We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Double Booked”
Review of Tucker Peak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tucker Peak Lodge
Ranked #10 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We had a confirmed this hotel through booking.com. We showed up at the hotel and the check in is very confusing. There is no one there to great you in the lobby. In fact, there are just keys in the lobby. Since we had a reserved room, we grabbed the last key available. After spending time in the room, we realized the room is not as advertised. There is no view whatsoever, the carpet is stained all over the place, and the towels look like they were about 30 years old. The place is very old and dated. After staying in our booked and confirmed room, we had a knock from another couple claiming that we were staying in their room. My wife and I were very humiliated at embarrassed. After a phone call with the hotel customer service, a very RUDE lady told us the room was double booked and that we can't stay there. I explained that we have a confirmed booking through booking.com. She was not at all sympathetic to our cause. In fact, she started talking about astrological sign, and said I should take my energy elsewhere. After lecturing me on astrology, she offered no help to us. Also, she had a very bad attitude and told us this happens all the time (the 3rd time to be exact). With that said, my wife and I had to drive hours home. Our entire weekend was ruined. The hotel staff did nothing to make this error on their part up to use. Do not book here. They have the worse customer service ever.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliamor, Owner at Tucker Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

We apologize for your bad experience. Unfortunately, due to none other than human error, it was discovered that there was a break in communication between the site you booked your reservation on, and our reservation system that reserves rooms on our end. Unfortunately, when you arrived to check in, and we discovered the error, we could not place you in another room at our location because we were completely sold out that night. When you told us that you wanted us to do something for you, we offered to locate another room for you at a different lodge in Julian, but you did not want that. Also, at your request, your reservation was cancelled so you were not charged for your stay. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017

We love cruising up from San Diego for the weekend when we need to get away from the hustle and bustle. It is so peaceful and the views are incredible! The rooms are very cozy and comfortable and the staff is super friendly and full of suggestions. Close enough to town that you can quickly access the shops and restaurants but secluded enough that you'll get the peace and quiet that you're looking for. I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Great location a few miles out of town, Very quiet with great views of the valley. Great potential for a five circle place. Now the bad news. Rooms need updating. Carpets were very dirty with dust collectors everywhere. Bathroom wall was open from six feet to the ceiling and the only door was saloon type. Fan very noisy and toilet flush valve not working. You would hit your head on the ceiling standing near the toilet. The outside grounds also needed attention.

I build and remodel homes for a living and it would not take much to make the units really nice and more livable. I would not stay at this place again. Traveler beware.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely suite with a fireplace and bacony, which provided us a fabulous view.
The four poster bed was very comfortable, but our suite had some flaws: no heat in the bathroom, and no comfortable chairs to sit in. There was only one small wicker patio chair. The bathroom had no door, and a small but annoying problem- no kleenex. We had a two night stay, and our room was never cleaned. The bathroom rug was still wet from the previous occupant's shower. I also noticed that the blinds and shades were old and frayed.
The saving grace of this lodge was the young caretaker Craigley. He was helpful and accommodating. He said he had never met the owner, and that the only person he knew associated with the lodge was a booking manager.
This could be a 5 star bed and breakfast with some minor improvements and an on-site owner. Until then, I probably won't return.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lhiestand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We killed more than twelve "carpet beetles" (dermestid beetles) in our room. These beetles will eat any organic material. They eat holes in cotton clothing and if they get into any of your gear (for example). They will eat holes into anything not plastic or metal in your house or apartment when you return home. When we got back home, we took our clothes off in the garage and then immediately placed them in the washer and then dried them. Our luggage, shoes, purse and backpacks went into a small "powder room" and were bug bombed with a fogger. Hopefully no hitchhiking bugs survived. They are about 1/8th of an inch long and pretty difficult to see. We spotted the black colored ones in the bathroom when they were on the white bathtub and walls.
On another note, this is a "cute" 6 room B&B without the breakfast. You get complimentary coffee and tea. The stove and refrigerator are available (not mentioned in the site description).
However the walls are without any insulation. We literally could hear every word spoken next door. If the people next door use the restroom three times in the night, you will be awakened each time with an earful of next door's "activity".

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ranger93433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
3.2 km away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 3 in Julian
138 reviews
32.3 km away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
517 reviews
28 km away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#8 of 11 in Julian
12 reviews
5.2 km away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#2 of 3 in Julian
48 reviews
3.3 km away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucker Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucker Peak Lodge

Address: 3975 Eagle Peak Road, Julian, CA 92036
Region: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range: $130 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tucker Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucker Peak Lodge, A California Hideaway Whether you are looking for that perfect romantic getaway, quality family time of some much needed rest and relaxation, come enjoy natural, simple beauty in the tranquil mountain atmosphere of Julian, California. Surround yourself with the wonderful sights and sounds provided by nature. We invite you to leave behind the busy city noises and restore your sense of calm by enjoying a spectacular view of the countryside from 5 wooded hillside acres at Tucker Peak Lodge, nestled in the beautiful oak and pine covered mountains of Pine Hills. We are the perfect place to escape for a birthday, Girls Night Out, an anniversary of "Just Because." Enjoy the quaint, turn-of-the-century gold-mining town of Julian and begin the start of this charming adventure with your stay at Tucker Peak Lodge. Memories Are Made Here... Yours Awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Tucker Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucker Peak Hotel Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing