We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,348)
Filter reviews
1,348 results
Traveller rating
416
422
208
144
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
416
422
208
144
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la jolla cove sea lions ocean view rooftop terrace living room prospect street main building pool and hot tub shops and restaurants microwave seagulls mike coastline california
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,348 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2021

First time here and it was the worst experience ever they try to charge more than what they say it was at first the front is racist towards Mexican people and probably other racist too said it was there mistake and still tried to charge us. they even involved the cops when there was no need we had our baby with us and did not care how late it was to kick us out.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 639ivonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 April 2021

Dear 639ivonner, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It's unfortunate to hear your comments, especially those involving race. I can assure, race had nothing to do with your eviction. When you checked in, you had a reservation for three nights, however you arrived a day early. Your reservation was from 4/23 - 4/26. You arrived on 4/22. When the front desk contacted you on 4/25 to see if you were leaving, you said you were staying another night, so the front desk tried to run your credit card for the remaining night and it declined. We spoke to you that afternoon and asked you to come by the desk to settle the remaining balance. Your keys expired on that day, but you did not check out, and you did not provide us with payment. When our night shift finally got ahold of you and told you we needed payment, you refused to pay, and you refused to check out. For that reason, we had no other choice than to get the authorities involved, and have you evicted. I hope you can understand, that without paying for the room, we cannot allow you to stay. We wish you the best and hope to serve you in the future under better circumstances. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2021

Great location for a quick get-away with the grandkids. Kristnina was awesome at being helpful, friendly and inviting. Remodeling in progress, will be beautiful and will visit soon. All shops and food were short walk, beach and sea life close by too.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tinod187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 April 2021

Dear tinod187, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you had a great time with your grand kiddo! It's also great to hear your comments about Kristina. She works hard to provide our guests with the best service possible, so your feedback is greatly appreciated. Please give us a call the next time you plan a trip to lovely La Jolla Cove!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2021 via mobile

Not only is the La Jolla Cove Suites in just about the best location, walking distance to the cove and a short walk up the hill to all the great restaurants but the view of the ocean from here is astounding! The staff who took care of us this this time, Mike and Tiana were over the top too! Truly they love their jobs as does everyone else we came into contact with who works here during our stay this week! We've been coming here annually for the last decade and plan to for many more!
Mike and Maria Heh, Huntington Beach CA

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KailuaKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 April 2021

Dear KailuaKai, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and are so happy to hear that the La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites is your favorite place to stay in La Jolla! It's especially great to hear your comments about the staff. We work hard to provide the best experience possible to all of our guests and we're grateful you've been loyal guests for the past decade. We look forward to many more visits and can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay at this wonderful hotel. The pictures of ocean views that span the horizon are absolutely true and the location is perfect for delicious food no matter the time of day.

We stayed in The Pines portion of the hotel due to renovations that are being performed throughout the main building situated next door. The room was spacious with its own balcony overlooking the ocean. We were on the third floor, which may be as low as you want for a great ocean view. There are three floors higher, and lower than the third floor the view would probably be obstructed.

There was only one “quirk.” There was no coffee maker, kettle, or microwave in the room so in-room coffee in the morning is an impossibility unless you pack your own appliances for this purpose. The hotel lobby is also devoid of coffee, but they will provide a paper cup of hot water from their own in-office microwave that you can shlep back to the room while it grows cold. However, the Starbucks is literally up the hill: only 300 feet horizontally but about a thousand feet (65 steps) vertically. I posted a picture of the alley/stairway that leads to coffee salvation.

The location is perfect for food and entertainment. The wine/olive bar at the top of the hill, We Olive & Wine Bar, (next door to Starbucks) is delicious. They serve a variety of salads, flatbreads, and other wine-paired snacks and the view is awesome. I posted a picture of this too. We also had lunch at a place called Puesto. A bit pricy, but fantastically delicious. If you like moderately spicy/tangy dishes, then do not miss an opportunity to eat here.

On our final day, we opted to pay for late, 4:30 PM, check-out. This is a super deal that allows for a weekend escape to be experienced to the fullest.

Overall, a great place that I would not hesitate to return to again and again.

Room tip: Third floor or higher for a great view!
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kdvillines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 April 2021

Dear kdvillines, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you had a beautiful weekend escape. I'm also glad you got to enjoy a newly renovated room in the Pines building, and you are definitely correct about the delicious food available in La Jolla! Please give us a call the next time you plan a trip to our perfect location at La Jolla Cove. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021

We liked the hotel location and our room. There was MUCH construction going on in the hotel, on the grounds, across the street and in the neighborhood. Temporary issue, though. We stayed in the new Pines Building and loved it. It is clean and modern with some great ocean views. Check-in was easy, and the friendly front desk young lady even let us into our room two hours before the 4 p.m. check-in time. Our room, #204, directly faced, besides the ocean, a public restroom with showers that was being built.

We had a roomy balcony, two comfy queen beds, chair and reading lamp, desk with chair, flat screen TV, small fridge, full length mirror, closet with drawers, a safe, and iron/ ironing board. There was perimeter and sconce lighting and a clock with USB ports. No coffeepot or glasses are provided. The bathroom was bright with a glassed in shower which had only an overhead, movable rain showerhead. White fluffy bathrobes and towels are provided, along with shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, Q-tips and cotton balls and a dark washcloth for removing makeup.

We liked this hotel in spite of its temporary issues. It is clean, the desk clerks are friendly, and the location is good for staying in La Jolla near the ocean. Right across the street is a park and a nice coastal trail with paths down to sea caves and lots and lots of sea lions! Note that there is a $25 parking fee and also a refundable $50 fee added to the reservation.

Date of stay: March 2021
1  Thank mercedcampgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 April 2021

Dear mercedcampgirl, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you had a good time. We will continue to work hard on improving our service & facilities, in an effort to earn your 5-star rating the next time you stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews