We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Greatest Resort on the Planet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

It was my first time staying in Santa Barbara. I had to go up for a business trip. The hotel was amazing. it sits right on the beach and the views were spectacular. I slept like a baby with my window open, enjoying the ocean breeze. The staff were warm and friendly. The resort is large but it has a very intimate feel. I had planned on going into town for dinner, but the resort had everything on grounds. My meal was delicious. I highly recommend it. I will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,814 - 1,818 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Gorgeous, relaxing spa by the beach... The poolside cabanas are incredible... Reminiscent of golden years past. Great setting... Loved listening to the waves crash as we fell asleep at night. Excellent service well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chhawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

It is our go-to hotel in Santa Barbara. The property is beauty. It is secluded, never feels crowded and always clean. While we've eaten on the grounds it tends to be pricey, good, but pricey and usually opt for either room service or head into town. The rooms are spacious, and well decorated with all the amenities you could ask for. You'll feel like you've been transported somewhere else...immediate relaxation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3FLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about Bacara! We have guests like you who come back again and again and again. We are thankful for your loyalty.

All the best,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Terrific wholly contained in one location. Super staff, beach, and property. Don't miss Mira for dinner - Great wine cellar and incredible tasting menu. Rooms small, wish we had upgraded to suite. Don't wear good shoes to the beach.... had tar but they warned us. Going back for sure.

Room Tip: Get ocean view. Courtyards OK but a bit closed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEWDENVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thanks for your kind review. And yes, Miro is world class! Our menu changes seasonally, so be sure to come visit us again soon.

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

When we drove up from LA, we were a little worried when we drove past the Montecito and Santa Barbara exits off the 101 and saw we still had more of a drive ahead. Where were we headed? About 10 minutes from downtown Santa Barbara and a smidge more from the main drag of Montecito is the Bacara, and it's a real resort through and through. As we approached the property, we were already in awe, and what awaited us was a quiet little getaway perfect for our anniversary weekend. A sprawling property with some of the best customer service I have ever witnessed, Bacara is the finest of hotels and it was exactly what the doctor ordered, and from what we can tell, the only hotel was beachfront access in the area. And don't forget to catch the sunset on the path outside the Miró restaurant. The couple beside us got engaged as the sun went down.

Room Tip: An ocean view is certainly desirable but all the rooms are spacious while being so cozy and inviting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thanks so much for your very kind review. While the resort has a great sense of being away from it all- it is only 15 minutes to downtown Santa Barbara. However, our guests, like you find themselves wrapped in our luxury and with enough to do, that they often never leave the property. As you also mentioned, we are in fact the only resort actually on the beach in the area.
We hope to see you back again soon.

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
19.9 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,082 reviews
19.8 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,043 reviews
20.3 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
21.2 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,335 reviews
9.0 km away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 12 in Goleta
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117 (Formerly Bacara Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range: $595 - $1,162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing