We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SURPRISE! A REAL GEM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

It was with hesitation that I booked a room at this hotel, but the reviews on here lead me to give it a try. It is GREAT! I know it is an older property, but what a great job of updating has been done here. The landscape is impeccable and the parking lot is spotless. That is just the beginning. We had a great updated room with shutters at the windows, a great bathroom, comfortable beds, and beautiful colors throughout. Then we went to check out the pool and what another surprise. This was not just a pool with a hot spa, but a quiet OASIS in which to relax. Several comfortable seating areas, some covered, some open air, all had patio heaters. There was a couple of areas sharing a nice fireplace, another was built around a gas fire-pit, lots of comfortable seating options at the pool, a pool table for guests. There was an outdoor 'tiki bar' too. It wasn't open when we visited, but it looked very nice. The breakfast area was clean and offered the BEST apple fritter I have ever tasted! Very attentive and pleasant staff every day! I can't recommended it enough to you.

Room Tip: I did not see an elevator so those with physical limitations might want to request a lower floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winkysquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisBWPHBI, General Manager at Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you for the great review of our property; we really appreciate you noticing all the exciting upgrades and additions that we have done in the past several years. All of our guest rooms have been renovated and of course, our new Oasis area has been a huge hit with our guests. It sounds like you enjoyed our delicious apple fritters and other pastries delivered daily from a local bakery. We can't wait for your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at the Humboldt Bay Inn. We were greeted by a friendly smile even when she was having trouble with her internet due to the fires in California. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Selina, our chauffeur, was great. She was so helpful and friendly. We had stayed here about 10 years ago and regretted not taking the complimentary Limo. We weren't disappointed, even sharing the ride with a nice couple from the Seattle/ San Juan area. The breakfast was good, Selina was our hostess and rushed around making everything great. The Oasis and decour was very classy & comfy. Kudos to Selina, she's the best ambassador!!! Definitely will be back. Eureka is such a interesting, fun town.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PrrplKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisBWPHBI, General Manager at Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Wow! thanks for re-visiting us ten years later!...as you noticed, we have done a lot since your last visit. Its great that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary dinner limousine...and yes, Selina is awesome! As you stated, she is "so helpful and friendly" and the "best ambassador!" We look forward to your next visit with us...but don't wait 10 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night here and we were very happy with our room. It was clean and modern. We didn't mind that the room was rather small. The oasis area is great and breakfast was basic but good. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Astrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

They have updated rooms and they are beautiful! Small but nice! We stayed in the summer of 16 and fell in love with the Oasis and that’s why we stayed on our honeymoon trip down the north coast! It was even better this time!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I agree with all the reviews I read before staying here!! The staff was great, friendly and helpful and professional; the accommodations were great, nicely decorated, comfortable and clean! The pool area is fabulous!! But the location is not so good! If you need to be in town or close to "old town" you are good. But very industrial area! Unfortunately, homeless around.

I was very disappointed with the breakfast. I have stayed at a lot of BW PLUS, always pay extra and choose that cuz of the great rooms and hot breakfast. They had all the usual items, waffles, cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs,etc., and they have Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches that you can heat up! So, they have the usual selection of breakfast items as regular BW but not the hot choices that I've experienced over many years!! That's a major reason we pay extra for the "Plus". Some are better and fancier than others, but always better than here! We were fine with our toast and yogurt and fruit, etc., but not what I expected out of a BW Plus.

Also, unfortunately, we could hear noises from the adjoining rooms!!! Not voices but toilet flushing and showers and someone left a bathroom fan on that I heard all night, our last night. I'm a light sleeper but my husband also commented on the fan we heard alllllll night!!

K. So just trying to be honest. We stayed for three nights, so weren't in our room except for sleeping. We were exploring and hiking areas around ..... so it was ok for us but I wasn't that happy. After driving by the other Best western on the other side of town, which was cheaper and looked newer and had a less industrial atmosphere, I think I would choose that next time!!

So again, it was nice but didn't live up to all my other stays at BW Plus expectations!! And I paid more here than the other one.

Sorry, management, but your staff was great! Your pool was great! Our room was comfortable and clean! Breakfast was what I could have had at a non PLUS! And unfortunately, noises from other rooms, not voices but plumbing was very loud!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aussieshepmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eureka
3.2 km away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
1.3 km away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
633 reviews
1.2 km away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
13.6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn

Address: 232 W 5th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#3 Family Hotel in Eureka
Price Range: $155 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn is located in downtown Eureka, just blocks to Historic Old Town, Marina/Boardwalk, and fine eateries and coffee houses. Take our complimentary stretch dinner limousine to dinner.Enjoy our 108 spacious guest rooms with all the amenities travelers want...NEW 42" LCD tvs, Microwave/refer, plush bedding, free WI-FI in every room. NEW Oasis Spa Area & fireplace lounging. Our indoor/outdoor pool & spa area await you with an attached atrium/area with billiards table and upscale lounging furniture for those that just want to relax. Our fitness facility is perfect for exercising...treadmill, eliptical machine, stationary bike, free weight dumbells, and a top-of-line 10 station workout machine.Complimentary deluxe breakfast is served each morning that includes: hot waffles (waffle maker), fresh danish, muffins, donuts (delivered fresh each morning), hot Jimmy Dean egg/sausage sandwiches, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, fresh gourmet coffee (ground onsite), and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Hotel Eureka
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing