We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd avoid room 204 in the Suites Building...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I'd avoid room 204 in the Suites Building...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

After reading so many wonderful reviews and looking at the pictures, my husband was excited to find this place... The hotel is situated in a perfect spot and when you walk in the lobby is clean and beautiful. I was excited since it looked so cute, but then we got to our room and I think we must have stayed in the same room as reviewer Maryanne because the spacing was extremely awkward and the room had a weird smell to it. I can get over the older looking furniture and the dark carpet, but the space in between the bed and the wall was so small I had to almost turn sideways to get past the bed into the bathroom/dressing area! The
dressing area is huge, and the bathroom is very clean and spacious – that I love! :) But it was so awkward getting around the room that it was kind of frustrating and not relaxing at all... Very
disappointing. Maybe it's just room 204, but it left a sour taste in my mouth. Just make sure you avoid this one.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReadySetGo_1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear ReadySetGo_1302:
Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. As you know, the hotel was originally built in 1913 (suite #204 is actually located in the original building). While we continue to make improvements to the hotel (most recently completely renovating the lobby and adjacent meeting space), we are a historic property and are limited to what we can modify to the general size and architectural shape of the rooms. We have indeed looked into moving the bed to provide more space between it and the wall but the only way to do so would be to decrease the size of the existing king bed to a queen. In terms of the odor you experienced, we are checking into that, as well, to ensure it is rectified immediately. Thank you again for providing your feedback and for noticing and commenting on our new lobby. We’re pretty proud of it!
Sincerely,
Terrence Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    421
    135
    37
    18
See reviews for
446
671
64
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed there for a conference held in the Sun Room in February. My room was beautiful: lovely view of the ocean on one side and a view of the pool on another, spacious, and clean. There was a little too much street noise with the windows open to concentrate or sleep, but it was fine when just relaxing. Closing the windows adequately shut out the noise. The bathroom area, as another reviewer said, was a little quirky with a huge room outside the main bath that was simply used to accommodate a double sink and closet -- made for a roomy dressing area, I guess. I liked having comfortable chairs with ottomans and a desk with chairs on both sides. Bed was very comfortable. Wireless was a little unreliable, but FREE. Conference room was a little tight so our group had to sit in a long "u" making conversation less than optimal, but the staff was willing to help us set up chairs out on the patio for a roundtable discussion when needed. Food was outstanding, both at the conference and in the restaurant. Service was also outstanding -- I had a medical issue upon arrival and the front desk had a trustworthy doctor in my room in 45 minutes. The desk staff greeted me by name each day and asked after my health. Housekeeping staff was exceptionally helpful and pleasant. Wonderful location for walking to shopping, dining, and the ocean. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, back building, corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank distortiongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Thanks so much for all your hard work!! The wedding reception was fabulous!!  The food was so outstanding and he service as well!! Thank you so much agaIn!  If we lived here we would  come there a lot!  We will have to come back for a visit!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are so different and unique. We liked the Jr Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed here on a business trip. Our small conference was held in the Sun room. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. The room held 28 people but it was a little tight becasue of the columns in the mioddle of the room. AV support was fantastic.
The junior suite was nice although the layout of the bathroom was a little quirky but that is to be expected in a non-cookie cutter hotel like this. My only complain was that the wireless signal was a little weak in parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimPA1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear TimPA1004:
Thanks for taking the time to post comments on TripAdvisor about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. As I'm sure you noticed, we just completely renovated the Sun Room (in addition to our main lobby and adjacent meeting space). While we could not move the support columns in the room, I think the improvements made to the space will be appreciated by those holding meetings, conferences and other social events. Not to mention the new flat-panel TVs allowing for on-screen presentations and remote conferencing. I appreciate your note about the wireless connection and will personally look into it. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Here's the deal -- if you want to stay in La Jolla Village proper and you want a view, and you want some services, you have always had two choices: The Grande Colonial or La Valencia. We've done both and the Grande wins hands down -- especially now.

La Valencia -- tiny rooms, lots of tourists coming in just to look. Offset, in the past, by the art, furnishings and service... unfortunately the new owners have made the lobby look like a bad Ramada Inn and I can only imagine what they are doing to those rooms! What a loss.

Grande Colonial -- small rooms (these places are OLD folks - think about it) some limited views from rooms. BUT these guys keep the place really clean, usually update their rooms and main spaces frequently and have a terrific staff. The hotel is close to the water and the village. Their restaurant, NineTen, is fabulous.

Our room was small, but very sweet and very clean. We had a limited ocean view, but with the windows open we could smell the water and hear the waves. Our bed was comfy. The bathroom was tiny, but thoughtfully done (yes that shower head is low, but my 6'2" husband worked it out). We thought it was all charming.

We were celebrating an anniversary. Not one staff member missed wishing us well... they all chatted with us about it. What you get in a hotel like this is good training... that makes all the difference. It allowed us to skip over tiny stuff and enjoy the view and the vibe.

Room Tip: You really do want to spend the money to get a partial or full ocean view -- but remember it's O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Babs45:
What more can I say than "thank you"?! On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for all the great comments. I really appreciate your appreciation for our historic charm. We're certainly not the cookie-cutter-type hotel. Every room is a little different than the next but each has its own unique appeal. And thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us. We too will be celebrating a big one next year -- 100 Year Centennial -- and hope you'll choose to come back and enjoy more of our historic charm! Meanwhile, thank you again.
Terrence Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price range (per night): $307 - $451
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing