We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Elk Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsburg, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Oregon. It is located right off of I-5 in a safe area. The hotel was clean and quiet. The beds were comfortable and the rates were very affordable. The only problem we had was that there was no hot water. We noticed when we checked in that there were 2 plumbers trucks out front, but were not advised that there were any issues, so assumed they were staying there for the night. In the morning after I realized there was no hot water, I was advised there was a major issue with the plumbing and they did not know when the hot water would be restored. While I understand that things like this happen, and that the hotel can not control them, a little heads-up at check in would have been nice. This would not however stop me from staying at this location again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to write a review about our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel during your stay. Yes we did have plumbing issues and we did put up signs at the front desk, business center door and elevator door which stated the issue regarding the hot water. Please do accept my sincere apologies on behalf of my stay for which they should have informed you regarding the plumbing issue at check in time. We value our guests’ opinions and do hope to get a chance to serve you and/or your family with great service in the future. Thank you for being an understanding and loyal guest we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    38
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
12
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Porterville
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The other reviews for this location are correct. There is a lot to like about this location. It's fairly new (about 2 years old), rooms are large and comfortable, close to downtown Sacramento, shopping very close to hotel, and the rates are very fair for the area. It has all the things that make the HIE chain a good value for travelers.
I only gave it 3 out of 5 because of mold in the bathtub. I was given a room with a jetted (whirlpool) tub. I had spent most of the day driving and was looking forward to relaxing int he tub. When I started the water I noticed that there was black mold around every jet in the tub. I decided that the tub might not be a good idea.
This is a nice affordable HIE location, but the cleaning crew needs to be better trained.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of my staff. I have spoken to my staff regarding this matter and I assure you this will not happen again. I appreciate your feedback, it's very important to hear from our guests about their experiences! I hope that you will give us the benefit of the doubt, and come see us again when you are in the Elk Grove area. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Once again please accept my apologies and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed 2 nights for a soccer tournament in Elk Grove. This hotel seems rather new and was a clean, quiet, comfortable place for our family of 5. We did experience some rather noisy kids in the halls and upstairs, but I can't blame the hotel for that. Overall everything was great. We got better pricing for our stay ($99/night) by booking with the hotel directly and not using Expedia or Kayak, etc. The morning brekfast was good. A decent start to the day. Overall we would consider staying here again. Very close to the Hal Bartholomew Sports Complex too about a 5-7 min drive. FYI for those of you traveling for sports purposes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javillane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am very pleased to know you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We value our guest’s opinions. I do apologize for the noisy part of your stay. Thank you for being an understanding and loyal guest, we appreciate your business and we hope to see you again for another soccer tournament soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

On a visit to see family in Elk Grove, CA , I booked a Holiday Inn Express expecting a mediocre but less costly stay. To my surprise the room was very clean with flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. The bed was very comfortable as well. Included in the price was a nice breakfast with pancakes, sausage, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, plus the usual cereals and bagels, etc..
My congratulations to Mr. Patel who is doing a great job and running a tight ship.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side (back) may tend to be a bit less quiet due to the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

So the day we were checking out, we get a knock on the door at 9 am saying "Guest Services", then when we answer the door, the guy is like, "Just confirming you are checking out today." Seriously?!!!! (Check out is not till 11 am, did they need the room earlier, is that why they wanted us out?) Did you really need to come to the door to confirm?! Oh and while he was there, he had a loud argument with another room on the floor in Spanish. So if you don't want to sleep in till 10:00/10:30/11:00, go ahead and stay here and you can get a wake up knock on your door the day you are leaving. The girl at the desk, shook her head when I complained, like oh geez, what was he thinking and apologized but still, why is this guy doing that?

I guess a large party/family was staying in several rooms on our floor. There was loud talking in the hallways and banging of doors due to them leaving the lock in the door, so that people could go in and out between rooms.

Other then that, the room was okay. It was comfortable and big. I really need to get used to the partial curtains that don't close are just for decoration.

Oh and in the room description, it said separate living area. So I was thinking a whole different room. There was like a tiny wall between the couch and the bed. So anyway, there was a couch with a coffee table and a desk. Nothing wrong with it though, it was nice to have to work at the table on the laptop or sit on the couch rather then lay on the bed.

This is the first time staying here and the last, for paying the price that we did, it was not worth the wake up knock. We'll go back to the one on Stockton Blvd, (we never got a wake up knock there) or go to another hotel chain.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midori_puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Grove
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Elk Grove Laguna I-5
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East
7.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento Elk Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - Elk Grove
8.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sacramento Elk Grove
14.2 km away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#18 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove

Property: Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove
Address: 2460 Maritime Drive, Elk Grove, CA 95758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Elk Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Elk Grove
Price range (per night): $163 - $272
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Elk Grove is the newest and most modern hotel in the Sacramento area. Our beautiful 100% non smoking hotel is conveniently located off, I-5 and within variety of shopping and popular dining options. Guest will enjoy our central location to San Francisco Bay area, Napa Valley/Sonoma, Lake Tahoe/ Reno, Redding and the Central Valley. Experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring our signature cinnamon rolls served daily, outdoor pool and whirlpool, enhanced bath experience, business center, fitness area, meeting space that can accommodate up to 40 people, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access. Our location places you a short distance from Sacramento International Airport, Downtown Sacramento, Old Town Sacramento, Sacramento Convention Center, State Capitol Building, Sacramento Zoo, Arco Arena, Sacramento River, Elk Grove Regional Park, Old Town Elk Grove, Raley Field, Grand Island Mansion, Wineries, Cosumnes River College, Cal Expo, Harvest Festival, Memorial Auditorium and Esquire IMAX Theater. We are confident that your stay in Elk Grove will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove Hotel Elk Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing