We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Good, Setting Cozy”
Review of Zel's Del Mar Cafe

Zel's Del Mar Cafe
Ranked #16 of 103 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This restaurant used to be the Del Mar Cafe and they had the most awesome Warm Chicken Salad. They still serve it but for some reason changed the recipe and it has never been as good. But overall the menu has good options and Zel's is a nice place to stop and have lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank K4656HPanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2018

I had to kill an hour and Prep Kitchen wasn't open. Tried Zel's for breakfast and it was really delicious. You might say what's not to like about eggs over easy, potatoes, bacon and toast. Allow me to retort: based on experience, a lot can go wrong. Not here, all was tasty and perfectly done. Not crowded, so service was great but untested on a busier day.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We love this place we will be back soon. Awesome times with Mark and Walt we had The Rib Eye Steak so tasty the service here is Awesome our server Avery was Awesome. I highly recommend this place

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Mobile538831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Review is about the coffee cart: good quality, good price, easy access, fast and friendly service. A regular stop. Recommended.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 553marvinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

My favorite Del Mar restaurant for breakfast food! Their updated version of biscuits and gravy is pretty amazing! Pairs well with the bottomless mimosa option! You can't go wrong with their takes on eggs benedict also! They have the best dog treats for your patio pup, and friendly service.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scottijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zel's Del Mar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Zel's Del Mar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing