We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wines, super staff”
Review of Pedroncelli Winery

Pedroncelli Winery
Ranked #5 of 29 things to do in Geyserville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A good winery for winetasting.
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Stopped in at the recommendation of friends. Very nice tasting room with a nice variety to sample. Especially enjoyed the Port, but all were pretty good.

Thank Hal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Owner at Pedroncelli Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thanks for dropping by, and thank your friends for mentioning us! I hope you'll stop in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sonoma county"
in 7 reviews
"fourth generation"
in 2 reviews
"canyon road"
in 2 reviews
"port wine"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 11 reviews
"great wine"
in 5 reviews
"sauvignon blanc"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 2 reviews
"gary"
in 5 reviews
"clone"
in 2 reviews
"winery"
in 30 reviews
"wines"
in 32 reviews
"anniversary"
in 3 reviews
"zin"
in 3 reviews
"cabs"
in 2 reviews
"rose"
in 2 reviews
"wineries"
in 4 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

Pedroncelli is unique among most of it's winery peers. It harks back to the earliest days of Dry Creek Valley wine making, and is now owned and operated by the third and fourth generation family members. J.Pedroncelli acquired it in 1927 (imagine the faith and courage to buy a vineyard and winery during Prohibition!!!). A lot of Sonoma County wine making "firsts" happened at J.Ped - but they're too humble to brag about it (they should!).
The family spirit and longevity show when you visit. This is the way wineries were "back in the day" (before wine became so trendy and snooty). Likely you will meet a family member in the tasting room or on a tour. It's a relaxed place to enjoy and learn about wine. You don't have to worry about the nose, bouquet or legs to enjoy your wine!! As I heard someone say, they make wine to drink and enjoy, not as museum pieces. That's a compliment!!
Regarding the wine, J.Ped is most well known for their Reds: Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon. If you're visiting on a hot summer day, try their dry Rose of Zinfandel. Good stuff. For white wine lovers, the Sauvignon Blanc is good too.

Thank kencwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedroncelli, Owner at Pedroncelli Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thanks so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoy the pace of of life and the wines! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This was our second visit to Pedroncelli and as expected, it didn't disappoint. The wine was terrific and the tasting was fun and informative.

As we were working through our list, we mentioned that we were in California celebrating our 10th anniversary. We quickly moved on to other topics and finished our tasting. Then as we were checking out, a gentleman who's name I'm sorry I don't remember, appeared from the back with a 2007 vintage Cab. An anniversary gift! It was so unexpected and incredibly generous, we didn't know what to say other than thank you (repeated several times.)

The wine of course is outstanding, but that type of personal interest and generosity when it comes to customers just doesn't happen. (Except at Pedroncelli)

It's a beautiful spot with great wine. I can't promise you a free bottle, but it's well worth the visit anyway.

Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Owner at Pedroncelli Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for stopping by during your celebration. Happy anniversary, and hope you'll come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We had the most amazing experience my nephew just turned 21 and they gave him a bottle of wine. Who does that today,they were so knowledgeable answered all questions. Great wine I can even buy it in Florida. Came outside to help us take a family picture. Just wonderful amazing people. Thanks Gary!!

Thank Barbie141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Owner at Pedroncelli Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Happy birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Gary provided information at our tasting on a quiet Thursday. Enjoyed their petite sirah and zinfandel mother clone.

Thank traveler51520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Owner at Pedroncelli Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thanks for stopping by. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pedroncelli Winery also viewed

Geyserville, Sonoma County
Geyserville, Sonoma County
 
Geyserville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Pedroncelli Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing