We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name matches the smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites North Orange County
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The name matches the smell”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Candlewood Suites in Garden Grove California is one of those hotels that you start off by trying to convince yourself your choice wasn't that bad. At $100/per night you try to say its a good value. It isn't. I asked for a king suite. I got a double queen room. I asked for non-smoking. I got a room that smelled of something between a chemical mix of cleaner spray and rancid cigarette smoke. The clerk at the front desk put on a good show of disgust and distain, mid her throaty smokers cough. But at least they were kind enough to say that my credit card wouldn't be charged. I departed with a lie, stating that I may stay there sometime in the future. Sorry Candlewood. Your hotel sucks. That was my short and vivid experience.

Room Tip: A full hotel leaves only the worst rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racerd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    44
    35
    14
    15
See reviews for
41
20
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This hotel is only about five minutes from Disneyland. It has a kitchen which makes it convenient and you can save money on food if you wish not to eat out. There is a convienent store next to the hotel. Place in nice, felt safe and easy access to the freeway.
I saved about 50% compared to hotels next to Disneyland. The bed is confortable and one of the best shower water presure. I would consider this hotel for future stays.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziecarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Like: very friendly and helpful staff, convenient to highways but not noisy or busy, nice neighborhood, cupboard - quick snack and not overly pricy, free laundry facility, free fitness room with good (not superb) equipment, free videos to use with new ones added each time I've stayed, always plenty of convenient, off-street parking, free Internet.

Could improve: odd smell in hallways and rooms, when I left the bathmat on the floor there were bugs crawling all over it when I came back to the room one night, otherwise the entire hotel is VERY clean, Internet is not very fast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SculptorCFDguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitman, Mass
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Well, I booked this hotel for 5 nights for our stay in the LA area. It was about $70 a night, and after checking in, I'd say it more like a $35 a night place. The room was tiny. The room was very outdated and run down. There was quite a bit of mold on the bathroom ceiling. The bathroom counter look like it had been chewed on in the floor corner. The room just didn't feel clean and we slept on top of all the covers/bedspread.
But the staff was great. i asked to ceck out in the morning, and I made my own arrangement to transfer to a Staybridge Suites (where I am now and will review in a few days). We had the AAA rate and they did not have to break our reservation and only charge us for the one night, but they did. They were very accomadating, and I didn't even have to argue. (Makes me think we weren't the first ones to leave early) But I really did appriciate the ease of breaking our reservation. So for that, I want to give 3 stars.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGRGGSales, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites North Orange County, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am disappointed to hear your stay was below our normal standards. We take pride in our hotel and want our guests to experience a clean and comfortable hotel and superior guest service. With that being said, I do agree that our appearance is currently outdated. We have great news concerning this. Our hotel will be undergoing a full rennovation beginning in November of this year. We are also providing feedback such as yours regarding our linens to our company as well. Although all of our soft goods (curtains, flooring/carpet, bedding etc.) are brand new. It seems there is an issue with the color. As the color of our linens is cream vs. the normal white in hotels, the appearance is one that we are finding is the assumption that they are old, not fresh and dirty. I can assure you that our linens and rooms are cleaned thoroughly and on a regular basis. We have a wonderful staff that truly cares about our guests visits and I'm happy you experienced their thoughtfulness during your stay.

Thank you again for providing your feedback. Your comments and suggestions are invaluable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The receptionist-Jacqueline was so helpful!!! They upgraded our room at no cost when we realized we need more space. They also gave us directions to all the places we wanted to go, since we had never been there before, and printed out some papers that we needed for one of our entertainment events. They were great, the staff was all soo nice and helpful!! Rooms were great too!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlross1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove
#13 of 19 in Garden Grove
265 reviews
1.6 km away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,095 reviews
1.7 km away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,186 reviews
3.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites North Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites North Orange County

Property: Candlewood Suites North Orange County
Address: 12901 Garden Grove Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Price range (per night): $131 - $222
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites North Orange County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Anaheim South is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy it in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). Candlewood Suites Anaheim South is located in the Anaheim Resort Entertainment district. We are close to all the excitement of Disneyland and California Adventure, only 2 miles from Downtown Disneyland and the Anaheim Convention Center. Sports fans are only 3 miles from Angels Stadium and Honda Center. The Block at Orange and the Garden Walk offer dining and shopping are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites North Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites North Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Candlewood Suites Garden Grove
Candlewood Garden Grove
Garden Grove Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites North Orange County Garden Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing