We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1859 Historic National Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Jamestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Our stay here was the highlight of our first trip to gold country. The blend of original features (many 150 years old) and modern comforts is practically seamless. From Brian at the desk/bar to the owner, everyone was friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making sure the guests enjoyed every aspect of their stay. The dining room looked inviting enough enough but we almost passed on dinner there, since it was still empty by 6:30 on a Friday night. Glad we didn't; the food and service were excellent, and the place was jumping within an hour. The outdoor dining area is the more casual, fun and festive option; a little too dark, but at the first sign that anyone was struggling trying to read the menu, the waitress showed up with a flashlight. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is excellent, was included with the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

We had a wonderful night staying at the historic National Hotel in Jamestown, California. The Restaurant served up a wholesome breakfast (included in the price) and the evening meal we enjoyed in the Restaurant was delicious. We stopped for just one night on our way to Yosemite National Park, but will be sure to return when next we visit the US from our home town of Sydney, Australia. The staff were super-friendly and very helpful with local history. Guest books are kept on the bed-side table and I passed a couple of hours reading entries made in Room 2 over the past 7 years. We got to learn all about Flo the friendly ghost.

Room Tip: Make sure you eat in the Restaurant - its excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spikeyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed 3 nights, and just loved the place. We had a key to the front door , so it felt like our own little place. Gorgeous rooms, really comfy beds with memory foam mattress, VERY clean! I looked under the bed and they even put a little note under there that said "Yes, we even clean under here". Awesome balcony to sit and read or sip wine, little reading nook inside, the showers ROCK with loads of hot water, I wish I had taken advantage of the quaint community soaking tub. Great breakfast every morning, we had quiche, fresh fruit, amazing Sourdough bread, etc.
Every little touch was so appreciated...for instance, upstairs, they have hot coffee set out in the upstairs hallway every morning at 6:45, which I LOVED because I could go out in my jammies and grab a cup to drink as I'm getting showered and dressed for breakfast.
There was so much to do there, the Railroad Museum, PLENTY of antique shops and great places to eat, Yosemite, which was breathtaking, lots of other little towns nearby to explore, with cool clothing shops. Mary was amazing and attended our every need..No need to go anywhere else...Next time, we'll come on the bike! The roads there are sooo smooth!
Thank you Mary et al for a really memorable stay!

Room Tip: You will enjoy ANY room you stay in..but the Honeymoon suite has dual showerheads..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Lovely hotel with lots of character, made a nice change from the regular chain hotels. The staff were very friendly and informative. The dining experience was also extremely good. We stayed 2 nights in order to do the train trip and this proved to be an excellent choice of hotel. Lots to see and do in the area too. Only downside is that the hotel has no parking, so you do have to park on the street. We hope to go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ussh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel is like a museum. It has lots of character and has been restored to it's original glory. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms clean with lovely local toiletries for use. The staff are very friendly and informative on the local area although I could have done without the knowledge the hotel has a friendly ghost called Flo. The hotel is in a lovely town and I wished I had been there long enough to be able to see it open. Its just a short drive from Yosemite National Park and worth a visit on the way.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0.1 km away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
136 reviews
8.3 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
416 reviews
21.2 km away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
824 reviews
8.5 km away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1859 Historic National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1859 Historic National Hotel

Address: 18183 Main St, Jamestown, CA 95327-9748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price Range: $168 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1859 Historic National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic elegance in the California Gold Country near Yosemite. Boutique hotel and acclaimed restaurant have been restored to today’s standards of comfort while retaining the historic charm of days gone by. All rooms have private baths, some with showers for two; pull chain toilets, memory foam comfort on queen size beds and many original antiques. Buffet breakfast included. Onsite restaurant, award-winning wines from throughout the Sierra Foothills, Mediterranean cuisine and patio dining in season. Full service saloon with daily Happy Hour specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your 1859 Historic National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing