We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility itself!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ferme du Tilleul

The Gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gite
Gite Entrance Gite entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The Gite
Gite Entrance
Gite entrance
Drone's eye view
Lounge
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom 1
Comfy beds
Bedroom 2
Gite garden 1
Gite garden 2
Gite garden 3
Le Tilleul
Vegetable plot
view from the front of the gite and house
Our house in the snow
the bottom of our lane
Aix la Fayette
View from the top of the Puy de Dome
View of the Puy de Dome from Clermont Ferrand
Usson
Issoire church
La Chaise Dieu
Lac Chambon
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Aix-la-Fayette, Puy-de-Dome, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
beaky29
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tranquility itself!”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just returned after a fortnight at Ferme de Tilleul. What a wonderful time we have had. The gite was well equipt and plenty spacious enough for the four of us. The silence is amazing, just the birds and the bees for company, we would often just sit and listen to nothing! Delightful hosts made our stay a pleasure, nothing was too much trouble, helping us with maps and suggestions, even phoning to make reservations for us. We went to the area specifically to see the Puy Du Dome, and as amazing as it was, there is so much more to see, especially if like me you like a view of two! The sights are off the scale. Must go to, would be Puy-en-Velay, town was beautiful and the heights, if you choose to climb offer some amazing views!
Our first stat in a gite, travelling independently and I would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Silence
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Having booked almost 18 months ago, I know you were really looking forward to coming to the Auvergne and am so glad it lived up to your expectations and you weren't disappointed. You certainly made the most of your 2 weeks here taking in lots of tourist spots but also just relaxing in the calm surroundings of the gite and it's locality. We look forward to welcoming you back one day. Best wishes Mary and Kev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mecua
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay in the heart of the Auvergne”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our family has just spent a delightful week in the gite at Ferme du Tilleul. Mary and Kevan are warm and welcoming hosts. The gite was spotlessly clean and the best equipped that we have stayed in! Our children (8, 6 and 3) thoroughly enjoyed the pool, walks in the forests, feeding the donkeys and games of monopoly in the garden! There is lots to do locally for kids: Moulin Richard de Bas (paper mill), Maison de la Fourme (cheese factory), Forest adventure park, local markets and brocantes, swimming in lake aydat, train ride to and exploring Puy de Dome! My hubby and I found great walking and running routes shopping of for a coffee Chez Marthe. Four course Chez Marthe for 13€ is not to be missed. We also had a memorable evening meal with Mary and Kevan while the kids enjoyed a movie night! The Auvergne is a wonderful place to visit in any season. Mary and Kevan made out visit extra special. We'll be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny B
Salisbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had an amazing stay at this lovely, clean, pretty and well equipped gite.
The boys loved the above ground large framed pool and we're in it every day regardless of the weather.
The owners could not have been more helpful and were of great assistance when our car broke down.
The area is stunning, with lots to see and do in the surrounding stunning countryside.
It was so worth the extra driving and we would do it again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The gite is spacious and comfortable, it felt like home from the moment we arrived. The countryside is stunning with endless varied walks right from the door. Very peaceful with lovely views from the garden. Kevan and Mary were perfect hosts and had thought of everything we could possibly need. We couldn't ask for more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFS429
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb gite - exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The gite is tastefully furnished, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We did appreciate all the 'extras' /attention to details e.g. fresh strawberries, lettuce from the garden left on our doorstep and kindness of our hosts who invited us for a drink mid week and showed us round the property. As a retired couple, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in La Ferme du Tilleul - highly recommended and such good value. We are used to travelling in France (staying in gites) but have rarely met such friendly and helpful hosts as Mary and Kevan - June 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clealiness and warm welcome by our hosts
Liked least: Could not find any fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 433
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing