus for this area. The beach (La Jolla Strand Beach Park) is about a block away is absolutely beautiful, it's walking distance from the hotel and in the summer you won't find parking so walk it. The hotel has some ocean views from the 3rd floor. They were having some issues with the room key system when I was there but resolved it quite quickly. Overall charming property and La Jolla is lovely!

Room Tip: I like the top floors with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
2.3 km away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.8 km away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
2.0 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
2.1 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Property: Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price range (per night): $198 - $391
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing