We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”

Crab Catcher Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Crab Catcher Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 1,250 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 50 - USD 50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cave St.
Transit: On Torrey Pines Road at Prospect Place, two blocks from the restaurant.
Description: The Crab Catcher is family run, ocean view, seafood restaurant that has been a staple in the village of La Jolla for over 30 years. Come dine with us!
Reviewed 10 January 2018

My wife and I wandered in for lunch after talking to a couple in town who had eaten a wonderful dinner there the night before. The restaurant is not obvious from the street - below street level in a small building with a central courtyard.

We were warmly welcomed and seated on the outdoor terrace with a beautiful view of the cove. Our server Cassie was fabulous - friendly, efficient and attentive. Drinks arrived quickly accompanied by wonderful bread. I ordered a salmon salad and my wife an innovative crab cake sandwich. Both were excellent!

A wonderful intimate location for a nice meal with great views of La Jolla Cove!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LightFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018

Be careful of their oysters! I read good reviews before we went to Crab Catcher and was looking forward to dining there. We were a party of five for Happy Hour on Dec. 30. We ordered one dozen raw oysters and half a dozen roasted ones with spinach and bacon. Most likely, the raw oysters were the source of food poisoning for me and my daughter; we spent the next day and New Year’s Eve in bed and the bathroom. One of our friends also did not feel well afterwards, but hers did not develop into full blown poisoning.
I must also mention that some appetizers were not great, e.g. the fried calamari were not rings, but pieces, and did not taste of anything. The martinis were weak (well, it was a Happy Hour and probably the quality corresponded to the price). The service was good, though.
I would have written this review earlier, had I not being sick and in travel back to the East Coast.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank globalgourmet2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

All six of us had appitisers, well done, and service was impeccable, brews and wine service very good

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank casacontenta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

After a very unpleasant attempt to eat at Eddy V's next door (separate review of that disaster), we grab the elevator next door and descend to the Crab Catcher's dining room downstairs. The weather is very pleasant and they also have the gas heaters going, so it's a joy to sit outside and enjoy the birds and the views. We order a bottle of Pol Roger Reserve (a rare find we did not expect in this part of the world), it's not always available even in NYC restaurants, but we love it: it was Churchill's preferred bubbly and it sounds quite timely, given the ghost of The Darkest Hour ;)
Our server, Robert, is all smiles and friendliness. We study the menu while he's reciting the specials. Bread is whole wheat, warm and crunchy and arrives promptly. My only gripe is that they don't have Olive oil but the butter is fresh and nicely presented. We start with West Coast oysters baked with spinach , smoky bits of bacon and wine sauce, they are melting in your mouth and just perfect for the bubbly. This is followed by spaghetti with clams and Baja Tiger shrimps in lemon and garlic sauce, served over some house made pasta, scrumptious!
Robert is never too far away and paying attention to all our requests. Since the food is so good, we decide to have desserts and the crème brulee is all it's supposed to be: creamy, with crunchy sugar crust and decorated with some chopped fresh strawberries. We finish this delicious lunch with some macchiato and leave happy. So glad it did not work out next door at Eddy V's!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

We drove here straight from the airport. Crab benedict was amazing. The view was great. Brunch offers included $10 bottles of champagne.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crab Catcher Restaurant also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Crab Catcher Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing