We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, convenient hotel but rooms are little small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice, convenient hotel but rooms are little small”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel is beautiful, the staff was very friendly and the location was great. For a family of four, however, the rooms were small and the double beds may have been washed on hot accidentally. We had to have a roll-away sent tot eh room and that created a situation where we literally had to step over the roll away to get to the bathroom and door.

Hot water was intermittently hot. One of our party was blasted with ultra hot water while rinsing shampoo from her hair and was lucky there were no burns.

Around 2:30 in the morning I was awoken by some partiers in the hallway being extremely loud, then again about a half hour later as they made their way to/from the room again. Quite annoying.

Beyond that I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side facing away from the freeway at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimAtKSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    145
    98
    41
    34
See reviews for
70
51
36
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I was booked at the Crowne Plaza Foster City for three nights for a business trip and ended up staying a fourth (in a different room) with a hotel voucher due to a flight delay on USAir. Both rooms I stayed in were in the main hotel rather than the executive tower, and both were in good condition.

The good: Staff was friendly and helpful; towels were unusually thick, soft, and large for this class of hotel; rooms were clean; Internet was usually speedy; despite proximity to the highway, the room was relatively quiet; mini-fridges are standard equipment in the room, which is great for storing soda, yogurt, etc; the airport shuttle arrived quickly and when promised; parking is free and plentiful.

The bad: Toilet in the second room (6th floor) ran continuously (I arrived late enough that I didn't want to call maintenance); beds were not particularly comfortable; all of the many pillows were (I guess) down-filled, which meant they squished down to nothing (I wish more hotels offered foam pillows); space was so tight in the room with two double beds that there was no room to walk between the desk and the bed; business center printer was down and there was no one onsite to fix it.

Based on my experience, the Crowne Plaza Foster City is one of the better hotels in the area. I am likely to return, but I wish the management would invest in some foam pillows before I do.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side of the hotel face the highway and are thus noisier than the rooms on the other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I was travelling on business and good old SFO was experiencing the usual weather delays. I used an airline discount certificate to book a spot here. Room was clean and very nice. I have no idea how good the discount deal was but the place was much nicer than the hotel I had just left in Palo Alto--and much cheaper of course. Free shuttle from SFO. Check-in was flawless and the staff friendly. Express checkout was, well, as it should be. Shuttle back to SFO was on-time. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpoppa1855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed here following a wedding. Was given a room above the atrium. Horrible location on a Saturday night because there is a club bar or lounge that operates til 2am. Hallways were loud all night. My room had one of those adjoining doors and the walls were so thin I could here the allnight party in the room next door. The front desk may have told them to quiet down per my request but they never did. There is another tower that may have offered a better experience but I will never find out.

Room and Bathroom were nice but not thoroughly cleaned before our stay. Observed food crumbs, a large screw in front of the nightstand. Bathroom sink had a hair in it. Linens were clean and bed was comfortable. King sized bed was not really a king size bed - it felt like a queen. Free wireless internet was the best thing about my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gertrudeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
gertrudeam,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience caused by the noise from other guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Foster City hotels

London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Moved here after 5 nights at the Sofitel Redwood City. Found the room in better condition than the Sofitel at a fraction of the price. Staying in the executive section, 5th floor, a quit zone floor.
Interesting trip each morning walking through the conference hall section of the hotel to the lobby. Great restaurants, especially the Japanese! Good wifi connection, good business centre, nice location.

Room Tip: Bridgepointe Shopping Mall right next door makes for shopping just a short walk away. Executive roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.4 km away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
0.9 km away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
4.6 km away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Property: Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Address: 1221 Chess Dr, Foster City, CA 94404-1173
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price range (per night): $193 - $508
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Foster City-San Mateo is the leading event destination with16,000 square feet of meeting space on the San Francisco Peninsula. Designed with a sky-lit atrium and innovative services for business and vacation, our Foster City hotel features contemporary-styled rooms and suites with luxury bedding, refrigerators, 37'' HDTVs and our Sleep Advantage Program. Enjoy lifestyle conveniences like our business center, complimentary Wi-Fi, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and free shuttle to SFO. Savor California and Asian cuisine at our relaxing restaurants, including Café Florian and Toyko Village, and enjoy cocktails and nightlife at Clubhouse Bistro and the Chit Chat Lounge. Just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport, we are minutes of Silicon Valley businesses and Bay Area attractions, golf courses, shopping centers and scenic coastal trails. We're less than 30 minutes from San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39, Union Square and AT& T Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, IHG, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing