We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay somewhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Where to begin? Check in... took 20 minutes since the desk person could not find me a room, said it was very full. Then told me there was no bellman to help with bags, since hotel was not full enough! Hotel is NOT a hotel, it is more like a series of motels, and the section I was in did not have an elevator, just outside concrete stairs.
The 'upgraded' room I got (I am a Gold Starwood) had a bathroom that in order to use or close the door, you needed to stand on the toilet, or climb on the sink. It was maybe 3' x 5' all in.
Then, at 1:20am there was a party in the center Jacuzzi (this was the side of the building the check in woman said was quiet). Big party. Called front desk as I woke up from the noise, they sent security, who just asked them to be quieter!!!!!! Of course, the minute he walked away, the party was even louder. Had to threaten to call San Diego police to get motel to tell them to get out of the Jacuzzi.
Ordered room service breakfast. Waiter shows up with no mug for the coffee (it was in a carafe!), no utensils (how to put jam on the toast???)... and the coffee was lukewarm at best.
This place is an old Radisson. Sheraton needs to tear it down, and get a new operator/management company.
Stay in any of the other hotels or motels in the area.......(was visiting nephew at UCSD), there are plenty of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cartlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Hello Cartlady,

Thank you for sending your comments regarding your recent stay. I do apologize that this was not an enjoyable stay for you. A twenty-minute check-in is certainly not the norm here, and I do know that our front desk agents took extra time by doing their best to offer multiple room options to you and explain the various access options (such as without an elevator) and also dispatched a member of our maintenance team to assist with luggage and escort you to your room. In any case, I am very sorry that your room was not comfortable in regards to the size of the bathroom. I know that your stay was further interrupted by the late-night gathering at the pool deck and I certainly do apologize for the amount of time it took to get the party removed from the area. Please know that I have passed your comments about the room service to our Food and Beverage Director so that he may follow up with his staff. If your travels bring you back to La Jolla I would be happy to assist with reservations to ensure that you are booked in a fantastic room type and that issues like this will be avoided. It is important to note that when you book through a third party, as was the case during this particular stay, that you do not get the normal SPG benefits. This is a policy throughout Starwood, not just the Sheraton la Jolla. I would love to make sure that we are able to offer the entirety of benefits to you, which now includes a Welcome Gift for our Gold Members! I hope we will have another opportunity to show you the very best of the Sheraton La Jolla.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    430
    203
    80
    38
See reviews for
361
291
84
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

From the moment we walked up to the front desk we were treated like Royalty! First treat was being upgraded to a 'club' room (I think because we used SPG royalty points to book)but it was facing the hwy so I asked if we could get one facing the inner courtyard/pool. Ari worked at it for a few minutes with a smile on her face and had us switched in no time. Any staff we ever met during our 5 day stay always had a smile for us and asked if we needed anything. I landed with a bad headcold and our room was perfectly quiet and serene. We took most of our meals at the hotel because I wasn't up to going out and we were extremely happy with every meal! Tom and Janine in Murphys were upbeat and fun ! Tom remembered our names the next night we ate there ! How often does that happen? Beds and sheets were fabulous which was greatly appreciated! I would highly recommend this property to anyone that would listen! We'll be back. The best Sheraton experience so far for us!

Room Tip: rooms facing pool and spa are supposedly best for quiet but we loved the view also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank espanolosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I have stayed at this property a few times and have not had any problems. Rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet, and a good location to UCSD and the VA hospital.

I generally go for conferences which are held at other hotels in La Jolla. I choose to stay here because of the value. SInce I went to UCSD some years ago I also enjoy walking around campus when I have some free time.

A few negatives.... the decorating done in Humphery's (the onsite restaurant) is atrocious. Apparently the owner does her own decorating and I don't think anyone has bothered to tell her that she needs a pro to do this for her. The harsh orange/red paintings make one feel as if they are diving through Dante's Inferno while diving through their pancakes. The lilac mini orchids on all the tables are a nice touch but clash horribly with the general theme. I'm not even quite sure about the theme as the place serves up French cuisine for dinner yet has a somewhat Southeast Asian / tropical feel to it.

The Bar is nice. Quiet and simple with nighly live music. Mostly acousitic unplugged style with popular karaoke on Saturday nights.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drill-n-fill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was a very cozy hotel nestled on a beautiful property in La Jolla, CA. I was very impressed with the hotel staff. Every employee throughout the hotel greeted us with a smile whenever we walked by them. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Sleeping was easy because it was a very quiet hotel. If you are staying here, I definitely recommend that you eat at their restaurant. I absolutely loved having breakfast there. The food was delicious. The location of the hotel is in close walking distance to several restaurants, movie theaters and other shops. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingguy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton La Jolla. Our room was elegant and certainly clean. We had a small fridge, microwave, iron, hair dryer and even an umbrella (that we did not need to use since the weather was so nice). All the employees that we interacted with were friendly, efficient, and went out of their way to help out..... Special thanks to Linda who suggested great tourist sites and smoothed out our check out. The hotel is in a great location with easy access to downtown, the airport, the zoo .... Great time and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.5 km away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.5 km away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
4.8 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
5.0 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
4.9 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton La Jolla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton La Jolla Hotel

Property: Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Address: 3299 Holiday Court, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price range (per night): $213 - $555
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton La Jolla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton La Jolla, a resort-style hotel on 7.5 acres of tropical beauty. Located less than a mile from University of San Diego, La Jolla VA Hospital, Salk Institute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton La Jolla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton La Jolla
La Jolla Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing