We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
155
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jim and julie spring room wood burning fireplace bed and breakfast private patio oatmeal pancakes must love dogs feel like family old friends entertainment center wonderful birthday served family style little extras common areas breakfast is served each morning apple pie
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018

My best friend and her husband recommended this little B&B tucked away in the hills just above Main Street in Julian. And after reading all the 5 stars reviews on it, we decided to spend our 30th wedding anniversary there.

This B&B has exceeded our expectations - and then some. We were greeted by the owners, Jim and Julie Degenfelder, and five of the friendliest Golden Retrievers you will ever meet! The B&B is actually a two-story wood-framed house with four suites - the Summer Room, Autumn Room and Winter Room downstairs, and the Spring Room upstairs. Also downstairs is the pantry, stocked with various beverages (for a small fee), with a microwave, sink and even a laundry area! Upstairs is the Spring Room, a dinette, a shared living room (with entertainment center and assorted DVDs) and a fireplace, and the dining room where they provide you breakfast. Jim and Julie live nearby - and were always ready to help their guests at a moment’s notice.

We stayed in the Summer Room, the room closest to the front door. The room was charmingly decorated with summer-like colors, and included a king-size bed, electric fireplace, small fridge and full bathroom. The rooms were clean, well-stocked and well-maintained.

Jim and Julie went out of their way to make this a wonderful experience for us. Their scrumptious homemade breakfasts were to die for! And we appreciated all the little extras, including homemade desserts that were waiting for us after we returned from our day trips. And - even when we didn’t ask for Maid Service, they would remake our bed when we were away! We found them extremely friendly and approachable.

To further underscore how attentive Jim and Julie were to their guests’s needs, they were willing to accommodate not only dietary restrictions, but also - in the case of my friend’s disabled husband - being willing to serve breakfast downstairs in their room!

So, if you like a place with charming rooms, delicious breakfasts, friendly hosts - and especially being greeted by large dogs - then Eaglenest is the place for you!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamlong74 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We were up here on Mothers day weekend for the wife's birthday. Awesome place. Owners were amazing(Thank you Jim & Julie). Breakfast was made each morning(close to the best). Rooms are clean, very homey feel, fireplace a nice touch, felt the warmth and kindness. If you plan to stay in Julian, this is your destination. Walk to all in a couple minutes. Bonus was the friendly and lovable dogs. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room upstairs(summer or spring room??)
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank E2269DSstepheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieDeg, Owner at Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

We are grateful you have posted a review of your stay with us at Eaglenest B&B! We appreciate any and all celebrations taking place here on the mountain, Any time you give us the opportunity to serve you BIG, we will!! Thank You again for sharing your experiences with others, we certainly hope to have you home to the Nest in the future! In gratitude always, Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

My wife and I stayed at Eaglenest B&B for 2 nights for a weekend getaway and had a great time. The rooms were spotless, the service great and the breakfasts were very good and very filling. The common area has a veranda attached to it that provides a great view of the hills surrounding Julian and we enjoyed setting there and just relaxing. The B&B is in town so we were able to walk to dinner each night. Jim and Julie are excellent hosts and we enjoyed talking to them. They have 5 lovable, friendly Golden Retrievers that enjoy interacting with the guests, so if you have a problem with dogs this may be a concern. We enjoyed petting the dogs. We rented the largest room, the Spring room, which has a large comfortable sitting area attached as well as a large bedroom. The only possible complaint might be that the lights in the sitting were a bit dim for our old eyes. The hosts are very knowledgeable about the local area and you can depend on their recommendations. We look forward to visiting there again. Oh - Be aware that Julian is a tourist destination and the town can get a bit crowded on weekends.

Room Tip: The Spring room is the largest room and quite nice. It is very quiet
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieDeg, Owner at Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Hi there Reggie and thank you for taking the time to post a review! I have changed the light bulbs in the Spring Room hoping to create a better light in the guest room! I hope this is helpful for your next stay at Eaglenest B&B! Please keep us in mind for your future trips to Julian! We certainly appreciate your visit! Thank You again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stayed overnight at Eaglenest and had the most wonderful experience! Jim and Julie were so friendly and accommodating and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was cozy and lovely and we were welcomed with homemade apple crisp. We stayed in the Autumn Room which has its own entrance, patio (with a fire pit) and parking space. The room itself has a gas fireplace which was perfect for the cool evening and morning in Julian. We let Jim know we were going to use the hot tub after dinner and he made sure it was warmed up and ready to go when we returned to Eaglenest after dinner. Breakfast in the morning was incredible! We had pancakes with whipped cream and fruit compote (all homemade!), eggs, sausages, fruit and muffins! And of course, coffee and fresh-squeezed orange juice. Jim and Julie made us feel like family and were so gracious through our entire stay! If you're looking for a place to stay in Julian, I promise you will be thrilled with Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast!

Room Tip: The Autumn Room has its own patio with fire pit and its own private entrance.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ReneeD1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieDeg, Owner at Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank You Renee for sharing your experiences at Eaglenest B&B with others! We are grateful for each and every guest that chooses to stay with us, and our desire is to provide for you all throughout your stays! Please keep Eaglenest B&B in mind for your future travels to Julian, we would love to have you both home to the Nest in the future! Thank You again for posting this fantastic review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

The room (Summer Room) was great , clean and roomy. Jim and Julie are very NICE wonderful people and extremely helpful. They actually called the wolf rehab center to see if we could get tickets after my wife and I made mention of it. The made us totally feel like the house was our house during our stay.Jim makes a GREAT breakfast. They are truly one of the nicest couples. I believe anyone that stays there will feel the same way as my wife and I do. Their dogs are the sweetest dogs, they are so lovable they literally make you want to pet them. We will definitely be back..

Terry and Crystal Keller

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieDeg, Owner at Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank You Terry for posting a great review of your stay with us last Spring Time! I am sorry for the delay in my response, We are grateful you felt Eaglenest was your home, Eaglenest IS your home! Please return to the Nest upon your next visit to Julian! We are forever grateful for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews