We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1859 Historic National Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Jamestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Lovely hotel with lots of character, made a nice change from the regular chain hotels. The staff were very friendly and informative. The dining experience was also extremely good. We stayed 2 nights in order to do the train trip and this proved to be an excellent choice of hotel. Lots to see and do in the area too. Only downside is that the hotel has no parking, so you do have to park on the street. We hope to go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ussh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    46
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
118
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel is like a museum. It has lots of character and has been restored to it's original glory. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms clean with lovely local toiletries for use. The staff are very friendly and informative on the local area although I could have done without the knowledge the hotel has a friendly ghost called Flo. The hotel is in a lovely town and I wished I had been there long enough to be able to see it open. Its just a short drive from Yosemite National Park and worth a visit on the way.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This was a hotel full of character. Many of the fixtures and fittings were original or contemporary with the late 19th - early 20th century ambiance the owners are intending to provide for their guests. The result is a bit like living in a museum for the modern traveler. Those of us of more mature years and humble origin will feel like going back to our early childhood. There are notices reminding visitors that the antique pluming in particular needs patience and understanding from those not versed in such techniques as puling a chain to flush the toilet. Our room was comfortable, with efficient and unobtrusive air conditioning. Bath robes and a teddy to guard the bed (and perhaps scare off the resident ghost) were provided. A nice touch in a hotel with such basic amenities. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. There was a good blend of old and new. There was a "feel" of a hotel from a by-gone age with modern conveniences like electric lights and air conditioning. There is a restaurant in the hotel which offers good food at reasonable prices. Visiting here might jolt some out of their comfort zone but it was exactly what we wanted and a refreshing change from identical glass and concrete hotels offered by the big chains.

Room Tip: Visit the hotel website and look at the virtual tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fedupchosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We chose this hotel because it seemed quaint and interesting. Well, it turned out to be quaint and interesting in all senses of the words. The room was basically OK, even though it was difficult to pass each other because the bed was at an odd angle. The bathroom was old but surprisingly functional, when not counting the door that would not close, so all the toilet noises were heard in the room - not conductive to romance :-)
We chose it also because of the reviews of the restaurant, with which we were terribly dissappointed. The food was nothing special and the service was downright bad. The only good thing was actually the check-out. It was friendly and effective.

But the worst thing came when we actually left the hotel. My husband forgot his beloved leather jacket in the room. When I made an international ! mobile call to ask about it, I was told that they were too busy to check now. The tone implied that they did not care so much to make the time. I called again a bit later in the evening and again the next morning, when I was dryly informed that housekeeping did not report any jacket and there were other guests in the room that night and now the jacket is not there.

This is the first time I've actually experienced that something left in the room would not be returned. Me and my family travel a lot and sometimes we forget things. We've forgotten jewellery. clothes, documents, but nothing went ever missing. So after staying in this hotel, I'm left with a bitter aftertaste - did someone take the jacket just because they felt like it or was it because I didn't leave a big enough tip?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur6, Proprietor at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
No one enjoys the experience of losing a possession while traveling and such a loss may adversely affect the perceptions of our otherwise wonderful trip. It seems that Saskia lost her coat, although it was not found in our hotel. We have a lost and found area in which all found items are logged for a minimum of 6 months. The information includes who found the item, description and where it was found. In over 37 years of operation, we have never been accused of lying to a customer....so this is really a first. I am sorry that this guest feels that we did not handle her telephone calls, properly, or that the bed was not situated properly, or that the bathroom door did not close properly, or that our acclaimed restaurant was not to her standards.

It is interesting, that on the very date that she posted her review, we mailed a package to a small town in Italy that contained a petite but very beautiful sweater to a guest who indeed, had left it in her room. We wish this person well in any future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My husband and I have stayed here on several occassions. We had out of town company and knew they would enjoy the quaint, comfy rooms; great service and delicious food; personable staff and owner; and hopefully, have a Flo the ghost experience. We were not disappointed on all accounts...even though our guest tried to blame me for the strange occurrences. Set in an old gold mining camp with lots of little antique type shops to explore, this hotel is a great get away spot.

Room Tip: Rooms 7, 10, 11 as they are quieter. 10 and 11 have double headed showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
8.3 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
4.8 km away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
395 reviews
0.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
807 reviews
0.4 km away
The Palm Hotel
The Palm Hotel
#3 of 3 in Jamestown
51 reviews
4.9 km away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#4 of 8 in Sonora
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1859 Historic National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1859 Historic National Hotel

Property: 1859 Historic National Hotel
Address: 18183 Main St, Jamestown, CA 95327-9748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price range (per night): $193 - $222
Hotel Class:3 star — 1859 Historic National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic elegance in the California Gold Country near Yosemite. Boutique hotel and acclaimed restaurant have been restored to today’s standards of comfort while retaining the historic charm of days gone by. All rooms have private baths, some with showers for two; pull chain toilets, memory foam comfort on queen size beds and many original antiques. Buffet breakfast included. Onsite restaurant, award-winning wines from throughout the Sierra Foothills, Mediterranean cuisine and patio dining in season. Full service saloon with daily Happy Hour specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Priceline so you can book your 1859 Historic National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing