We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveller rating
613
287
89
29
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
287
89
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sam's chowder house fog horn continental breakfast stove top bagels ocean view mini kitchen penthouse suite wine and cheese reception pool and hot tub small kitchenette get away living area third floor fresh fruit no air conditioning king bed
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We are we're in room 306 which is a junior penthouse. The room was lovely and spacious with a separate lounge area with fireplace and a balcony. There was also a small kitchenette Which was useful. We ordered from the local Indian restaurant and they delivered to our door. The accommodation was very nice and clean and we had no complaints other than one - the foghorn! Our room was just above it and it beeps loudly every 10 seconds 24/7. It was really annoying while sitting on the balcony so we went inside and closed the doors. We could still hear it even with our TV on. During the night it was like trying to sleep with a dripping tap, we were just waiting for the 10 second beep. So my recommendation would be to request a room away from the foghorn....

Room Tip: Choose opposite end of building to room 306
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank l0calady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Rbh, Front Desk Agent at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

It is great to hear you enjoyed the room so much and made use of all the amenities our guest rooms have to offer. We are so lucky to be close to so many great restaurants that deliver straight to our guests!

Although, I sincerely apologize you had such a hard time with the Pillar Point Harbor Foghorn. We hope to welcome you again in the future and are happy to accommodate specific room requests whenever possible. Thank you for your feedback. Safe travels!


Regards,
Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times over the years, most recently early this week. Why do I keep coming back? Here are 23 reasons:
1 Situated on the quiet Pillar Point Harbor Beach with a foghorn in background and gorgeous sunsets.
2 A few steps to walking path and the beach.
3 Suites with refrig, small stove, microwave, sink, toaster, plates, silverware if you want to eat in.
4 Large King bed with REALLY comfortable mattress.
5 Large double sink well-lit bathroom with tub and shower.
6 Comfortable sitting area with fireplace (central heating but no air conditioning; fan and space heater in room) and TV (also a TV in front of bed). Wi-Fi.
7 4' pool and Jacuzzi.
8 Easy self parking.
9 Morning buffet brkfst - pastries, coffee, tea, hot choc, bagels, sliced fruit, other fruit, juice, trays to take to your room or you can eat at tables in reception area or outdoor patio to the south.
10 Morning USA Today and SF Chronicle papers
11 Very quiet with absolutely no Hwy 1 traffic noise if stay on ocean side - a must for the view!
12 Clean and well-maintained property
13 Exercise room and spa for messages
14 Bring binoculars to see dolphins, sea otters, whales, pelicans seagulls.
15 Very close to Half Moon Bay State Beach and miles of paths.
16 Watch surfers a few steps to south or at famous Mavericks a mile drive away.
17 Walk to multiple sea food restaurants (Sam's Chowder House is next door). 5 min drive to many other Italian, seafood and Mexican restaurants (no Michelin starred dining but good enough).
18 Great beach for kids - breakwater creates calm.
19 Fishing on breakwater or can go out on commercial boat.
20 Visit in late September or October for pumpkin patches and Pumpkin Festival.
21 Kayak and bike rentals within waling distance.
22 Only 30 min drive south of San Francisco and 5 min drive to town of Half Moon Bay.
23 Unlike big cities, Half Moon Bay always seems to stay the same and I always feel extremely relaxed here.

Room Tip: Rooms on ocean side are very quiet. Second and third story rooms have best views.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank princpinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Rbh, Front Desk Agent at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Princpinot,

Wow! Thank you for such a kind and thorough review! We are so fortunate to have so much at our fingertips in our small, quaint town. We are just perfect for these relaxing trips away from the hustle and bustle. Hopefully your next visit we can make it to 24 reasons to stay! Safe travels and thank you again for taking the time to write us such an excellent review. We really appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Spent the weekend at Beach House at Half Moon Bay for a belated anniversary celebration. SCORE! Great ocean views from our balcony. There was a party going on at Sam's next door and we were worried that it would be noisy but once the sliders were closed we didn't hear anything. Room was clean and provided more than enough space with the separate living area. Continental breakfast was adequate. Location was spot on. This is our new go-to hotel when looking for a weekend getaway to Half Moon Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Imelda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Rbh, Front Desk at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hello Imelda V,
Thank you for choosing the Beach House in celebration of your anniversary!
I am so happy you enjoyed spending time out on the balcony, taking in the beautiful views of our coastline. Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

This was a great hotel. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing time away from work, close to the beach and we found the exact thing we needed at Beach House Hotel. The room was comfortable and cozy. We made good use of the kitchenette. We were able to walk on the beach or get on Hwy 1 and take a drive and enjoy the view. I loved this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Rbh, Front Desk Agent at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hello Lynda E,

Thank you for choosing the Beach House for your getaway. Half Moon Bay is a great location for a quaint and calm atmosphere. We are grateful for having the coastal trail at our fingertips and I am so happy you were able to enjoy our coastline. Thank you for leaving such a nice review, we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Love the Beach House! The ocean view room allowed us to view the beautiful sunset and enjoy the sound of the ocean and the distant fog horn through the night. Wine and cheese & crackers in the evening and a continental breakfast the next morning was a nice addition. The fireplace burning in the lobby made it warm and inviting.

Room Tip: Get the ocean few.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Rbh, Front Desk Supervisor at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hi Sandy R,

Thank you for such a lovely review. It's always great to hear when our guest have had an enjoyable stay. We hope to have you back in the future!

Warm Regards,
Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews