We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Huntington Surf Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Surf City(Huntington Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 155*
USD 142*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Harbour Inn & Suites(Huntington Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 189*
USD 173*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 332*
USD 281*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel(Huntington Beach)
USD 426*
USD 334*
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Ocean Front(Huntington Beach)
USD 162*
USD 134*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 122*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 530*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean Surf Inn & Suites(Huntington Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 130*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Huntington Beach Orange County(Huntington Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 180*
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pasea Hotel & Spa(Huntington Beach)
USD 374*
USD 295*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
273
105
16
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
105
16
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationmain streetjimi hendrixnice deckwithin walking distanceplace to staydefinitely stay here againcouple blockswatch the sunsetbest featuresmall hotellaid backbeach towelslarge showerclean roomstacosstreet noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Beautiful little place. Only 9 rooms all situated above a small area for parking. Took less than 5 minute to get to Main Street and the pier (with a toddler walking). Can see the ocean from certain rooms. Amazing view of the sunset! Absolutely everything was within walking distance. Did not have to get in my car even once during our stay. Amazing restaurants and shops all within a 5 min walk or less.
And most importantly, the customer service was outstanding! We are instant repeat customers! I would recommended the Huntington Surf Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hatcherfamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear hatcherfamilyman,

We have all been moved by your review and your comment about becoming instant repeat customers!
Indeed, Julia and James know customer service, and strive to treat all our guests like family.
Our goal is to provide our customers with a great experience. Travel should be a blast. We feel truly privileged that you entrusted a big portion of ensuring that it will be fun to us.
We hope to see your family again soon...plenty of room at the deck!

Please take care,
L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I loved the location, loved that it was one block from a CVS and 7-11 for any last minute items, 2 blocks from the cutest, hippest downtown with great food, shops, happy hour specials and people watching and great views of the ocean. The rooms were recently remodeled and the pictures on the website don't do it justice, so much creativity and modern art in the rooms. A little noisy as it is right on pch but that's A fair exchange to be right across from te ocean. The heater in our room didn't work but we were there on a rare weekend when you would even need a heater. Not many amenities but there is not much more we could have needed besides the mini fridge. Overall very satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craymond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear craymond1,

Thank you so much for your great review. Indeed our location has been a blessing. Most of our guests have not needed a car after arrival to our location. We are especially proud that you enjoyed the decoration of your room, as we wanted to present our guests with a more personalized approach to hotel room design as befitting a property of our size. You will be pleased to know that we have taken your review in account and have readjusted the heater, which will come handy this fall, and right now the a/c is working well.
We are ready for you to come back!

Take care,
L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great location, nice room, good value. Everything is a short walk away. Beach is across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahwaziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, Guest Relations Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Ahwaziran,
Thank you for your succinct review of the Huntington Surf Inn. Although we are indeed blessed by a location so close to the beach and activities of Huntington Beach, we will continue to strive to make your visit a pleasant one with great customer service and cool rooms at affordable prices. We hope to see you again soon!
L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Huntington Surf Inn in Huntington Beach the night before we raced the Surf City Half Marathon. We found the hotel clean, convenient and with the friendliest staff around! We were greeted with smiles and suggestions and I even was able to borrow a hair dryer so that I could look good after the race ( A girl has got to do what a girl has got to do!). The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars is because we were in room #1 and the Hotel Sign was really bright throughout the night (thank goodness for my race headband!) and the traffic was pretty constant (until they closed down the PCH) sometime during the night. I would highly recommend this hotel, just make sure you stay in any room but room #1!

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room #1!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, Guest Relations Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Patty0625,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are sure you looked great after the race, hair dryer in use or not!
You are indeed correct that our location allows our guests to be in the thick of the race. Over the years, the Inn has been privileged to host many racers, and has strived to give you a peaceful and quiet rest before the race as well as complimentary late checkouts.
Of note, room 1's views of the ocean and Pacific Coast Highway does make it a little livelier than some of our other rooms. We apologize that we did not get the opportunity to show you the roll up blind hidden in the window that would have blocked out lights effectively for you. We will be putting a placard in room 1 to remind guests that they have this option available.
Once again, thank you and best wishes for future successes in this incredible feat of sportsmanship and endurance.

L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

As someone traveling alone, I doubt any other place could have felt quite so much like home. The Inn's small size, family-business feeling and incredibly kind and helpful couple manning the place made for a great 3-4 days stay there. I can't imagine any other larger hotel lending booties to a surfer in need... then again I may be wrong, but that was just one of many helpful gestures the landlords extended me during my stay.
Huntington beach is all the better off with the Surfer's Inn and I would definitely go back there next time round!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Dear Stewie G,

Thank you for the exceptionally kind words. We love our guests, and have been blessed with many many great ones. You came all the way from Hong Kong, and deserved the very best we can offer in customer service and TLC.

Come on back anytime, and we will keep the booties around for you!

Happy New Year,

Fred Malzahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews