We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place to Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Portal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 El Portal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Lovely place to come "home" to each night after a day of hiking and sightseeing in Yosemite. Big deck right on the Merced River, tons of humming birds, relaxing atmosphere. Ron & Liz are the perfect B&B hosts. Hope you are there on the morning Liz makes her famous French Toast - it is to die for!! Our room was lovely, bed luxurious. Staying at the Blue Butterfly was part of the wonderful Yosemite experience for us!

Room Tip: Glasgow Rose had wonderful King size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    30
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
476
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Don't be put off by the approach to this place - once you go through the front door it is another world - beautiful home , ultra clean rooms and the back looks over the Merced river which is stunning - you cannot believe how close you are to a big hotel and restaurants - there is no noise carry over . The Skeltons were my favourite hosts - we instantly had a tray of tea made when we arrived and home made cookies. They sit and talk and give as much or as little time to you as you want. We loved the other guests we met here and it's hard to actually leave in the morning - breakfast is served outside on the balcony overlooking the river - food is plentiful and the tea and coffee never ending . It's close to the park and easy to find. If you are traveling around and like this standard of accomodation look at the Blackberry Inn .

Room Tip: If you can afford the penthouse room it's amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynandsiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn was fabulous: the owners, Liz & Ron, were delightful; the room was lovely; the setting & view were spectacular; the breakfast was delicious ... what more could one ask for ... and just a mile from the Yosemite Arch park entrance, too!
Jan H.

Room Tip: They're all good, but the 3 upstairs rooms have decks overlooking the Merced River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Extremely clean, inviting room. Very comfortable bed with nice sheets and pillows. Nice soaps in the bathroom.
Breakfasts were great because Liz knows what foods stick with you when hiking all day. She always had plenty of protein options, as well as good breads as well. Very tasty breakfasts. Coffee was wonderful as well.
Liz and Ron were the most hopitable b&b hosts I have ever stayed with. When Liz found out we'd be leaving very early on the day of our departure, she made sure we had our own quick breakfast at 6:30 AM for the four of us.
The living area and deck are nice, so whether you book one of the smaller rooms or larger ones, you can enjoy the home's large deck. However, the larger bedrooms upstairs were so nice, and we enjoyed the private decks, especially since we stayed a full week.
This is the perfect place to stay if you want to be near the park and have a nice place to come home to after hiking all day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We met New York friends in Yosemite for 4 days. We travel there frequently, our friends made their first visit. We've previously always stayed in the park, at The Ahwahnee or Yosemite Lodge. I found the Blue Butterfly Inn on the internet and consider it superior to any other accommodations we've ever had. Our friends stayed in the Lotus on the second floor and we had a real treat by occupying the Sunflower on the top floor. Truly a magnificent room with windows and sliding doors wrapping around the entire room, with a private deck overlooking the Merced River. Liz and Ron are the perfect hosts offering conversation and assistance on the area. And Liz's breakfasts are the icing on the cake, a wonderful way to start the day in the park. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjaronoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
8.0 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,102 reviews
16.5 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,823 reviews
18.5 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
18.1 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
458 reviews
0.1 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn

Property: Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn
Address: 11132 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Portal
Price range (per night): $252 - $435
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn is a new, family owned and operated Bed and Breakfast - the closest to Yosemite Valley. The inn is on the banks of the Merced River, in sight of the cliffs at the entry to Yosemite National Park, on the Highway 140 entrance. All rooms have en-suite facilities with hair dryers, and Wireless Internet access on guests' computers. A full,cooked breakfast is included. Owners have lived in the yosemite area for 40 years and are happy to help guests plan their days in the park and their itinerary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Hotel El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing