We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
20
15
8
4
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
15
8
4
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskern riveracross the bridgewould stay here againbeddogs
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We booked 2 rooms - 1 king (#8 @$109) and 1 queen (#10 @$119) for Memorial Day weekend. Weather was partly cloudy, cool and windy for 1st two days then beautiful and sunny the next. Both rooms were clean but dark due to dark stained wide pine planks on walls and ceilings, low lightbulb voltage and dinghy dark green carpet. The mattresses were spongy but not uncomfortable. Bed linens: country right white/floral quilt covers with dark floral sheets and two soft pillows. Windows had cute doily lace curtains with roll-up/down shades that mostly worked. Showers have low-flow heads that sprayed a needle-like mist that was so bad that I didn't shampoo my hair for 3 days. Breakfast provided: 2 types of decent coffee (medium and strong), little box cereals, micro oatmeal, sticky buns in package and fruit. The location of this hotel is great on the river but obstructed mostly by mobile homes. It's the best if you are spending a lot of time at Camp Kernville - as we were with friends. The Kern River is clean, swift flowing and beautiful. The guys did some trout fishing along the campground beach and caught a few for our bbq - delicious! The energized rafters cruise by often and scare most of the fish away though. It's a 2 minute walk to the little town center which is quaint. Carne asada tacos truck - the best! And the baby back ribs truck at the supermarket - yum! Cheryl's Diner - we ate breakfast at the counter: slow, friendly service, good country diner food. We took our beach cruiser bikes and enjoyed a short ride into the residential neighborhood along the river. You'll need more gears if you want to go farther. The exterior is mostly original historic with that rustic charm you'd expect; however, we wished that they had swept the spider webs away (I'm an arachnidphobe!) and cleaned the ashtrays on our porches (they were full of cigarette and cigar butts). Overall, we had a great time with our friends and loved the area. We'll visit again, but either bring an RV or stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebeccab88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

During our 3500 mile motorcycle trip we arrived to find this wonderful restful lodge which is even better than it's web site suggests.
The proprietor was very welcoming, went the extra mile for us.
The room was beautiful and we enjoyed our porch with our own rocking chairs overlooking the river.
Within walking distance of various eateries and the Kernville Brewery.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manx_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed in this motel with 2 of my children 4 years ago. I've since learned the value of reading reviews and will now add mine. Our room was about $90 per night and a disappointment. It was dark, gloomy, and old. Outside could be seen through the gap at the bottom of the door and it was very noisy. You could hear all of the other guests talking. There were no room ammenities of which to speak. I'd booked the room for it's location to the river, thinking it would be such a quaint place, but found it was very rundown and not worth the money we'd paid. Since then, we've found a new place to stay in Kernville and will never stay anywhere else from now on except The Kern Lodge.

Room Tip: Consider choosing a room at a different motel. I'm not someone who expects high end service everywhere I go.... but I was truely bummed out about this room and paying for it.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Loved this hotel, it's quaint and quiet and it's right along the Kern River. The continental breakfast is nothing to write home about (packaged oatmeal and fruits and coffee) so make plans to have breakfast in town, but the value of this hotel for the clean room and friendly service is tip top!!!

Room Tip: just call and talk to the front desk (they are also the owners)
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marioc2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This 101-year-old lodge was moved from Whisky Flat to Kernville when Lake Isabella was inundated. The rooms ring a charming yard which fronts the river Kern. Nothing is nicer than sitting with a cup (of the provided) coffee of a morning and listening to the babble of the Kern. The rooms are well-updated with homey touches. It is family-run and they could not be any more nice, plus the fellow guests are cool, too. A few steps over the bridge to see the rafters, or back across the street for the antique shops and eateries. It's pet-friendly, which in this case still means super-fresh, plus, Alana is the best pet sitter ever!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janestigee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews