We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not pet friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The hotel location can't be beat. Views are breathless, facility is spotless clean, bed was comfy, and (most) staff offer great service and attitude. The lighting in the room was too dim for my preference. Aside from this, my 2 main gripes are their pet policy and poor food quality.

The hotel charges $150 for non-refundable cleaning fee and $50 for boarding fee. That said, my dog got nothing. I had to sign a waiver form and provide my cell phone just in case my dog makes too much noise. For a high-end hotel, I was shocked at such policy. The Westin does not charge a fee and provides a big fluffly "Heavenly" dog bed with a fancy water and food bowl.

The food was to be desired, especially given the high-end price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWithRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize if your pet did not receive the royal treatment that we normally provide on a daily basis. Perhaps you could share more with us about your experience. If you would be so kind to call our Executive Office at (949) 240-2000, it would be very helpful for us. We have quite an extensive pet program for all of our valued 4-legged friends. Thank you once again. We look forward to speaking with you, and also welcoming you back for a wonderful experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,267)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,735 - 1,739 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

We spent three nights at the Ritz and enjoyed it very much. It is a huge facility and takes some getting used to for size. The view overlooking the Pacific is fantastic. The outside bar was a great place to relax. We ate one meal in the restaurant overlooking the ocean and the food was excellent. Our only complaint was that it took some time to retrieve our car even when we called ahead of time as the place was very busy with weddings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding our valet services. It will be shared with our team constructively. We look forward to welcoming you back one day very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed at the RC-Laguna Niguel for five nights. We were there for a company outing/company fun type of event. Our room was decent sized, but not particularly large. We are a family of three, including a three year old. Our room had a king sized bed and we could have had a cot brought in, but we declined as our son was easily able to sleep (and be comfortable) on the chaise lounge at the end of bed. The bathroom had too much white marble for my taste, but was ample in size with a private toilet so that more than one person could be in the room.

Although there are rooms with much nicer views to be had at this hotel than we had, I was OK with our view. We were located on the ground level on the adult only pool side of the complex. This pool is just a bit above us and our views were of the greenery surrounding the pool. This provided for more privacy than those who may be a bit higher on that side or by the other pool where anyone can look into your room.

What I liked about this hotel the most is it setting. The views from the cliff looking out to the beach are spectacular and getting down to the beach is an easy walk (or ride if you want to take their shuttle). We were fortunate in that we had a few evening dinners/cocktail parties outside which made the events just a notch more special. Being an east coast gal, seeing the sunset (rather than the sunrise) over the ocean is a nice treat. The meals provided by the RC were wonderful...especially the almond croissants at breakfast. Although some folks may not think of this as being a bonus, I liked that the hotel was more horizontal than vertical. That meant a lot of walking. Once I figured out the lay of the land, it was fairly easy to navigate. With all of that walking you would wonder why you would need their gym, but it is definitely worth a visit and working out while looking out over the ocean and watching the pelicans swoosh by is not to be missed.

So, what I didn't like about this place? Well, being car less made it a bit difficult to get off the reservation so to speak. We had a couple of nights on our own for dinner and the closest non RC restaurant was about a mile down the PCH. They do have a house car which we called one night to pick us up so that we did not have to walk back to the hotel in the dark.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noranekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you, it was nice having you with us. We hope you have the opportunity to return and spend time with us for a vacation! We will be sure to create memories for you that will last a life time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Beautiful property, room overlooks the gorgeous ocean, room was beautiful, but small, nice balcony, great service, very friendly. Elegant hotel. Next time we would not fly into L.A., though! Too far of a drive! Gorgeous hotel and location. My teen son loved to body surf but it is freezing cold, so get a wet suit!

Room Tip: I don't know if any rooms lack an ocean view, but you really don't want to stay here unless...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for your nice comments! Next time you visit, please fly into John Wayne Airport. It will save you so much time. We agree with your recommendations....bring a wetsuit and stay in an ocean view room! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

While the views are amazing, the rooms are in dire need of an upgrade We spent 2 nights here and the hotel is also so spread out the we got lost 3 x. my room had a terrible view. Concierge service was non existent as we called a few times for reservations and we did not receive a return call. Ordered breakfast as well which never came up.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faulkner8251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It would give us great pleasure if we could speak with you by phone to address each area of concern. Please contact the Executive Office directly at your convenience at (949) 240-2000. Thank you! You will be pleased to know that our room renovation is currently scheduled to begin toward the end of this year. We know you will enjoy the new enhancements when finished. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
17.0 km away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,546 reviews
9.8 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
785 reviews
5.0 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
441 reviews
31.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,525 reviews
9.0 km away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Address: One Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $723 - $1,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxury coastal living at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, a resort in Dana Point, California situated high on a seaside bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and offering a relaxed Southern California vibe near Laguna Beach, Los Angeles and San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing