We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“So much potential, so poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mien Mien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mien Mien
Ranked #112 of 219 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Roma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So much potential, so poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We got to Sihanoukville at the end of a 2 weeks trip in Cambodia. We were happy but also a bit tired. We just wanted to relax, enjoy good seafood, sun, swim in salty water with waves. We found all of this in Otres beach but unfortunately the accomodation was not so good. The rooms were basic but still ok but the service not really good. Both the rench (or at least french speaking) staff and the locals were not very friendly. Very very focused on the money. OK, this is normal but there are ways and ways to do it. You don't need to ask me after 5 minutes if I want to go for a boat trip or if I need bus ticket... Give me the time to relax and then you can nicely ask me if I need any support. Each service provided was not "for free": a surcharge is applied on everything, including the massage on the beach.
I know that there were not so many tourists but would have been more effective to have a more professional still warm approach. Just to make an example, the food at the restaurant was good but we had lunch there only once because the service was not very nice. We preferred to go to other places where locals seemed to be much nicer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oki12474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    30
    18
    7
    18
See reviews for
2
34
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We were quite happy when we first arrived at Mien Mien, the rooms are very clean, though there's a strange smell coming from the bathroom (think this was the case in all the bathrooms though, some kind of a sewage problem). It's a great location so we were pretty pleased. We'd said we were going to stay for 3 nights (8 usd for a double) and we were told we should come to reception and pay the 3 nights up front, they gave us a long speech about people having left without paying etc, but I still found this quite strange. We eventually managed to agree on paying each day but it was a bit of a hassle.

Some of the staff were OK but the French owners (?) were very strange, not seeming to want to interact at all with the guests. The local people who worked there were also difficult. We did some laundry and were told it was 1$ p/kilo and that we had 3kilos, the next day we were charged 3$50 (not a big difference I know but it's the principal) and a long argument ensued about the amount we were going to pay, in the end I just put 3$ on the bar and left. It didn't help that the woman who charged me just came up to me and said money whilst holding out her hand.

There were very few guests and on our last day a couple of old men came with their respective very young prostitutes. This hotel had had a family staying a couple of nights previous and I think it's not very responsible to have this kind of clientele when you have families staying.

Finally, the day before we were due to leave we booked an (expensive) tuktuk with our hotel. The morning we left we were given two tuktuks (there were 4 of us but of course we just wanted to go in one tuktuk, so as not to pay twice as much for nothing?!). We said we just wanted one and the owner started getting quite irate saying that we should take two (not the kind of argument you feel like having at 6am). In the end we took just one but everything we did seemed to require an argument!

All in all I would never stay in this place again!! I heard positive things about Mushroom Point (hostel) and Sunrise Cafe (think this was the name, it's opposite MushroomPoint). One last thing...the food in the Mien Mien cafe was not good - breakfast experience included an already opened butter sachet, I asked for another which had also been opened...!!

Ok I'm going to stop now before I think of anything else... summary - avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flojobordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed here for three nights in February 2011. When we arrived we asked if we could pay our bill by Visa and the manager (a young girl who was usually asleep on a sofa!)said yes. When we tried to pay our bill at the end of our three day stay, she said we couldn't pay by Visa at all. We had no cash and they said they had no bank account for us to transfer the money to - this wasn't true and finally the sister of the manager found her bank book. Then they frog marched us to the bank on a Saturday - it wasn't open so they kept my partner's passport and we had to go back to the bank with them on Monday to make the payment. The worst part about this was their nasty attitude towards us. They were very malicious, even to the point that one of their housemaids was agressive and abusive, giving us evil stares, and repeatedly saying 'Madam .......' in an agressive way (it was unbelieavable really!).
They hadn't cleaned our room during our entire stay, there were no towels in the room, and we were woken up at 6am every morning by the staff. It's also right next to the tuk-tuk rank which was noisy.
The owners of this accomodation also own the bar across the road and we heard lots of complaints about the attitude of the staff, the long waiting times for food. We learnt that Mien Mien is owned by one family - they obviously think they are above dealing with holidaymakers.
To anyone reading this review, I would strongly recommend to stay away from Mien Mien or 'Mean Mean' which is really the most appropriate name for it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

My husband, my sister and her husband all stayed here for 3 nights around Christmas. Rooms were nice and clean (they had only been open for 3 weeks), although slightly pricey (it was high season). $15 for fan and $20 for a/c which wasn't needful given the heat. Rooms weren't cleaned at all throughout our stay and toilet paper wasn't restocked until asked. Towels were provided, but again, not washed or replaced. No running hot water (not needed due to heat), however be warned the tap water is very dirty (you can see it if you fill the sink or look in the toilet bowl). The guesthouse was linked to the beachside bungalows ($18/night) and restaurant across the road. Absolutely stunning location and away from the hubbub of Serendipity/Occheuteal - however this can become costly if traveling to/from each day on tuktuk or motodop.
In regards to the restaurant across the road I would advise to eat elsewhere. Staff weren't very helpful, orders were delayed or wrong - the 4 of us ordered breakfast one morning and the other 3 had finished eating and gone swimming by the time mine arrived (I had ordered almost exactly the same as one member of our party, so not very impressed). Could also hear two other exasperated sets of visitors trying to get their order delivered correctly. However as there are many restaurants up the beach this is not too big a deal.

Overall a pleasant stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vogsa349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sæby
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

This small hotel in Otres beach is rather new, like two other similar withdrawn 20 meter from the beach, separated from that by the dirt road with very little traffic, as Otres is the outermost of the beaches in Sihanoukville, therefore also the least crowded and noisy. There maybe a total of 15 beach shacks, some of them with accommodation in a beach hut. We started in one of these, the Beach Bungalows, an nice place with very good food and basic accommodation. We had made sure, that they have no music to disturb the sound of the sea - and they didn't, but the neighboring restaurant had, and with only a thatched wall in between, this was unbearable to us.
So, we found the Mien Mien, some 100 meters down the road - quiet, clean, two good beds, very friendly and helpful staff, adequate english. With AC 20 USD, fan only 15. Adequate netting. No hot water like most other places, but with daytemp around 32C this wasn't a problem for us.
The restaurant is opposite the road, ie on the beach, good selection of foods, local or western, but then the beach has another 15 restaurants or so.
The room rate does not include breakfast.
Free wifi, reasonable speed (only one on the beach). Internet cafe with 3 PCs, didn't try this, as I brought own netbook.
We stayed 3 days before moving on to Phnom Penh. They provided a private taxi, USD 45 for the good AC car, the 214 km trip. They also suggested an excursion to Ream National Park, 20 USD, which we took, also recommended.
The tuktuk from town centre, about 4km, we paid 5 USD to go there, moto 1.25.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jensjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
5.9 km away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 68 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
5.8 km away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#6 of 68 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
4.8 km away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#9 of 68 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
4.9 km away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#11 of 68 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
5.9 km away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 68 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mien Mien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mien Mien

Property: Mien Mien
Address: Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 219 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price range (per night): $16 - $20
Hotel Class:2 star — Mien Mien 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mien Mien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing