We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gringo Margaritaville.”
Review of Pueblo Viejo Grill

Pueblo Viejo Grill
Ranked #2 of 154 Restaurants in Indio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A bar runs the length of the restaurant and alcohol is glorified more than the food. The food prices are a little steep, too.
I had a shrimp cocktail for $14 and it was okay, not great...watery. My wife had a veggie burrito, which she like but it was skimpy.
All the customers were gringos, usually not a good sign for great Mexican food. The service was very good but we will stick with El Companario.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Realtyhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We did have to wait for our table but this place is popular for a reason. We came here for dinner on a Thursday (Frajita specials on Tuesday and Thursday) and shared some frajitas and pork tamales in tomatillo sauce. I can honestly say the tomatillo sauce with the pork tamales far exceeded any expectations I may have had. The prices are fair and if you are so inclined the they have a very popular happy hour. I plan on coming here again on our next visit to the desert.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TerryofMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We tried to get in on another day but they were way busy! Waited about an hour early on a Friday night and got in. This was our first time there. Excellent food. Three Enchiladas dinner was great. Steak Ranchero was excellent, sauce a little spicy. Workers used to big crowds, very efficient in getting people in and out.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is small and you may have to wait but it will be worth it. Carnitas, Asada, Chicken al Carbon and Chili rellenos were awesome, then add Margaritas and you have the perfect Mexican food in Indio.

Its not a big place but worth it, the wait staff was awesome.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank lwall55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

The BNP Parrabas 2018 Tennis underway at the IW Tennis Gardens. Restaurants busy and hard to get into. My husband and I craving good Mexican food. Went to the Pueblo Viejo Grill in Indio. Completely booked with a wait....we opted to eat at the bar- a first for us in this restaurant...
The bartender served excellent Margaritas, and the food was excellent!
We are Mexican food critics (unofficially)...and can tell you we return to this restaurant routinely. Love it!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank swalsh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pueblo Viejo Grill also viewed

Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Pueblo Viejo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing