We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot on your way to Catalina.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great spot on your way to Catalina.”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our room was clean, well appointed and we had a balcony overlooking the bay. The personnel were very accommodating - especially the driver at guest services who took us up and down the hill a dozen times, suggested great restaurants and told us about local lore during our short drive. There is an old "Woody" station wagon sitting in the courtyard - very cool. Breakfast was very good with the usual omelet station and excellent baked goods. I can't tell you how the hotel dinner fare is as we went to the marina every evening for dinner. The hotel is well located for excursions to Capistrano and San Clemente. We enjoyed our stay and if I am on my way to Catalina in the future I would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pear3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
We can not wait to welcome you back for another WOW experience! We create WOW experiences for our guests every day! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    460
    170
    86
    88
See reviews for
387
426
49
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at this Hotel the last week of December 2011, what a way to end the year! We have stayed in Dana Point many times before but never at this location and we now know what we’ve been missing…. The location is absolutely perfect, the beach and marina are close enough to walk to (there are some stairs but you get a great view of the harbor) as for the Hotel, the grounds a perfectly manicured, the lobby is clean and modern, the rooms are nicely appointed and spacious, beds were awesomely comfortable!. We only ate once at the Hotel, breakfast on our last day, kids ordered off the menu and adults did the buffet, both were good but nothing to rave about… its breakfast hard to make it real exciting!

Every staff member we encountered was professional and accommodating, all charges were explained upfront during check in.

Only concern was lack of self-parking, we knew going in that Valet was additional and the rate was similar to other hotels we’ve stayed at but to not have an option was a little disappointing, Wi-Fi was available for a charge, we didn’t use it as cell service was more than adequate.

We will definitely consider this property when planning our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug5702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for the lovely post! We love creating memorable getaways for our guests.
We are thrilled that you found us!
We hope that you are able to visit us this summer with your kids so they can experience our Kid's Splash Zone and the Kahuna Laguna Kid's Club.
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay! The rooms were spacious and clean, the spa was lively and my massage amazing, Sunday brunch was superb!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4travelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veracruz, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I spent a week end in this hotel recently and I had a wonderful relaxing experience. First class-plus bedrooms. Beautiful ocean view. Personel especially kind. Surrondings: so, so nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for the lovely post! We love creating memorable getaways for our guests. We hope you relax with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent two nights at the Resort and loved every minute of it. From the greeting and attentiveness of the valet parkers to the wonderful experience of the front desk, this is one of the finest resort properties we have ever stayed at. The room, an upgraded suite, was magnificent with an ocean view. The balcony had two high chairs to look over the railing at beautiful sunsets. With two widescreen HD tv's even lolling around the room was enjoyable.

The bedding was typical of the Marriott program with their signature comfort. Housekeeping did an impeccable job at keeping the room clean and freshly toweled. Wonderful chocolates paired with turn-down service extended service well into the evening.

The bar is a welcome place to spend the time right before sunset. With fair priced drinks, good pours, and wonderful service it is reminiscent of an era that deserves a return.

The staff exists to serve....a job that they all take seriously and perform well. We never waited more than three minutes for our car to arrive.

My only complaint, and a minor one at that, is that the valet parking costs $30.00 per night. This is stated on a sign that you cannot see when you drive into the property. There is no notice of it over the valet stand, and the valet never mentioned it upon checking in. Minor, only because it came as a surprise on the bill.

Room Tip: You definitely want an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marklue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey K, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
WOW! Thank you for the detailed review of your stay. We are very delighted that you had a memorable experience at the resort. We value our staff very much and we take pride in the level of service every member brings to our guests. I am delighted to hear that you were able to experience this level of service upon arrival at our resort.

We are very happy that you were able to enjoy an ocean view room and take in the beautiful sunsets of Dana Point. With our newly remodeled guest rooms, we have provided our guests with 250 thread count Frette Linen Beds that are extremely comfortable.

We hope you come back to experience our new Happy Hour in our OverVue Lounge. We also have added new items to our OverVue Lounge menu.

We regret that you were unaware of the parking charges as we inform guests in a few different areas regarding these fees. On the confirmation you received for your guestroom our parking fee is noted under your room rate. In addition, the parking fee is noted on our website under Guest Services.

We look forward in seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
2.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
12.5 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
403 reviews
1.0 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
7.6 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price range (per night): $345 - $581
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing