We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay, you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western University Lodge
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The first night it smelled bad. Like overpowering deodorant smell. After that it was okay. I didn't find it too noisy. The breakfast, forget it. Nothing good there. But it's it a nice location and right next door to the Black Bear restaurant.

Room Tip: Had a ground floor unit in the back of the unit, pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmie92592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 164 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for just one night. It was very clean and had an updated tv. The bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is in a good location within walking distance to many local little restaurants. The breakfast was decent with several options for it being a continental breakfast. Cereals, bagels, toast, hot waffles, oatmeal, fruits and hard boiled eggs and juices were some of the options. I really liked the breakfast room. It is small, but we were in there at 7 am, and nobody else was in there, and the back area of the breakfast room, was a small kitchen area, and I just made myself at home preparing our breakfast. It worked out great! The things I didn't like were the walls are thin, there was someone being very loud and rude outside my room, but that was not the hotels fault, and we were on the first floor, and could hear the people in the room above us walking around. I suggest requesting a second floor room to avoid this. If we ever need to get a hotel in Davis again, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: get a second floor room and go early to breakfast because it is a small breakfast area and gets crow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

As far as I know, $90 a night, as least on week days near Christmas when we stayed, is cheaper than other top rated hotels. I asked for a quiet room and got one. There is no elevator so you clunk your heavy bag up the outer stairs if staying on the second floor. I like the Spanish-influenced tiles denoting the number of each room.

The room isn't large but it has everything necessary, frige, micro wave, tv, internet connection, a desk with rolling chair, even a lounge chair. The bathroom has a white tiled floor with stylish umber walls and the bed was covered with a silky green spread with a certain attention to style. Best of all were the crisp but not starchy sheets, very white and lovely. The place seemed very clean. It's just four blocks from Sophie's Thai restaurant and convenient to most areas.

It's true the college kids at the front desk seem to be studying mostly and aren't going to bend over backward to help you (as when I at first had trouble getting on the internet) but at least they are polite. The breakfast, of course, which you eat watching CNN news proposes a challenge, as expected. There is, in an arrangement of cups, a muddy looking pool of waffle mix of dubious pedigree which one can throw on the waffle irons, the brand of yogurt which promises to donate something to breast cancer cures all the while containing phenolamines. dry cereal,,coffee, tea and frozen orange juice. The usual Amercian stuff unfortunately ti be expected in a chain.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosabluecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I stayed here for three nights while meeting with people on campus. For my purposes, the location was excellent. I was able to walk everywhere and didn't need a car. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, and a 24-hour convenience store right across the street.

Some other reviewers mentioned the small rooms. The place does have the feel of a motel that's been spiffed up. That said, the owners have done a good job with what they have. The rooms are clean and well-provisioned, and there are a spa area and exercise room. I LOVED the waffle maker that's part of the breakfast buffet! Also the breakfast room has a computer with Internet access, which was handy as I didn't bring my laptop. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

The one problem I had was with the room temperature. I was there during a cold spell when it was getting down into the 40s at night. When I arrived, the temperature of my room was around 65 degrees, I'm guessing. Cooler than I like it, but not unbearable. I looked for a thermostat, but couldn't find one. I concluded that the owners were trying to economize by keeping the temperature down, and spent the first evening wrapped in the extra blanket I found in the drawer while reading for my next day's meetings. It wasn't until the second evening that I discovered that the air conditioner was also the heater. Maybe the staff could tip off future jet-lagged travelers about this?

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights when we came to spend our son's new student orientation for family. It was close to the school and downtown. Place was very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italygreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.5 km away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
722 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Palm Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
0.1 km away
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Lodge

Address: 123 B St, Davis, CA 95616-4636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Davis
Price Range: $188 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western University Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Davis
Best Western Davis
Davis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing