We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Property but Very Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Jolla Beach Travelodge
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, BC
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Older Property but Very Clean”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed for three days while we were visiting the La Jolla area. We chose it because it got good reviews and was within our budget. The room was older and not very big but it had everything we wanted. A comfortable king bed, TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker with decent coffee and a very small bathroom with a large walk in shower - no tub. The room was very clean and the pool was heated - a very nice bonus. There was no inside sitting area for breakfast, but we enjoyed eating on the benches outside and in the pool area. Breakfast was basic but reasonably fresh, consisting of cereal, bagels, muffins, pastries, apples and oranges, juice, tea, and coffee. The hotel provided a 25% off coupon to the Mexican restaurant across the street - nice! We were a short walk from the beach (two short blocks and a wonderful place to watch the sunset!) and the neighbourhood is lovely and quiet. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisKelowna_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    425
    105
    40
    20
See reviews for
346
393
90
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here while our son was being treated for a head injury at Scripps over Christmas. The rooms are spotless, beds comfy and the fridge and microwave a big plus.There are even laundry facilities. I can't quite say why, but there was a slightly European vibe about the place. Maybe its the white with blue trim exterior, bright flowers and professional, efficient staff.The fact that the motel is not an over built, new monster-hotel was comforting. A beautiful beach is two short blocks away and a fun Mexican restaurant across the street. I hope to return, just skip the hospital visits.

Room Tip: upstairs toward back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguanga, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I recently stayed at the La Jolla Travelodge in La Jolla California while my husband had surgery at the San Diego VA Hospital in La Jolla. I recieved ecellent personal service during my stay of 11 days. My room was always clean when I returned no matter what time of day. I did have problems parking my Toyota Tundra but they made special arrangements for me so that obstacle was resolved. I could have easlity walked to the beach if I would have had the time but enjoyed seeing the Ocean on my trip to and from the hospital. La Jolla is a very nice place to visit. The front desk assisted me in finding places I needed to go to during my stay. The beds are very comfortable with great pillows and enough towels to keep me very happy! I used the frig & microwave every day since Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner were spent with my husband in his hospital room.. Resturants with take out are very conveniently located.. Enjoy! Linda G

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sunrise or sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff, wales
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

No doubt the Traveldoge is a bit of a mixed bag and you need to be sure that the basic motel set up works for you. If not then there are more traditional hotels in La Jolla which will take your money (and some). But for basic and clean accommodation in a brilliant location we think this place is hard to beat.
We made sure we had a room upstairs (all rooms are open to the elements) and just used it for a place to sleep; there is plenty to do within walking distance (20 mins into La Jolla; 25 to La Jolla centre), or why not pop across the road for happy hour in the Mexican restaurant?
The bed was fine and the TV worked. The bathroom is small and the shower just about OK so don't try and share it. Reception staff were lovely and didn't bat an eye when the Brits kept asking for milk to put in our cups of tea.
Overall, with the right room at the right price this place works well for those of us not travelling with deep pockets.

Room Tip: Upstairs - there are ones at the back which are away from the main car park and may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barneybear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is a fairly basic motel. The room felt a little outdated. A few specs of mold in the shower stall, no biggie I can always do without that. Free WiFi is always a plus, in this case it spatters at times, which is a minus. Since I'm visiting in January, and it's pretty chilly, I really needed a heater and I discovered that the wall mounted AC has that function as well. However, the AC is old and very noisy, so you can't really run it at night. So bundle up! And finally the included breakfast is also a plus, but the arrangement of the breakfast place is pretty unique, because it in fact does not exist -- they place the food in the tiny motel lobby, you take your bagel and cream cheese and basically have to step outside, and carry your coffee as well. Not good. If you are in the city for a short business trip, this will do in a pinch, but don't plan a romantic getaway, you will be sorry. Oh yeah, since it's located on a major thoroughfare, it can get noisy in the morning, so don't plan on sleeping in.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongIslandGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
2.2 km away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
6.2 km away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,330 reviews
6.6 km away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,163 reviews
13.8 km away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
1.6 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach Travelodge

Property: La Jolla Beach Travelodge
Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price range (per night): $155 - $525
Hotel Class:2 star — La Jolla Beach Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Beach Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travel Lodge
La Jolla Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing