We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quiet, secluded, lovely - only wish we could come more often!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages
Ranked #3 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Desert Hills, AZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet, secluded, lovely - only wish we could come more often!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

In several visits to Redwood Hollow, we've stayed in at least 3 different cottages. Each is unique. Your cottage is down a twisty path in a lush, secluded, welcoming garden spilling over with flowers and greenery, making you feel that you are the only ones there. The staff are very friendly and helpful if you need them, but unobtrusive. The kitchen in each cottage has an eclectic collection of tools and supplies with many extras, plus a basket of treats. Probably the most reasonably-priced retreat in La Jolla, Redwood Hollow is surrounded by attractive homes and quiet businesses we admire as we stroll to La Jolla's gentle cliffs, sparkling beaches and coves; and then enjoy our favorite eateries, parks -- and this time we drove a memorably pretty 5 miles up the coast to the Torrey Pines Gliderport. Fascinating! Girard Gourmet and The Cottage, both in easy walking distance, are our favorite spots to eat. Oh, I wish we could be there tomorrow!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riparians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    26
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
38
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

My husband, my adult son and I stayed at Redwood Hollow in January. We reserved one of the larger two bedroom, two bath cottages. Initially, I have to admit, that I was a bit put off by the "fragrance" of our cottage, but then realized that it is the typical scent of a redwood paneled cabin. It's very possible, since January is not peak vacation time, that it had been tightly closed up for some time. We opened the windows wide, let the sun shine in, lit a few scented candles and the place was transformed! By the second day we were in love with our little cottage by the sea. The beach was stunning and just a few minutes walk from the front door in one direction. A short walk in the opposite direction offers the most amazing restaurants and shoppes. The gardens surrounding the cottages were charming, despite the fact that it was still technically winter. The cottage itself was immaculately clean, which is no small feat considering the age of the buildings. Once we stocked our kitchen with food we felt completely at home. There were a couple of "inconveniences" that I should mention; A nonfunctional dishwasher, and one bathroom that needed to be used "selectively"because of a fussy toilet. But, unless you have a large party of people, or young children, neither of these things should be an issue. Our cottage was right on the street, but was so quiet at night that we could still hear the ocean. We happened to meet the owner, only on the day before we left; a very nice man. Other than that, we were left to our privacy. We will definitely be returning to Redwood Hollow. Our stay was absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eafavab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

My wife and I would like to thank Redwood Hollow for having such a wonderful place to stay in La Jolla. This was our second stay at Redwood Hollow Cottages and it felt like I returned home. I thought the Sea Gate cottage was great when we were there last time and now, after staying in the Westeria cottage, I'm thinking my goal might be to stay in each one of the cottages at one time or another.

We enjoy coming to La Jolla to visit family and, staying at Redwood Hollow Cottages, makes the visit even better.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bkpacin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We were a group of 5 college roommates celebrating 42 years of friendship and our 60th birthdays! I honestly can't think of a more perfect place to do so than the Redwood Hollow Cottages in La Jolla. Our 'weekend home' was the Hidden Haven, a very spacious cottage with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, kitchen, huge living room with dining area and a lovely and secluded patio. It really was perfect for our group. We loved all the special and thoughtful touches-from the basket of breakfast goodies, popcorn, cookies, coffee and tea to the gracious welcome letter with all of our names on top to the detailed info about the surrounding area along with lots of fun and interesting reading material-the list goes on and on. The manager, Michelle was just lovely, so kind and an absolute delight to work with! We loved our cottage experience so much that we plan to make it a yearly event....at the Hidden Haven, Redwood Cottages, of course!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

My wife and I who are retired recently had the great pleasure of staying three nights at this wonderful flora-filled hideaway. Located on a main street of beautiful downtown La Jolla, it can be easily missed due to the dense foliage surrounding it. It is approximately 1/2 a block from the beach and a ten minute walk into town. The cottages are immaculately clean, eclectically decorated and thoughtfully equipped with anything you might need for your stay. Surroundings are very tropical and beautifully kept adding to the sereneness and quiet at all times. Both the owner and manager of the cottages are most friendly and courteous. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisteriaWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.0 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.9 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.3 km away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages

Property: Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages
Address: 256 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price range (per night): $188 - $429
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redwood Hollow Cottages is a historic garden oasis 400 feet from a sandy beach in La Jolla Village. We have studios, one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom separate cottages. Most have full kitchens, and some have wood burning fireplaces. All cottages have individual Internet connections and their own Wi-Fi reception. We are in a quiet residential location set on 1/2 acre of gardens. The Village with shops and restaurants is four blocks away.  We welcome you to our charming hotel alternative in America's Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing