We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
0
3
0
4
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
3
0
4
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Manager is really Crude, and Mean. Loves to Yell. Obviously hates the US and is in fact an Anti American. Hates Partying and Cigarettes, even owns a bar, and has the nerve to call it the Humboldt Bar, and dress it like a dance club. He's a degenerate who lives on the property 24/7/365 and does not leave or go outside. He loves to play with his feet and there were even swatztikas painted on his front door. Rugs haven't been cleaned in at least five to ten years and the place is in desperate need of a paintjob. We didn't get our linens changed at all or a change of towels even upon requenst, and I was warned out of nowhere numerous times to not "have a party with 15 people".
I have not had a more dysfunctional vacation since my stay in Garberville, and visiting their businesses.

Room Tip: Room 14 is saved for those dealing drugs and Room 17 has a bunch of loudmouths who think they can own the place. He saves his rooms for these types in these particular numbers.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Owner though it was ok to walk directly into our room. there were multiple times. As far as hospitality goes, i would not recommend this place. The swimming pool looks like a health hazard. Room was dirty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllyBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We are hardy travelers, fine with the most basic and cheap accommodations. But, oh my goodness, the Lone Pine fails to meet our lowest standards.

The lighting was so poor it was hard to tell if our room was clean or not. We did awaken without any apparent infection or insect infestation--surprisingly. The property is in extremely poor condition: holes in the walls, door knobs sagging in their fittings, burn holes in the bedspread in our non-smoking room. The walkways of the property are littered with broken down cabinets, old furniture, and fixtures that seem to have been yanked from the walls of guest rooms. Some those discarded items actually looked better than what we encountered in our room.

The bathroom was amazing. The shower was so small that anyone over 6 foot tall or more than 160 pounds could not have squeezed in. There was no electrical outlet in the bathroom. A bar light over the sink had just two working bulbs. The bath mat was a sheet of paper that wouldn't have absorbed three ounces of water, so stepping out of the phone booth-sized shower onto the uneven tile floor was a safety hazard of epic proportion. I have Kleenex bigger than the ragged towels provided.

Most appalling was the price of the place: $65 + tax, for a total of $72. We've ben traveling for a month and have enjoyed many basic, clean, well-cared-for rooms for that price. Had it been $30 it would still have been grossly overpriced.

Clearly the motel owner does not respect his property or his guests and he does not deserve your money.

Room Tip: Don't even think about it!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived in the dark and hadn't had a look at the room - ,mistake!
It was run down and the owner didn't seem to care about reparing the broken furniture or even renovating the room.
But there was a new TV and fridge and the WIFI was for free. Nevertheless the room was not very comfortable because the bed was old and worn. The furniture looked like bulky waste and the bathroom was as charming as an old gym shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I wish I could say the motel was as nice as the owner and his wife. Bed was fine. Woke up the next morning to find a beer bottle beside one of our beds which wasn't ours. This makes me question how well the room is cleaned. The shower was very small and the shower would all of a sudden get extremely hot while you were in it. The door was very loose and the deadbolt very stiff. My husband used the pool briefly which was clean, just very cold but then again it is September.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews