We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eastern sierra gem”
Review of Gull Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gull Lake Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
GreenLeadersSilver level
Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“eastern sierra gem”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

gull lake lodge is in the town of june lake. june lake is a great location to explore the eastern sierra and yosemite high country (35 min drive).
its a small two story motel, but the rooms are large. full kitchen, extra bedroom and large bathroom. ideal for families. my room was clean, well equipped and everything was working.
if you look for a place close to yosemites tioga pass entrance i would prefer june lake to the town of lee vining. its about 15 min extra driving. there are more restaurnts around and the hotels are of better quality. besides the beautyful scenery of "june lake loop" is an extra bonus.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canyonlands2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    56
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had to cancel our reservation over 3 days prior to the trip. When the reply e-mail did not mention a refund, I called to inquire. Prior to calling, I checked both my e-mail and the site and could not find any mention of refund policy. The front desk clerk told me that the refund policy was "clearly" stated in both the e-mail and on the site--you had to cancel 7 days ahead of time. Apparently, on the site, you have to scroll to the bottom of the reservations page (something you would not do if you click on the calendar at the top). My e-mail had absolutely no language regarding cancellation -in any size print--it only confirmed the reservation. When I told the young lady (sounded like she was in her twenties) that I was looking at the e-mail they sent and there was no information on cancellations, she told me and I quote: "You sound like a liar. You probably deleted it." (Not sure what her logic was here on why I would delete an e-mail, just so I could argue with her?) I was and am highly insulted to hear such a defamatory comment from her. I do admit in the moment I called her an expletive (the first time I have ever done this to a clerk--she does get the award for getting me the maddest in over 50 years of travel). I do apologize for being drawn down to her level. I should have been more professional. Extremely unprofessional establishment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AARP_Traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monosupe, Owner at Gull Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
I apologize for your experience. Unfortunately,because our cancellation policy is listed clearly on all confirmations and our website, we were unable to return your deposit. The only reason that we do take a $100.00 in advance is so that people take the time to read and understand out policy. My beloved manager of 5 years ( who has three teenage children) has all the patience required to run a front office and deal with the general public. Some experiences are worse than others. AARP traveler actually used an expletive twice at her and told her she was a lawyer. I am not sure what she was trying to do but in the process she acting horribly to my employee. I have told Kim that she should never have be treated that way by people who think they can get their way through anger. Unfortunately that day she did, and it ruined her day. Our customer base is 80% repeat, multiple-generations of family that keep coming back every year. Please read our other review to get an idea of how friendly Kim and the staff truly are. Thanks, Vikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

While this is not the most beautiful hotel ive ever stayed in (looks like an old '50s motel), it is the best stocked, clean, inviting for dogs and comfortable one i've stayed in a long time. The kitchen was a complete surprise and everytime I said to myself, "dishcloth?" or "coffee?" or "dish soap?"---it miraculously appeared in the most appropriate spot! I found the staff to be most accomodating and the location to be perfectly located for a walk to town or the lake. The towels were soft and fluffy and the bed comfortable. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chivato09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Price competitive for a family of 5 esp compared to high prices in nearby Lee Vining. We had a 2 room suite with 2 futons for 3 people in the living room as well as the two double beds in the bedroom. Additional kitchen had full cooker and massive fridge. No aircon but we didn't need it. Great value for money with small choice of restaurants nearby for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cream_Crackered_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is a well-run, very clean motel. It's not fancy and the price is right. Dog friendly. Close to June and Gull lakes. Easy walk to town. After many trips to June Lake, this will now be our motel of choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rufdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
2.2 km away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
102 reviews
3.6 km away
Whispering Pines Motel
Whispering Pines Motel
#7 of 7 in June Lake
87 reviews
19.9 km away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,317 reviews
16.5 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
787 reviews
0.3 km away
June Lake Villager
June Lake Villager
#3 of 7 in June Lake
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gull Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Lake Lodge

Property: Gull Lake Lodge
Address: 132 Bruce St, June Lake, CA 93529
Region: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price range (per night): $220 - $294
Hotel Class:2 star — Gull Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you were to build the perfect vacation spot, where would you put it? How about wedging it between two terrific trout lakes, across from a secluded ski area, adjacent to stunning wilderness and smack dab in the middle of three great Eastern Sierra attractions: Yosemite, Mono Lake and Mammoth? We’re a short walk from June and Gull Lakes in a residential neighborhood, sure to make you feel at home. We’re also close to June Lake Village and only a stone’s throw from the June Mountain Ski Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gull Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gull Lake Hotel June Lake
Gull Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing