We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, mediocre rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The room we stayed in had very limited storage space, especially the bathroom. The furniture layout was very awkward. We did find the bed very comfortable, and the location was excellent, with everything we needed within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear Sandy -
Thanks for your note about your recent visit. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip and I'm delighted to hear your positive feedback about our location. I'm sorry, however, that your expectations weren't met with the accommodations. As I'm sure you know, we are a historic hotel (celebrating 100 years in 2013). While we continue to make investments back into the rooms, services and amenities, there is little we can do about the shape and size of our guest rooms. Some appreciate the historic charm of the rooms, some prefer something a little different. If you ever do decide to come back, I hope that you will speak with our staff about what exactly you are seeking. We have 93 rooms and each one is a little different. I know that we can find just the right fit for your personal tastes and needs. Meanwhile, I thank you again for your comments.
Terrence Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,827)
There are newer reviews for Grande Colonial La Jolla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,415 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was our second stay a the Grand Colonial hotel. The staff is probably the nicest group of people tha we have ever encountered at a hotel! The view of our junior ocean suite was amazing. It truly was a special getaway for me and my wife!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

After reading so many wonderful reviews and looking at the pictures, my husband was excited to find this place... The hotel is situated in a perfect spot and when you walk in the lobby is clean and beautiful. I was excited since it looked so cute, but then we got to our room and I think we must have stayed in the same room as reviewer Maryanne because the spacing was extremely awkward and the room had a weird smell to it. I can get over the older looking furniture and the dark carpet, but the space in between the bed and the wall was so small I had to almost turn sideways to get past the bed into the bathroom/dressing area! The
dressing area is huge, and the bathroom is very clean and spacious – that I love! :) But it was so awkward getting around the room that it was kind of frustrating and not relaxing at all... Very
disappointing. Maybe it's just room 204, but it left a sour taste in my mouth. Just make sure you avoid this one.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReadySetGo_1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear ReadySetGo_1302:
Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. As you know, the hotel was originally built in 1913 (suite #204 is actually located in the original building). While we continue to make improvements to the hotel (most recently completely renovating the lobby and adjacent meeting space), we are a historic property and are limited to what we can modify to the general size and architectural shape of the rooms. We have indeed looked into moving the bed to provide more space between it and the wall but the only way to do so would be to decrease the size of the existing king bed to a queen. In terms of the odor you experienced, we are checking into that, as well, to ensure it is rectified immediately. Thank you again for providing your feedback and for noticing and commenting on our new lobby. We’re pretty proud of it!
Sincerely,
Terrence Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed there for a conference held in the Sun Room in February. My room was beautiful: lovely view of the ocean on one side and a view of the pool on another, spacious, and clean. There was a little too much street noise with the windows open to concentrate or sleep, but it was fine when just relaxing. Closing the windows adequately shut out the noise. The bathroom area, as another reviewer said, was a little quirky with a huge room outside the main bath that was simply used to accommodate a double sink and closet -- made for a roomy dressing area, I guess. I liked having comfortable chairs with ottomans and a desk with chairs on both sides. Bed was very comfortable. Wireless was a little unreliable, but FREE. Conference room was a little tight so our group had to sit in a long "u" making conversation less than optimal, but the staff was willing to help us set up chairs out on the patio for a roundtable discussion when needed. Food was outstanding, both at the conference and in the restaurant. Service was also outstanding -- I had a medical issue upon arrival and the front desk had a trustworthy doctor in my room in 45 minutes. The desk staff greeted me by name each day and asked after my health. Housekeeping staff was exceptionally helpful and pleasant. Wonderful location for walking to shopping, dining, and the ocean. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, back building, corner.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank distortiongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Thanks so much for all your hard work!! The wedding reception was fabulous!!  The food was so outstanding and he service as well!! Thank you so much agaIn!  If we lived here we would  come there a lot!  We will have to come back for a visit!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are so different and unique. We liked the Jr Suites.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.2 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,182 reviews
0.1 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
973 reviews
5.1 km away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
5.3 km away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
0.4 km away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $311 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing