We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
Expedia.comUSD 181
PricelineUSD 181
Hotels.comUSD 181
FindHotelUSD 181
eDreamsUSD 181
Orbitz.comUSD 181
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
105
74
28
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
74
28
17
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Reading the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor my expectations were high for Ocean Surf Inn & Suites. My expectations were exceeded! We booked for 5 nights. This location is a great starting point to enjoy Sunset Beach and the surrounding area. At check-in Debbie our host greated us, made us feel welcome and did something I have never experienced, she went to our room to make sure it was prepared properly before she accompanied us to that room. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a view of the beach, it was clean, fresh from the remodel and the feeling I got was that the owners were really trying to make the property the best it could be. Beach access is great and a very short walk from our room. The hotel provides some beach towels, boogie boards, beach chairs and assorted beach toys. (very cool) They offer a few items for breakfast along with orange juice, coffee, milk and a couple of fruit options. We used the OJ to make scewdrivers and then off for some beach time! Vacation heaven! For a full blown breakfast there are some great diners in walking distance. Woody's and Harbor House to name a couple we tried and loved. For touring and sight seeing we had a rental car so it was a great advantage to have covered parking included. The parking area is under the hotel so we did have to navigate between concrete posts etc. but it was fantastic to have. Full size SUVs and pickups might have a challenge parking there. Ocean Surf Inn & Suites is so not a chain. By that I mean the people that worked there truly cared if we enjoyed our stay and it was palatable they were not just putting in their time. All things cosidered, proximity to the beach, amenities, cleanliness and service, for the price it's a great value. I give my highest recomendation for this property. All the good things other reviewers said are true!!! They get 5 stars and the very highest of fives!!!

Room tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra $ !!!
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

We had a family reunion in the area and several family members stayed here. Debbie was so helpful and friendly. We loved meeting for breakfast on the terrace. Really enjoyed the proximity to the ocean which we enjoyed many times each day. Thanks!!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Psm470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I read what other people have to say here on Trip Advisor.
Prior to a recent trip to SoCal, I was looking for an attractive place to show off the beaches to my wife who is from the Gulf Coast. Ocean Surf popped up on the radar, I liked what I saw, and booked it.
The hospitality (say hi to Debbie or Jay) was great, the bed was excellent, the room had a partial view of the ocean. Everything was terrific.
There is a seafood restaurant about a block away, with other choices close.
The beach was clean and uncrowded.
We will come back again. The best way to reward people is to speak out when you are pleased. Anyone can grumble about something. So my review is.... 2 thumbs up. A Gold Star. A pat on the back. An attagirl. This is a hidden gem. and we both liked it a lot.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RailRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

This is a small property sandwiched between Pacific Coast Highway and a city parking area, making for a lot of traffic noise. First indication of cramped quarters is the parking garage, so tight that several people take two spaces. The room was also cramped, with the closet opening facing the bed instead of the entry area making it not practical for stowing the suitcases. The hotel is old but has been updated somewhat, especially noticeable in bathroom. Mattress is very comfortable, but colors in room are dark, furniture old.
Proximity to the beach is the big attraction here--just walk across the street. Two negative things stand out. The breakfast area is the size of a closet! Two people cannot get coffee at the same time. Breakfast selection is very poor--no protein offered. Bagels were left out in a bag where all had to handle. Unappetizing muffins in a plastic container. No decaf coffee. The breakfast should be upgraded or just eliminated as you will need to eat elsewhere anyway. The other negative is general cleanliness. Although the sleeping room is generally clean, the property overall needs a deep cleaning including the parking garage.
If beach access is important to you, consider this hotel. Otherwise, you may want to go elsewhere.

Date of stay: October 2015
Thank GoldenAge07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

The suites were small but inexpensive. Our room had a view of the ocean. The staff was very helpful,the rooms were clean and it included breakfast. Self serve breakfast but it had everything you need. Even had a self serve pancake machine!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Freddylasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews