We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
48
13
9
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
13
9
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews get away tiny tv four poster bed nice place to stay comfortable bed stayed nights fireplace caretaker wake woods snow
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We love cruising up from San Diego for the weekend when we need to get away from the hustle and bustle. It is so peaceful and the views are incredible! The rooms are very cozy and comfortable and the staff is super friendly and full of suggestions. Close enough to town that you can quickly access the shops and restaurants but secluded enough that you'll get the peace and quiet that you're looking for. I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Great location a few miles out of town, Very quiet with great views of the valley. Great potential for a five circle place. Now the bad news. Rooms need updating. Carpets were very dirty with dust collectors everywhere. Bathroom wall was open from six feet to the ceiling and the only door was saloon type. Fan very noisy and toilet flush valve not working. You would hit your head on the ceiling standing near the toilet. The outside grounds also needed attention.

I build and remodel homes for a living and it would not take much to make the units really nice and more livable. I would not stay at this place again. Traveler beware.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely suite with a fireplace and bacony, which provided us a fabulous view.
The four poster bed was very comfortable, but our suite had some flaws: no heat in the bathroom, and no comfortable chairs to sit in. There was only one small wicker patio chair. The bathroom had no door, and a small but annoying problem- no kleenex. We had a two night stay, and our room was never cleaned. The bathroom rug was still wet from the previous occupant's shower. I also noticed that the blinds and shades were old and frayed.
The saving grace of this lodge was the young caretaker Craigley. He was helpful and accommodating. He said he had never met the owner, and that the only person he knew associated with the lodge was a booking manager.
This could be a 5 star bed and breakfast with some minor improvements and an on-site owner. Until then, I probably won't return.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lhiestand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We killed more than twelve "carpet beetles" (dermestid beetles) in our room. These beetles will eat any organic material. They eat holes in cotton clothing and if they get into any of your gear (for example). They will eat holes into anything not plastic or metal in your house or apartment when you return home. When we got back home, we took our clothes off in the garage and then immediately placed them in the washer and then dried them. Our luggage, shoes, purse and backpacks went into a small "powder room" and were bug bombed with a fogger. Hopefully no hitchhiking bugs survived. They are about 1/8th of an inch long and pretty difficult to see. We spotted the black colored ones in the bathroom when they were on the white bathtub and walls.
On another note, this is a "cute" 6 room B&B without the breakfast. You get complimentary coffee and tea. The stove and refrigerator are available (not mentioned in the site description).
However the walls are without any insulation. We literally could hear every word spoken next door. If the people next door use the restroom three times in the night, you will be awakened each time with an earful of next door's "activity".

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ranger93433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We were in the main building, the Harmony Room, which had 2 queen sized beds that were extremely comfortable and had wonderful bedding. It was clean (except for the leftovers still in the fridge from another guest). I liked that the windows opened, but on the other hand, the one open casement window had a broken handle, so it could not be closed. Fortunately we wanted it open, but that won't always be the case. All or nearly all of the rooms are up some (or many) steps - no elevators. The main building has an attractive sitting area (huge fireplace) and a kitchen for guests' use. Because of the kitchen, however, the guest rooms have no coffee available in them. Moreover, there were no cups or glasses in the rooms - nothing with which to even get a glass of water. The lighting was odd. For the two beds, there was only one very small lamp, up on a mantel - so it was not available to both beds. There were overhead lights but they were directed right at the beds, so right in our eyes, and were oppressive. The bathroom on the other hand had one very small light that was completely inadequate for makeup application. Also the bathroom was down a couple of steps - not good if someone has mobility issues. (We were ok.) The room had no closet, nor any rack (or even hooks) for hanging up clothing, though it did have a dresser. Tiny TV, too small to see from the beds. The Wi-Fi worked well. No phone in the rooms. There is a deck on which people can sit and enjoy the valley view. It could be a 5 star place if they worked a little harder on the amenities. Check in was super informal. Someone came out, looked up our reservation on his phone, and handed us keys. There was no actual checkout. We just left the key in the room and drove off. (Naturally we were prepaid.) I'm not sure whether I'd go back. Oh, the driveway is very steep and, as some others have said, the parking is a bit awkward. I think in winter it would be hazardous.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms, Call to ask for details. They are all different.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelinggranny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews