We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
35
20
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
20
6
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed over Christmas so maybe prices were higher then - but we thought it was expensive for the rustic charms. The power was off most of the time we stayed and the generator was noisy when it was on - which spoiled the peaceful vibe.
Otres beach is a lovely beach and there are a plenty of beach bars - but it is a fairly long tuk tuk drive to serendipity.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tubbymctubbington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Dont Tell Mama and we had a good time. We had a fan-room in the back of the garden and it was very charming... There is not really a common area in the guesthouse, so it is not the best place to meet people. But on the other hand, there are a lot of bars out there where you can meet them... Unfortunately they were working on the street behind the property, but apart from that, it is a very quiet and relaxing place. And that is good, because i think it can be different in some other places at the beachside. We had a lovely time there. Good value for your money, friendly staff, good accomodation, no complaints... so i think that's all you need :-)

Room Tip: Make sure there are no roadworks going on, otherwise i would recommend a room in the beginning of the property... if there are no roadworks, do as you please :-)
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartdgbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Fantastic place to stay in Otres - we stayed in the $15 dollar bungalow at the end with shared shower. Although a bit expensive, compared to the other places on the beach, it was great value for money (seeings as in other places doubles above a bar with nothing but a mattress on the floor and a mozzy net were going for 11 bucks in the Khmer new years seasons). Nice and quiet, very relaxing! Although the huts are basic, it was still furnished with nice touches. The breakfast was lovely too (it would be great if the dining area was facing the beach though and had some breeze). They've got good sturdy kayaks too!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SuzieQue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed in a fan room at the back of the property. We purposely hunted out a beautiful and quiet place to stay and found that Mamma perfectly fit our needs! The huts are at the end of the road so the accomodation is away from the noise of the bars, making for a good nights' rest. The rooms themselves were furnished in a Cambodian tiki hut style much to our liking with comfy beds and a good mozzie net so we could sleep with the windows open. There were 2 share bathrooms complete with toilet and shower (from what we saw they were the best on Otres beach). Ulla and Peter were incredibly helpful and always ready with a smile and wave. Ulla offered to keep some valuables safe for us when we travelled away to stay on an island for a couple of nights. We liked it so much at Mamma's we came back early to stay there again! The main restaurants and the beach are just over the road if you want other fare than what's offered at the restaurant, although we still ate breakfast at Mamma's most days. Overall we had a great experience and would recommend this accomodation to anyone who wants a relaxed environment to enjoy Otres beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Nice spacious fan huts, without other mod cons. 1-2 min walk to beach.
Good homecooked Western breakfast & day time snacks available on terrace.
Food and accommodation a little more expensive than necessary (for Cambodia).
Other drawbacks included very little direct sea views, a lot of ants and mosquitos (biting day & night), a very loud standby generator during electricity cut offs, and no toiletries/soap provided. Room cleaning and change of towels on demand only.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lortzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews