We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice!”
Review of Carter House Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carter House Inns
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed across the street at the Bed and Breakfast in one of the two room suites. It was fabulous, I would highly recommend it. Everything about it was great. A complimentary glass of wine at check-in and a complimentary breakfast were an added bonus. A very restful nights sleep, in a beautiful building.

Room Tip: I think that any of the rooms are very nice, it just depends on which building you would like to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haystacks-Brand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewer8062, Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Carter House Inns in Eureka, CA. We are pleased that you stayed with us, and we wish you the best of travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 517 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

From the moment we walked in The Carter House took excellent care of us. The complimentary breakfasts were delicious, and our dinner at the hotel's "Restaurant 301" was definitely a highlight. We didn't know too much about the area but the staff gave great recommendations on dog friendly beaches, wine/beer tastings, sights to see. The staff seemed genuinely happy to be there. Everyone was warm and outgoing and helpful. It was the highlight of a long wknd - far exceeding our expectations. Go!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyDMo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewer8062, Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,

The Staff is delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality of Carter House Inns and Restaurant 301 and all of the scenic splendor that the North Coast has to offer. Thank you for posting a Trip Advisor Review and for letting us know that you had a great weekend here. Come again!

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Carter House Inn is located in the historical district of Eureka and walking distance of shopping, resturants and historical points of interest. It's approx one block from the water and there is a walking path that goes along the waterfront that is quite nice.

We stayed in Room 203 which is in the main inn. This room was above the main lobby area on the second floor and looked out on to the street. We stayed here in February which is the low season and from reading the other reviews I did bring ear plugs but we didn't need them. Other than the normal bumps and noises you may hear from other hotel rooms there wasn't a problem with noise. There was limited parking behind the inn but the majority of the time we parked on the street (either on the side or in front ot the inn with no problem).

The Inn is quite nice with wine and snacks in the afternoon and tea and cookies at night. Some people did gather downstairs in the cozy lobby to partake and enjoy other people's company but we had been so busy exploring and hiking the near by redwood forest we ended up skipping these events instead.

We reserved room 203 because it was the cheapest one available at that time ($159 per night) but it was very nice with jetted tub, comfy dbl size bed, desk, nice decor, etc. Wifi was free and worked really well.

The staff response and service (especially Ashley) was amazing. They were always pleasant and helpful. Kudos to Ashley who came up stairs to show me where the on/off switch to the jet tub was (turned out it was behind the door while in other rooms it was on the tub).

Breakfast was on the higher scale here, for free you were given granola, yougurt, fruit, assortment of breads, muffins and torts along with coffee, teas, milk and juice. For an additional $8 you can order the hot dish which was an ham & cheese omelet one day and a quiche the next.

We did have dinner in the resturant downstairs and was aware that the cost would be high but decided to splurge anyway. Everything was fresh and good but having lived in or near San Francisco from many years I rated it as an 8 out of a scale of 10.

We would stay here again and I'm considering organizing a Ladies trip and renting out one of the Inn's houses for just our group.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hpisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewer8062, Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling others about Carter House Inns in Eureka, CA. We know that it takes time out of your busy schedule to compose and post a review, and we do appreciate it. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the redwoods and the North Coast as well as our Inn. We will work harder to make sure that all of our guests know that both course of breakfast are free, and we are sorry that it wasn't clear to you. Hope to see you again up here--perhaps with some of your friends.

Happy Travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We found this hotel on the GPS in our rental car as we were driving up Highway 1. Drove by for a look and had to stay. They had us the second we walked through the doors. A complimentary glass of wine upon check in. Little appetizers by the fire. My husband and I were allowed to check out rooms before we made a decision. Each was unique and beautifully decorated. We chose a spacious room on the 3rd floor w/ fireplace, 4 poster bed and jet tub built for 2. Very romantic! The biggest surprise was the 301 Restaurant. We opted for the chefs tasting menu with wine pairings and it was so well done we still talk about it. Each dish was beautifully prepared and the wines were top notch. We enjoyed it so much, we stayed a 2nd night and ate at 301 again. This time we made a special request for a seafood only tasting/wine pairing and they gladly obliged. Not only was it spectacular, but none of the dishes were duplicated between the 2. That goes above and beyond service. Troy and Ashley, our servers for the 2 consecutive nights were wonderful in describing why/how each wine was chosen for each dish. Just a great dining experience. Oh yes...after dinner we had warm cookies by the fire...complimentary, of course :)

We can't wait to return to Cater House. Our only fear is that we'll never be able to get a reservation...It's that good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewer8062, Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Your in-depth review of Carter House Inns and Restaurant 301 was read happily by our staff. We're pleased that your experience at Carter House Inns and Restaurant 301 was enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about our property in Eureka, CA.
Best wishes to you in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We found this wonderful inn on Select Registry & were blown away by the 301 Restaurant & wine selections! We had a lovely room. They were having problems with the heat & offered us a space heater but we didn't need it. We were the only ones in the dining room that evening & after a glass of complimentary wine at the bar, we had an delicious meal with dessert! We were even treated to a tour of their wine cellar which was mouth watering...to say the least! The service was great & we would recommend this Inn to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewer8062, Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending our Inn and Restaurant to other Expedia readers. We appreciate your support and hope to see you again when the weather is warmer.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
1.3 km away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
4.2 km away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.9 km away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#6 of 21 in Eureka
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.1 km away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
0.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter House Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter House Inns

Address: 301 L St, Eureka, CA 95501-0571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eureka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#3 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range: $274 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carter House Inns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern California's premier inn is an enclave of four magnificent Victorians perched alongside Humboldt Bay in Old Town, Eureka. The luxurious accommodations at Carter House Inns and the sumptuous dining at its Restaurant 301 (considered among Northern California's best restaurants) set and indulgent tone for a marvelous visit to the giant redwood forests, rugged Pacific beaches and the other wonders of Northern California's Redwood Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carter House Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter House Inns Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing