We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,717)
Filter reviews
1,717 results
Traveller rating
556
609
325
145
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
609
325
145
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lemongrass restaurant water chalet deck restaurant club suite tuk tuk main pool duty manager the main hotel pool bar phnom penh round bed white sand ocean view big hotel egg station large pool free shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,717 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

My second visit to Sokha Beach Resort, this time with my family after the earlier visit with friends. Just like the previous trip, this visit was again a memorable one particularly for my kids who enjoyed the various facilities like the pools, kids club, cart ride... Room was a nice family room that easily accommodated my family, wife and 3 small kids. Breakfast was really special with lots of variety to go with pleasant views of the beach. Overall a lovely experience giving us pleasant memories.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim I, Front Office Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Shah F,

Thanks for expressing your great satisfaction from your second visit with us. We are truly grateful to hear good words from our repeat guest.

Kindly keep sharing your experience to your colleagues and friends.

We look forward to see you and your family on your 3rd visit with us in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Sokha Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

was greeted at the entrance by staff booked into our room showed us around by buggie spent a relaxing afternoon in the pool followed by a terrific bbq seafood dinner all the crabs prawns you can eat while being entertained by a Philippine band playing all the greats definitely worth the money sunset on the beach was amazing

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim I, Front Office Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Robert T,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and by sharing it here. We have shared your good review to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.


Warm regards,

Sokha Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

This was supposed to be a relaxing week after spending a fantastic 9 days sight seeing in Pnohm Penh and Siem Reap but sadly it fell well short of expectations. The hotel is situated in an area that can only be described as a massive building site, with further building going on withinthe hotel complex itself. The room was OK but in need of refurbishment and the bathroom was certainly inferior to the other hotels we had stayed in in Cambodia. We arrived on a Monday afternoon and after dropping our bags, we had a snack at the Champa Cafe which was OK although nothing spectacular. We then went to the main pool - first impressions were good - a lovely big pool with plenty of sun beds as the hotel seemed fairly quiet. However, the surface around the pool was very slippery and the mattresses on the sun beds were obviously left out all the time as they were quite dirty. The next morning, things took a turn for the worse, starting with breakfast. This was served in a large room which reminded me of a school hall - it had absolutely no character and the furniture was old and worn. Other reviewers have commented on the quality of the breakfast but I cannot agree. The choice was limited for western tastes - in particular the bacon was very greasy and uninviting and the orange juice tasted like water. Again there was no comparison to the wonderful breakfast spreads we had experienced in our previous 2 hotels. Next problem was the pool - the water had turned green and even though they decided to briefly open it, it was then closed and they started to drain the water. There is another pool which we went to but this was overlooked by the building works and the pool bar was closed, with a red flag by the bar stools in the pool. There was also a restaurant near this pool but that too was closed. Not wishing to spend time at this pool, we went to the beach. First impressions are that this should be a lovely beach - white sand, no rocks or seaweed in the water, unfortunately it is not kept clean. Rubbish on the beach that was not cleared away. I photographed a pair of underpants discarded on the beach and they were still there several hours later! Also there was no bar service on the beach. We ordered some drinks and food at the pool which they did deliver to the beach but they did not return to collect the empty glasses and plates or to offer further drinks - not the level of service I would expect in a 5 star resort. That evening we walked down to the Lemongrass restaurant which we believed was a Japanese restaurant but the menu seemed very confused, with a random selection of dishes, some of which were Japanese. The meal was OK but we had expected more - again there was no atmosphere - we were the only diners in the part we were seated. It was not clear whether the Chinese restaurant was open as there was building work going on all around it. Walking back to our room that night, the path was very badly lit, broken paving and to be honest a tripping hazard, particularly around the steps down to the beach. The following morning, the pool had still not been completely drained so there seemed little prospect of it being operational for several days. My husband stepped on the grill around the pool which was old and brittle so collapsed under his feet - luckily he escaped with a minor scratch. We were also sick of the behaviour of other guests in the hotel. No smoking signs seemed to be ignored so it was difficult to escape the smell in public areas and also in the corridors leading to the bedrooms. It was also extremely unpleasant being subjected to retching noises and spitting near the pool and bar area. Although the staff tried hard to provide good service, it seemed like they were a little fed up with the way they were treated by a number of the guests so came across a little disinterested. At this point, we decided that we had really had enough as this was not the 5 star luxury break we had been expecting so started looking for alternative places to stay. Initially when we asked about checking out early, we were told we would lose our money, however we were then put in touch with Tatiana, the hotel ambassador, who listened to our complaints and agreed to refund the cost of the 4 nights we would not be spending at the hotel and the cost of the taxi from the airport. It was with much relief that we left after 3 nights and returned to Dubai for the remaining 4 nights of our holiday. Just to end on a positive note, the band performing in the hotel lobby each night were great and rose to the challenge of almost every request we threw at them. It was just a pity that we seemed to be the only guests who showed them any appreciation. Cambodia is a great country to visit but I would avoid Sihanoukville.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim I, Front Office Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Sharon B,

Thank you very much for writing your impression during your stay here.

It is somehow disappointing to read comments from dissatisfied guest. However we view every comment either good or bad as our motivation to excel more. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectation. We have shared every detail of your concern specially to our Food & Beverage head.


I hope that your experience during stay wont give a bad impression about Cambodia and its people. Definitely progress is happening left and right however every progress shall have a result. That result is development which would benefit the majority of Cambodia as young nation starting to move forward.


We have shared your appreciation to our band and to our Hotel Ambassador Tanya as well.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Kim










Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

It was a pleasure and memorable stay at the hotel from 30th august to 1september 2018. Great ambience and feel at the hotel.. Hotel rooms were clean, nice pool and restaurant ( just request for more vegetarian food in breakfast and restaurant menu), amaing hospitality by the hotel people especially by Miss Tanya who helped us throughout our stay in super fast check in and also guided us what to do in the city and being generous at all times and being available at all times.

We hope to visit again at this property and recommend highly of this property.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank umangs129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim I, Front Office Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear umangs129,

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and we will certainly share your kind words to Tanya.

Once again thank you for your great feedback! We will be looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

After our previous hotel at otres beach didn't meet our expectations we went to the Sokha beach resort in hope of finding a comfortable accomodation near an accessible and clean beach.

Since there seemed to be a problem with the air condition and one of our two rooms was wet the whole time, we informed the staff about it after the first night. After a quick look at the rooms we were assigned two other rooms and received a free upgrade, so that our rooms were directly next to each other.
Special thanks belong to Tanja, who quickly managed the whole situation and was a very welcoming host during our whole stay in the resort!

The resort itself is huge; with 2 pools, a spa area and direct access to the beach it has everything you can wish for (and is currently building new accomodations on the site). The beach doesn't belong to the resort (which isn't possible at all in Cambodia), but since there is nearly no one at the beach, it feels like a private beach.
The breakfast is a huge buffet with delicious western and cambodian food; e.g. pancakes, muesli, croissants, fruits, noodles, soups and also an unlimited choice of fruit smoothies.

We had a very pleasant stay at the Sokha Beach resort, really enjoyed the atmosphere and the beach directly in front of the resort!
Our only critics would be, that there is no mixed spa/sauna-area and that the pool already closes at 07.00 pm. Since whole Sihanoukville is overrun by (mostly badly behaving) chinese tourists, this resort is no exception - but this is of course is not the resorts fault.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SHJSAKAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim I, Front Office Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear SHJSAKAE,

Thank you very much for considering our resort to spend your vacation.

We highly appreciate your review and kind remarks towards our staff, Tanya which will certainly be shared to her. We will absolutely look into your comments about Spa.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Sokha Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews