We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for familes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good for familes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed in the suites that had a bedroom on the main floor with a second bedroom in the loft for 8 nights. Most of our recent vacations have been in condos through VRBO. However, we decided on this hotel this trip as it seemed a decent deal. The breakfasts included are a plus and the 'snacks' from Mon to Wed were also a plus. While the snacks may not be suitable for all, they can be treated as a full meal if you are willing to not have the best balanced meal for dinner. Plus free beer and wine too! This can be a big money saver and we found our kids enjoyed the snack-type food for some of the dinners just as well anyway. Get to the breakfasts meals earlier to avoid long lineups. The stocking of the kitchen seemed like a bit of an afterthought but the staff were more than willing to try and come up with the extra untensils and such we needed - most of the times they had something for us to use. The pool can get cold somedays ... whcih was disappointing ... although its apparently heated. The Spas onsite were nice. The location while not close to everything was quite quick for us to hop in the car and get to where we were going - we missed most of the peak traffic times anyway. 15 mins to Seaworld, 15-20 mins to the zoo and about 25 mins to Legoland.

Room Tip: If you have kids who like to play in the water request a room near the pool. Be aware it can get a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    273
    102
    38
    28
See reviews for
298
121
20
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The cleaning detergent used for the bed sheets and towels gave me and my husband rashes. $12/day parking seems ridiculous to me, but I haven't compared hotel parking rates in this area. The breakfast is what you'd expect for a free hotel chain breakfast. The wireless internet only seems to work occasionally in the breakfast room but I couldn't get a signal in our suite.

Pros: The location is within walking distance to the USCD campus (~1 mile).

I only stayed for weekend so I can't speak to the longer-term comfort of the suites.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alertmenow, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
"Thank you very much for your comments. We welcome all types of feedback as it allow us to improve both our service and our product. I will be personally following up with the housekeeping department to ensure that we are maintaining high levels of quality assurance when it comes to our laundry facility and that we are compliant with hospitality industry standards for our detergent. If you have any further questions or concerns please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Sincerely, Ricky Smith, General Manager."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed in a suite with a bedroom & a second bed in a loft.
The good: Very clean, cheerful & helpful staff, great location for our activities, much better than average breakfast, and the evening "snack" is almost a meal.
The bad: Living room furniture was extremely uncomfortable, wifi almost always unavailable in our suite, allowing pets in the breakfast area, and $12/per day fee for parking (cheap, cheap, cheap).
The weird: When you changed channels on the TV in the living room, the one in the loft changed also.
Also bad, but not the hotel's fault: people who load up at both breakfast & dinner like they weren't going to eat again for a week, and walk away with the food. Very tacky, people.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatriarchInTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My friend and I were very happy with our two night stay at the Residence Inn in the La Jolla area. Great staff, great location, very conveniently located off the highway and close to downtown La Jolla and UCSD campus. Rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean. The free breakfast was great, and the property itself was neat with its almost townhouse appearance.
The staff was great, very friendly. parking is $12 a night; however, there is limited street parking for free if you are lucky and don't mind the minor inconvenience. Shower was powerful with good temperature, TV was flat screen, small sitting area with standard furniture.

Room Tip: you can choose first or second floor - we did hear people walking around above us, didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula
Level Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Family Suite...How Sweet! Celebrated my birthday with my family in San Diego this weekend...with plans to have a celebratory dinner and a visit to San Diego Zoo, we decided to make a weekend of it and spend the night. We reserved the Family Suite, and my 11, 10 and 8 year old LOVED IT! Hubby and I had a room to ourselves upstairs and the kiddos spent the night downstairs. With a full kitchen we brough snacks for midnight tv viewing and the complimentary breakfast buffet the next day was crazy packed but a good start before hitting the zoo. Only downside of the suite...with three tvs, the tv remotes got confused and mixed signals...so while watching tv in the middle of the night, I turned off our tv, only to turn ON the downstairs TV! Surprise! Staff at the Residence Inn were great and it was a fun time for our family!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GobClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.0 km away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.7 km away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
4.6 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Property: Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Address: 8901 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price range (per night): $214 - $443
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of California San Diego campus and less than two miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla, California offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing