We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Style Chinatown Food”
Review of Sasa Kitchen

Sasa Kitchen
Ranked #39 of 101 Restaurants in El Cerrito
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 July 2018

I've been craving for Cantonese cooking because it seems any Chinese restaurants near me are northern style or westernized foods like Panda Express and PF Chang's (the worst). I've now come here four times and each visit has been very satisfying. I can't say it's the best Cantonese I've tasted but it is better than any others I've had in a few years (yes, years!) It does remind me of the old restaurants I use to frequent in San Francisco's Chinatown which had some of the best in the West. I even did a large takeout for a family dinner and my fussy sister, loved it! If you're around El Cerrito, you can't go wrong with Sasa. BTW: their lunch menu is cheap and delicious.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BogieVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

We went here with a large group of people in the ACCT group. We had a 9 or 10 course meal with lobster, Peking duck, shrimp, scallops, you name it. All courses were just wonderful and large enough for the table of 10. Great place. Give it a try

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rsk538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We had our family 2018 Chinese New Year dinner at Sasa kitchen. The meal was pre-ordered ahead of time from the their New Years Menu since we had about 50 people attending the banquet. We had a tasty soup which I believe was made from dried scallops and mushrooms, It was followed by walnut shrimp, Chinese long beans,
Chinese fried chicken, Peking duck, baby bok choy with pork and mushrooms,
steamed rock cod with hot oil, fried rice, duck meat from Peking Duck, bok choy with
abalone and mushrooms.
The food was better than normal and service was good. My only complaint about the restaurant is the size. It is a large 1 room restaurant with a lot of tables squeezed into the area. It was hard to wonder between tables to visit and it was especially hard for my elder relative who needed to use a walker.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vir94545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We went there as a group of 13 for lunch and we ordered quite a few dishes from the dinner menu including steamed fish, noodles with lobster, peking duck, claypot with lamb, etc. For appetizer we also ordered har gow (shrimp balls). The har gow was probably the worst har gow I had in the Bay Area. The skin was mushy and the shrimp inside came in small separate pieces instead of one whole shrimp. Avoid it at all cost! The dinner dishes were quite good and tasty. Service was typical of what one normally finds in a Chinese restaurant. So don't expect them to come and check on you. The restaurant owns a parking lot next to it and so parking was not a problem (unless the restaurant is really full). The place is not like a hole in the wall but the decor is nothing to write home about,

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

I went to this restaurant for lunch on a Thursday. All the customers were Chinese at the time of my arrival which suggested to me that the food would be authentic. It is recently renovated so it was clean and tidy. There were tanks with live crab and fish in front. I ordered the roast duck special. It came with egg drop soup. There was white rice and stir fried bok choy. The duck skin was very crispy, but the meat was a bit dry and bland. There was only one server, a woman, whom I think was management since she worked the cash register also. When my check did not come, I went up to the register to pay. She was surly about the bill, speaking to me in a derogatory tone. I was surprised at her manner. I paid the bill and the requisite tip, but vowed never to return. Most restaurants make me feel welcome not an inconvenience.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank PansyKwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sasa Kitchen also viewed

 
El Cerrito, CA
 

Been to Sasa Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing