We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and outstanding views”
Review of Jetty Road Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jetty Road Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My wife and I spent three nights in Flat 6 (Flats 5 and 6 have clifftop views over the Lake) and we had the most peaceful and tranquil stay. Our windows looked onto the most awesome scenes of black swans swimming on the lake below, as well as the occasional watercraft. We placed some of the supplied birdseed on our deck and at one stage counted 11 parrots! Magnificent. We also caught a peek of a wombat, though it might have been a large wallaby! The decor is 'old-fashioned' in the best 1960s traditions, thoroughly in keeping with the flavour of many of the local houses, but all appliances were new or near-new and in perfect condition. We had absolutely everything we could require, from pots and pans to hairdryer and heaters. Overall, it was a stunning break for reading, playing games and being at one with nature.

Room Tip: Try to go for Flats 5 or 6. They both have magnificent views over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim K, Manager at Jetty Road Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for leaving such a positive review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the opportunity to get back to nature. I haven't spotted the wombat (or wallaby) but am keeping my eyes peeled!

Many guests have given us the same feedback on the views so they're all pretty special I think, I've lost track of time on many occasions polishing those windows and staring out at the water...

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

We loved Jetty Road Retreat having just spent 3 nights there. We had the most amazing view over the lake, optimised by the large clean windows. The cabin was extremely clean and well-appointment, even down to Scrabble, hairdryer, large screen TV and wine glasses. We could have spent hours feeding the huge red parrots, sitting back watching them flutter around the deck. Jetty Road Retreat is the perfect 'get away from it all' destination to go loaded up with books, gourmet food and local wine. Hope to go back for longer next time and really unwind way from the stresses of Melbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim K, Manager at Jetty Road Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the view as much as we do (it's a really good excuse to stay in bed I think!).

Jetty Road Retreat is certainly the place for slowing down and immersing yourself in a good book or three. Hopefully you can get along to the Metung Farmers market on your next visit. There's a great range of local produce available (it's on the 2nd Saturday of every month).

We hope to see you again soon,

Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The key attraction to this place is the location; it has a delightful view of Nungurner jetty and is situated overlooking the picnic ground and the lake beyond.
The rooms (it's a weathertex shack; don't be fooled by the website) are neat, clean and small but well furnished if basic. There is a deck area and an unfulfilled mention of birdseed (empty) for the colorful birds that came to say anywhere.
It's not quite retro with pale apple green walls and patterned curtains, but could be much more interestingly repainted and with more neutral drapes.
However, it's quiet, the bed was excellent and if the kitchen utensils were basic, it's a fifteen minute drive to Metung with good food options.
And it's a great place to read and write.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim K, Manager at Jetty Road Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for leaving your honest review.

As new managers, we have committed to significant investment this year to upgrade each unit, so it's great to know that we're investing in the things that will make a difference to our guest's experience.

Our new window furnishings will be complete by September 2012, we've got new kitchenware in all units, and carpet and paint is next on the list!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetty Road Retreat in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This American loved waking up to gorgeous lake views and powerfully colourful birds. These charming "Flats" offer all the amenities needed of gourmet meals on your own private patio. Bed so comfortable you'll be tempted to grab a book and enjoy a good read. Clean and sparkling. Docks, trails, waters edge, stand inviting you to explore nature and reconnect with it all. Proprietors Kim and Steve offer warm, excellent service and have great suggestions on what the area has to offer. Metung and Lakes Entrance nearby offer cafes and beach walks. Can't wait to return to Flat #4!!

Room Tip: These are two bedroom flats with living room and kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timeflies4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you leaving such a positive review. We were delighted to host international guests at Jetty Road Retreat and are glad you enjoyed your stay in Flat 4!

We agree the view is priceless but it's good to have our guests reinforce this when they see it. The birds really are bright aren't they, and there are so many of them around at this time of year - they seem to multiply when our guests arrive...

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetty Road Retreat, and hope to meet more of your US friends in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We travelled to Jetty Road Retreat, myself, husband and 3 children. Jetty Road Retreat had EVERYTHING we needed to make a family weekend perfect. The accommodation is very comfortable (especially the beds), spotlessly clean and with every amenity you could need. We loved the retro touches that have been made to the unit too. Our unit overlooked the lake which was so peaceful and serene even after the floods. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikkiSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and had everything you needed.

We know from our own experience it's the little things that can make a difference when you're traveling with kids, so we've really tried to ensure the kitchen in particular is well equipped!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetty Road Retreat again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungurner
15.1 km away
Captains Cove
Captains Cove
#1 of 2 in Paynesville
145 reviews
3.6 km away
The Moorings at Metung
3.0 km away
McMillans of Metung Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Esplanade Resort & Spa
Esplanade Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
570 reviews
9.4 km away
Best Western Coastal Waters Motor Inn
5.9 km away
Kalimna Woods Spa & Woodfire Cottages
Kalimna Woods Spa & Woodfire Cot...
#4 of 39 in Lakes Entrance
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetty Road Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetty Road Retreat

Address: 230 Nungurner Jetty Road, Nungurner, Victoria 3909, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Nungurner
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Nungurner
Price Range: $122 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jetty Road Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the Gippsland Lakes between Lakes Entrance and Metung, Jetty Road Retreat offers affordable secluded waterfront accommodation just over three hours east of Melbourne. Our multi award winning accommodation offers a secret haven to escape the holiday crowds, situated beside the Gippsland Lakes in the peaceful hamlet of Nungurner. Complimentary onsite facilities include private jetty, guest kayaks, sheltered BBQ area and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Jetty Road Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetty Road Retreat Nungurner, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing