We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
59
66
27
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
66
27
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastbbq areastainless steel appliancesbedroom suitesports courtwafflesjohn wayne orange county airportfull kitchenthe sofa bedno elevatorevery morningaaa discountcomfortable staymin drivea nice place to staycomfortable bedsclose to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I wanted to love this hotel (I'm from the area) but was sorely disappointed. The furniture in our two bedroom suite was dingy and run down. There were gnats everywhere. Everywhere. The were all over the hallway then would get into our room. I spent a night trying to whack them all. I even noticed dead gnats on the curtains. Then the tv reception in the main living area was spotty. Breakfast was pretty much the same everyday. So overall it was just an ok experience. I've stayed at Residence Inns much nicer than this one.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank NikG43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us as we strive to provide excellent accommodations to all of our guests. We have taken your comments concerning the gnats at our property to our Engineering team to ensure that this issue is corrected moving forward. We will be shrain gyour comments with the appropriate team members in an effort to improve our service. We hope that you will come visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Fountain Valley. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We live just a few miles from this hotel, which rests next to a Courtyard and next to a busy patch of the 405 Freeway. Far from the most scenic area of Southern California, it more than made up for it with the levels of service we experienced. Our condo was being fumigated and we and our 2 rescue cats had to vacate for 3 days. Someone suggested Residence Inn, pet friendly at only $100 extra cleaning fee, as an alternative to kenneling. They were right - it was perfect for our needs. First, the fellow at Front Desk graciously allowed us extreme early check in at 9am. What a gift, with 2 cats in the car who have never been out of our home except to the vet! Our room was huge, with no crowding due to luggage, people, cats, crates, etc.. Our bed was great, the shower worked well, everything was in good order and immaculate. Our privacy and our pet warning were respected, completely. We were close to our car and truck, and really didn't hear the freeway at all. More importantly, when one of the little darlings wedged her 14 pound body under the bed, the head housekeeper and 2 men from Engineering came to my aid and helped free her, with love. We also enjoyed breakfast and the social hour - and found our way to our usual local restaurants for dinner. It's actually a great hotel with outstanding people, a good location if you're not looking for ocean view (you can easily drive to that, probably 5 miles?). We loved our little stay and won't hesitate to recommend this hotel to visitors from out of town. Thank you for making a pretty awful week a bit of an unexpected treat!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lauranlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Huntington Beach/Fountain Valley on Trip Advisor! We are very happy to hear that our staff and hotel we able to make a positive impact on an otherwise unpleasant situation, like your house being tented. We strive to provide a level of service that makes our guests feel welcomed and taken care of and we are so happy that we were successful! We are also pleased that you were able to take advantage of our amenities while you stay with us and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, evening MIX events and were able to bring your furry friends along with you. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The room was clean and very spacious for my three-day visit. The room given to me was inside a breezeway which created an echo of loud noise whenever a door closed. It sounded like a beverage cart tumbling down the stairwell. If you are a light sleeper, do not stay in one of these rooms as the constant banging disturbed my sleep. Also, the "fully equipped" kitchen did not have an oven, only a refrigerator, microwave, and dishwasher. The grounds are nicely manicured and the pool a had pretty lighting at night.The breakfast was outstanding with a variety of cereals including Quaker oats, mini-waffle maker, Chobani yogurt, eggs, sausage, bagels, muffins, and cheeses.
My special thanks to Natalie and Viraj who went out of their way to assist me when checking in. They made my stay even better with their kindness and smiles. Thank you

Room Tip: Stay away from breezeway rooms
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmeliaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Huntington Beach/Fountain Valley on Trip Advisor! We greatly value your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and gave us a 5 out of 5 rating! Your comments will be shared with Natalie and Viraj so that they may know of the great job they are doing. We are also glad tat you enjoyed our refreshed breakfast offering as we have worked hard provide an updated, refreshed breakfast offering this year. We do have some suites with an oven, our Two-Bedroom suites do come with a conventional oven and range should you be interested in that room for your next trip to Fountain Valley. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

In town for a reunion that extended over three days. Great location between Huntington Beach (one of the days) and Fullerton (the other two). Clean, comfortable, and quiet. This is a property that is not new, but is well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Huntington Beach/Fountain Valley on Trip Advisor! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that you found it clean, quiet and comfortable and that you noticed the hard work our Engineering team puts in ensuring that out hotel stays well maintained. We at the Residence Inn strive to provide excellent accommodations to all of our guests and you comments will be shared with the team here so that they may know of your high opinion. We are looking forward to seeing you again when you visit Fountain Valley next

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I wish I had read the reviews on TripAdvisor prior to booking a stay at this Residence Inn. There is no excuse for the level of dirtiness and griminess of the hotel. When we got to our hotel room, we had a few "used" towels that had not been freshened - yuk. In the main lobby area, there was filth everywhere.

Dirt, food, crumbs on the floor counters, coffee table and check-in counter. I would recommend trying the Courtyard that is next door over this particular Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley with us. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, I am very sorry that your guestroom fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service. As a valued guest, we hope you choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you back to Fountain Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews