We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nomads Land
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Long Set Resort(Koh Rong)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Moonlight Resort Hotel(Koh Rong Samloem)
View Hotel
Lazy Beach(Koh Rong Samloem)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Queenco Hotel & Casino(Sihanoukville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Zentao(Sihanoukville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
92
6
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
6
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssolar powerdive innsea urchinsvolunteer stafflocal couplerain waterbucket showerhungry between mealsswim directlytaking care of everythingisland paradiseevery morningbioluminescent planktoncambodian governmentread booksphnom penhspent three nights
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2017

My friend and I were literally the first guests to step off the boat and open the season in November 2016. Nomad's Land was exactly what we'd hoped for - a completely quiet and unspoiled location to have some beach/swim/snorkel time and just soak up the ocean views for hours on end. We loved all the eco initiatives and focus on conservation, very important. The open air beach huts with private deck and hammocks are absolutely charming. You quickly adjust to life unfolding at a different rhythm here, a welcome break for those who are so inclined. It's a fairly intimate place as the overall area is small and meals are a communal affair as is the adjacent lounge area - there's a nice balance between opportunities for socializing as well as solitude.

This type of guesthouse is not for everyone - thankfully, or it would be overrun - but the small inconveniences or limitations that come with such a place (food choices are more limited, pier and water sport gear can be a bit rough, etc) are reasonable for an isolated beach guesthouse and something you quickly get used to. The one thing that surprised us was the proliferation of sea urchins just off shore, which means you can't swim directly off the beach but have to use the pier and ladders instead.

The owner Nicole is a wonderful host and a really lovely human being. We were impressed by the local couple who assist her, Ot and Chantal - they're quiet and not easy to get to know but very genuine. Volunteer staff Vanessa and Clem were great, really pleasant approach to their work and very involved. Nicole could not have been more warm and wonderful during our stay, and was also extremely helpful in setting up assorted transfer arrangements. Plus she stocks a delicious Sauvignon Blanc which is perfect for long hours of ocean gazing!

A very special place - and a rare find.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Suzanne157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

This is the place for doing nothing and just relaxing. Great for living the simple life. Bungalow (villa Boulon) was good for three. Lovely to sleep with open side and watch sunrise from your bed. Journey to island was on a choppy day and we got soaked. Journey back was calmer but soaked again. It is a small open boat so may not suit everyone. Arriving wet, to basic accommodation with ants everywhere meant that we hated it in the first few hours. We were bitten by mosquitos and when we raised the side of our bedroom space there were millions of ants. Toilet is dry so you scatter sawdust on your poop. Shower is not a bucket shower but a tub of water and you scoop with a small plastic pot. Beach area has lots of insects, and pier is a little dilapidated. I would have loved a lounger but hammocks are ok. You quickly get used to it and soon you will love the peace and ignore what seemed inconvenience. Bedding was clean, mosquito nets were also clean and sweet smelling. Daily cleaning could be a little better but your loo bucket will be emptied.

Nicole is a great lady very patient training her volunteers and very helpful. Volunteers vary in skills.

Lunch was good, breakfast is a little light, dinner has excellent range of dishes but is served a little late for us and sometimes later than the advertised time. If you need to snack bring your own because we were hungry between meals. Time when you eat breakfast and lunch so you can last the day.
There is solar for each bungalow so you will have light but no charge points. There is a charge point in main room between sunlight hours but it is in demand. I missed wifi especially as others were online through their phones (3G).

We walked across island but got bitten on way and beach other side is not pretty and is littered. If you want to swim and snorkel then this place is good but you have to go from pier. They do clean snorkels but some of them are not great. Dogs on the island (not the owners) are a nuisance.

All in all a peaceful break and great chance to read books.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I just loved this place. Such a well thought out style of accommodation that gives you the solitude and tranquility you are looking for without compromising on comfort - each bungalow has a water tap and solar powered light so while you can enjoy getting closer to nature, you're not exactly roughing it, which we appreciated! The scenery was sublime, the food is fantastic and we loved the homely atmosphere of the common area. The staff are great hosts too. Would love to go back.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ournextsunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

General: One of the most amazing places I have been at where you feel so much to the earth and back to basic. Makes you think about the state of our planet and appreciate that you can so privileged to have the opportunity to enjoy this at its best. You sleep in different huts/bungalows that are constructed by the previous owners (he is an architect). We had the Dive Inn. My view is that the Dive Inn and Villa Boulon are the best located as they are close to the main building and has a beach in front (even though I would recommend to swim from the pier). When you walk to the huts the path was a bit "uncozy" to the others. You have dinner with the other guests and it was a pleasure to meet so many different people with fantastic stories from their life and journeys. You sleep in the huts that is totally open so you fall asleep with the sea breeze, crickets and sound of the waves as your lullaby. The food was fantastic and fish from the sea served everyday. The toilets are your own fresh dry toilets and the "shower" is rainwater collected and you use a bucket. The drinks (that were fantastic) were served to your hut/bungalow.
What do you do here? Go to bed early and wake up to the fantastic sunrise. Take the kayaks and kayak round the island. Bring the snorkel gear and stop for some great snorkeling. Swim in the sea. Read a book. Drink a drink. Think about love and life. Listen to others life stories. Scuba dive with Octupuses Garden (see other review), walk through the jungle to the other beach. Cherish life!
Don't go here if you If you can't be without your digital life, if you need an AC and a fan instead of a seabreeze, if you require a long hot shower and a flushing toilet, if you need a golf course or a speedboat running around with you after. Go here if you love life, the planet earth and want to be in a paradise.
+ Place, food, people, huts, and the drinks where all fantastic
(-) The path towards the other huts was not in the same balanced cozy style as the rest of the place....but then I had to think hard.

Room Tip: All bungalows are good but Dive inn and Villa Boloun are best located at the beach, a nice path and close to the main building.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alvan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Koh Totang island is real paradise. I can't imagine better place for vacation. You'll wake up on the beach with most beautiful sunrise and you can see toucans every day.
The nature is perfect and the food is delicious. Fluffy pancakes and mango fish was my favourite :-).
The price is super cheap for what you get.
The owners and people around are amazing, which is most important to me. I'll definately come back!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Katka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews