We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moha Mohori: Claiming 5-star resort, but worth 3 at best” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Moha Mohori: Claiming 5-star resort, but worth 3 at best”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Staff was very friendly, but considering the price for these moha mohori bungalows it was a real disappointment. The bungalows are very poorly maintained (leaking roof, lots of things not working) as well as the rest of the estate, the facilities are being shared with a low budget/group travel kind of hotel so there is no exclusivity at all as what you would expect from a 5-star resort. Very poor value for money and I would not recommend this place to my friends

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    527
    278
    119
    53
See reviews for
288
654
74
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The hotel is on the most beautiful stretch of long white sand. Plenty of sun loungers and there is always a bar nearby. Expensive - cost of drink/food + 10% + 5% service so soon adds up. Pool area very clean and pool large. Rooms large but quite tired. Wifi in rooms intermittent. Staff pleasant and attentive enough. Didn't help that it rained most of the time we were there and there wasn't much to do here or in Sihoukanville itself. Overall mixed feelings. Would come for couple of days on the beach if I knew the weather was going to be good but no longer than a couple of days!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie42London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here as a family (2 adults and 16 year old) for 4 nights after seeing the sites of Cambodia. It was a 4 hour drive from Phnom Penh but the drive was very interesting going through the different towns, villages and seeing the workers in the paddy fields.

Upon arrival there had been a mix up with our reservation and whilst we had to wait the reservation staff dealt with the issue fairly quickly - no extra bed had been put in the room! Fortunately, we were upgraded to a bigger room in the main hotel which had a lovely view across the gardens to the sea.

The hotel is big with lots of different areas and part of the hotel was closed during our stay due to it being low season but this didn't impact on our stay.

The pool is a large area with a good bar/restarant although closed after 8pm. The main restaurant served a good breakfast with the usual omlette/Pho counter. However, the best restaurant was The Deck which was located a 5 minute walk up the beach from the main hotel - although some guests used the buggys available - strange as it was a lovely stroll even in the rain - brolleys provided in the room.

The Deck served a range of foods from good quality steaks to fish tapas and we ate there most nights. The menu was varied enough for us to do so.

The beach was very quiet but the weather was fairly good missing the showers (but this was expected as we were in rainy season) and, as it was a private beach, there were no hawkers trying to sell things to us we didnt want.

It was only a short tuk-tuk ride down to the main town and beach which is a must. Very different from the previous two places we had been - Siem Riep and Phnom Pen. Tourism is very new at the moment being mainly back packers but not a problem strolling along the beach and town.

My issue with the hotel were the watersport facilities. They offer a "free" kayak trip for guests. My husband and son opted to go out around the bay but unfortunately after only half an hour out one of the kayaks was clearly not sea worthy and had splits at the top. The waves had come over the kayak and it was sinking. My husband ended up clinging to my sons kayak whilst trying to empty his. The "life-guards" on the beach finally saw they were in trouble and came out to help, albeit in another kayak and insisted they also retrieve the sinking one! It was a difficult trip back to shore. Unfortunately, the next day we saw this same dangerous kayak on the beach waiting to used ...

However, I do have praise for the bar in the main hotel. The main barman was excellent. He really knew his trade and when my husband asked for a cocktail not on the menu, it arrived perfectly made down to the final detail.

Overall, a relaxing place to wind down after a hectic sight seeing trip. Good food but double check any water sports on offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had three nights at this hotel at the end of a month travelling round the Far East with our three kids. I suspect if you stay in 5 star hotels all the time this might not come up to European / American standards but, having stayed in cheap hotels/hostels for a month it felt like the lap of luxury to us. The rooms were clean and big (loads of room for the extra bed provided so our three kids were in one room), the bed was enormous and the shower was fantastic. Good wifi and TV. The pool is really big and was pretty quiet most of the time we were there. The poolside bar was good (great Singapore Sling) and did good snacky meals. We ate at the Lemongrass restaurant (a few minutes walk down the beach) which did nice tapas and sushi but loved the seafood BBQ / buffet in the main hotel restaurant on Saturday night (yes, the service was perhaps a bit slow but we weren't in a hurry so it didn't bother us).
The beach is beautiful and the water lovely to swim in. We had great weather all the time we were there even though it was supposed to be the rainy season.
The hotel picked us up from our bus stop when we arrived and arranged a taxi to take us to Phnom Penh airport - hotel car was going to cost $170 but they were happy to arrange a local car for $120 - both more than the bus would have been but doing it this way meant we got a morning by the pool and we taken straight to the airport.

Room Tip: We booked via Agoda and saved a packet on the room cost when compared to the website. The rooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just got back from a great trip through Myanmar and Cambodia and thought we'd end our last few days in asia relaxing in Sihanouk villa. We chose this resort based on online reviews and Tripadvisor. On first arrival, we thought the lobby was incredible. The staff was friendly and couldn't wait to get to the room and hit the beach. When we entered our suite, the room smelled musty. We lit a candle to help but our senses just had to get used to it. Second thing I did was kill a cockroach on the wall. The tone was set!

We arrived on a Thursday morning and the first night was rough. The people on the floor above us were stomping around and guests a few doors down hung out of the front door yelling across the atrium. It was like staying in a rowdy apartment building. Breakfast was equally disappointing. The soup was probably the best thing in the buffet. Guests had to fend for themselves to find a table and forget about getting a waiter to clean up a table or even ask for utensils. We never ate at the resort as we read it was a bit pricy and the food not that great. I paid $8 for 2 ginger ales...dumb!

Don't use the car services, it's crazy expensive. We had to catch a flight out of Phnom Phen and the hotel wanted us to book for $160. WHAT?! We booked a driver through a travel agency in town for $45 to drive to the capital. There's tuk-tuks parked just outside the resort entrance that'll take you downtown for $3 and the restaurant's in town are amazing!....and much cheaper.

The only great part of this place was the free wifi, the scheduled free shuttle service to town and the privately owned beach.

I would suggest looking into other resorts in town but I thing this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weho69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.1 km away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.3 km away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
7.5 km away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
5.1 km away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
7.5 km away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Property: Sokha Beach Resort
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price range (per night): $119 - $314
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing