We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good tour & tasting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michel-Schlumberger Wines

Michel-Schlumberger Wines
Ranked #41 of 155 things to do in Healdsburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winery with a reputation for excellent Bordeaux varieties.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good tour & tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had a great time walking amongst the vines at this gem of a winery in Dry Creek. Went there on the recommendation of our innkeeper. You can really tell that they live their mission - there's a big explanation of all the predators and good critters they attract in order to not use pesticides. Tasting was lovely, in the Italiante courtyard, and we could have sat there for a lot longer if we hadn't had another tasting to go to. Good find.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank anyabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    12
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Do the tour.

While it was not a free tour, it was WELL worth the $20/person. Frank spent over two hours with our party, giving us lessons on bees, bats and botany along the way. And the tasting lasted probably a good half hour as we enjoyed a wide variety of wines outside in the courtyard.

Good wine, and a really enjoyable afternoon.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CentralPA04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
413 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Not as special as other reviews pointed out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

To give them their fair shake it was Bestille Day so there was a picnic and events going on also. Their wines were good, a very nice Bordeoux blend but slightly overpriced for this side of the mountain (not Napa). Service was sporatic and our "guide" was more into himself then the wines. There are much better wineries in the area to spend an hour at.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank tmarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
465 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Throughly wonderful tour, beautiful property and excellent wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

My husband and I visited for my 40th birthday. We arrived about 10:30 AM thinking we would just stop to taste but saw on the sign that there were tours offered at 11 AM and 2 PM. The gate was not yet open so we buzzed and asked if there was room on the 11 AM tour for us. Happily, they were able to accommodate us. I would highly recommend making a reservation though to ensure that you don't miss out.

Our host, Frank, made us feel comfortable and just let us explore while he finished preparing for the day. We were touring with one other couple who were on their way. Once they arrived, we began the tour. We got the full court press of the grounds with amazing views, paired with all sorts of interesting facts about how the winery/vineyards are set up, cared for, growing, processing, etc. We loved every minute! Frank's knowledge and love for the craft are so evident and we greatly appreciated all that he shared.

After the tour, we went back to the estate manor to taste. The wines were delicious and Frank shared a special pinot in the tasting in honor of my birthday. The experience was such a great way to start off our celebration! We ended up joining the Wine Bench and look forward to our first shipment.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank grits_are_good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
358 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“What a find, like being back in France, and some great wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Ended up visiting this slightly out-of-the-way place quite by accident, having met a staff member at Willi's Seafood Bar, who directed us there. Thoroughly knowledgable and accommodating staff. Beautiful chateau setting, and not cheesy like 'faux-chateaux' found in wine country. Nice white/red wines overall (though not all of them were up to standard). Liked the wines enough to join their club. We have visited more than 60 wineries in Sonoma County, and this experience would be in top 10.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michel-Schlumberger Wines also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Michel-Schlumberger Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing