We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Ritz Carlton!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zurich region
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Simply Ritz Carlton!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We spent 5 days at the Ritz Carlton and we went through a number of different experiences. We booked a package with Ocean front view and a "Comfort You" package that included breakfast and 100 USD resort credit.

The first experience was very nice. We had a very friendly welcome at the reception and we received a standard room with a fantastic ocean view. We spent the first minutes on the balcony and just said: WOW!

The room was pretty much Ritz Carlton standard. The one thing that I have never experienced at a Ritz Carlton though: it really did not smell nice. It felt a bit like a smoking room and some people tried to refurbish but never really could get rid of the old smoke. I felt that this was not really appropriate for this sort of rate. Nevertheless, we thought that we might ask for a room change the next morning. Then, the next surprise, something that has never happened to us, not even in a youth hostel...: it was wet in the bed! Underneath the sheets, an area the size of about two hands was wet. I seriously did not want to know what it was, I just felt it was definitely time to change the room. I went to see the same clerk at the reception and he was very helpful and arranged for another room. We finally got a pretty big suite. The view was a bit less spectacular, but still very nice. That was sort of a bumpy start into a beach vacation.

The rest of the stay was very nice:

- Bar: the terrace of the 180blũ is simply spectacular. The view is great, people are super nice. The drinks and food are very expensive though (as you would expect from this unique place)

- Restaurant: we had dinner at the Raya. The food is nice and again expensive, however, we missed some "normal" food. The menu was a bit too fancy for our taste, hence, during the rest of our vacation, we looked up some other restaurants around the hotel and we found a very nice italian place called "Stellas" just about 5 minutes from the hotel

- Fitness: it is probably one of the nicest fitness centers I have very seen in a hotel, mainly because of the great view to the ocean (see picture)

- Beach: the beach is very nice, it seems to be a popular spot for surfers. The water was a bit too cold for swimming during this time of the year, but we spent some time walking along the beach

- Pool: I read some reports that people were missing the nice view from the pool. We actually liked the quiet spot in a patio area. The pool bar is also very nice and they serve some "normal" food...

- Service: people were very friendly and helpful, just the way you would expect it from a Ritz Carlton

- Things to do: I booked a surfing lesson at the Concierge desk. They fixed everything for me, I spent two hours with a surf pro and even though I have never surfed before, I had a lot of fun in the (cold) ocean. I would definitely recommend to do this.

Overall, despite the bumpy start, we liked the vacation very much. It can always happen that some things go wrong, then it is really up to the way how they fix the problem. And we were very happy how they did!

We would definitely stay again the Ritz Carlton when visiting SoCal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donrodolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We will use it as a learning and coaching tool for our leaders. They pride themselves on listening and responding, in order to be the best. As you know, we are not perfect however we will ensure that any difficulty you are having is responded to promptly and to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon. We will not let you down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,369
    396
    194
    102
    52
See reviews for
507
664
44
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

A very casual yet elegant Ritz. Rooms are standard RC rooms. The views are spectacular, and spent half my nights at 180 Blu on the back terrace....it was purely addictive. A must to go back just to relax.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzydiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
We enjoy providing luxury experiences with a playful approach. We are thrilled you noticed!
We look forward to welcoming you back for many more relaxing and elegant stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junction City, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Our youngest son and his girlfriend planned a couple of days get-away for his birthday at the Ritz-Carlton Laquna Niguel. Unbeknownst to his girlfriend our son was going to propose to her sometime during the trip...after he had spent some time trying to pick the perfect moment we suggested he consider "popping the question" sometime during dinner. I offered to contact the property and ask if they might help in pulling off the surprise not really knowing what would work best or what they would be open to. Bryon Bowker took the call, listened to what we were thinking, made suggestions. Long story short, Bryon facilitated the unnoticeable transfer of the ring from our son to the staff, surprise delivery of the ring to the table disguised as an entree on a bed of rose petals and later followed up with a "Congratulations" designed dessert. Lastly, we had asked about a surprise birthday cake, however since our call was at the 11th hour and the properties bakery couldn't make one due to other commitments....Bryon had one sourced from a nearby bakery to make it all happen. Bryon and the staff delivered more than we expected on a very short notice, were enthusiastic and showed genuine care in what they were doing. They helped make the couples moment extra special and one that will be long remembered. (Ratings on Value/Sleep Quality/Cleanliness/Location/Rooms and Breakfast are the couples review)

Room Tip: Ask for a coastal or beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinH275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Our ladies and gentlemen take pride in making sure all of our guests, including our littler ones are well taken care of, and most of all very happy! We agree, our Club Level experience ranks amongst the best in the world. We look forward to creating more memories for you in the near future. We encourage you to secure your reservations well in advance as our Club Level fills up very quickly. We will share your review with our Club team....they enjoy the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Having heard so much about the Ritz Carlton hotel chain and how exceptional their hotels are, I finally got a chance to experience one along with my husband and children.

My husband booked a weekend stay at the Ritz Carlton, Laguna Niguel in Orange County, California. Right from the moment I entered the front drive, I felt magically relaxed and excitedly looked forward to a unique experience. This place captured the charm and relaxation that we longed for. The location of this hotel is breathtaking. It sits high above the cliffs of Dana Point above popular Salt Creek Beach. The view wrapped us into a state of mind that we won’t forget soon. The experience is what I call a magnified luxury, nestled in an elegant and peaceful setting.

The high points of the property was the exceptional ‘Ritz-Carlton service’, fantastic beach-front location with a semi-private bluff and waves great for surfing, excellent five-star facilities and a very special sea exploration program for children by the celebrated oceanographer and naturalist – Jacques Cousteau.

The staff and the service at this Ritz- Carlton are fantastic. The doorman who greeted us appeared genuinely happy to see us, and addressed us by our first names which I thought was pretty impressive. He was sharply dressed in a crisp white shirt and khaki pants. He had a radio earphone like the secret service officers wear and used the radio to communicate our arrival to the front desk. Our bags were loaded on to the cart and we were escorted inside to the front desk by the doorman.

At the front desk, the agent was waiting for us with two glasses of champagne- what a nice touch! Almost immediately we slipped into vacation mode. As if this was not enough, after handing us over our keys to the ocean view room, we were introduced to our personal guest relations coordinator who was going to be our personal concierge at the hotel. She escorted us to our room and in doing so explained to us all the facilities on the resort. She also acquainted us with the recreational options, gave us information on the children’s activities, spa services & very subtly sold us on restaurant reservations, spa services and suggested that we have the kids experience the Cousteau program.

Our room was over-sized and tastefully decorated over-looking the Pacific Ocean. It was beautifully furnished in hues reflective of the sand and sea; the bed looked so inviting and comfortable with plush goose-down comforters and pillows. I really felt in love with the way the bathroom was designed- marble floor, double sinks, a soaker tub and a separate shower with steam settings. Without wasting much time, we quickly freshened up and went down to the restaurant for lunch. The choices on the lunch menu were elaborate and mouth watering. The food was flavorful and the service extensive. What was particularly impressive was how the server noticed that we only ate the flatbread in the bread basket and he brought more flat bread and of a few varieties. The chicken club was good, but the accompanying sweet potato fries were delicious.

After having a scrumptious meal at the restaurant, we decided to take a walk to explore the resort facilities. The general lobby was shimmering with shining marble floors, large chandeliers and fresh floral arrangements everywhere we looked. The facilities included the breath-taking ocean front fitness center, two tennis courts, outdoor and indoor swimming pools
and luxurious lawn areas overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The overall cleanliness of the place and the sparkling look of the resort gave a very good feel. The views of the Pacific Ocean, white sandy beaches and incredible surf filled waves were very relaxing. People were basking in Southern California sun, kids were making sand castles on the beach and sea gulls were busy foraging for food on the semi-private beach that was the hotel’s property.

Later in the afternoon, the children spent their time with a member of the Cousteau team who took them to the beach and exposed them to the many tide pools, marine life, the tide cycles and beach conservation. They made the educational journey interesting as the kids came back and could not stop talking about their experience. My younger one who was 7 years old at the time, I assumed would come back famished and the first thing she would ask for is food, but she totally surprised me by literally pulling on me to take her to the tide pool yet again. In her excited voice she said, “Mom, the tide pools were so cool. I want to show you the starfish, snails, the tube worms and many more crawly creatures.” It was amazing to watch the enthusiasm in her voice which did not leave me any choice but to go with her to witness the colorful organisms in the tide pool. And I must say, it was quite a fascinating experience.

I felt that the hotel was a little on the expensive side and the a la carte pricing model meant that there was a charge for just about all hotel services incremental to the room rate. Having the option to an all inclusive package, would make it appealing for families travelling with children. Having said that, I believe the key piece is the quality of their people and their attitude towards service.

In summary, if one is looking for a great and memorable vacation, I highly recommend choosing a Ritz-Carlton. Their legendary service, excellent locations and facilities make them the best in the business.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executve Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
What an amazing and well written review...thank you! We couldn't have said it better ourselves. Thank you for noticing all of the littlest details that we strive to provide every single day to every single guest. We are delighted you were able to experience our Jean-Michel Cousteau program. It is one of a kind. You are our family now, welcome home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

By far the most beautiful ritz property we have ever stayed at..just gorgeous! We were here as a family for 5 nights, upgraded to club following an initial "so-so" room with minimal view and VCR/tv not working properly. Following that first evening, we were showered with service..especially on the club level. The girls are amazing..helpful, sweet and eager to please. The only complaints we had were due to the initial first night, a spa service that was billed incorrectly and unexplained (an employee "hinting" at additional gratuity)..and corporate functions on the lawn directly below our balcony several afternoons and one evening. With that being said, the spa service was credited back and a minor reduction in room cost for the evening of the corporate event was provided (would have liked a bit more done for this as it really did prove to be a nuisance with a 4 yr old attempting to go to sleep or nap during the afternoon speaker)..

I will say this amazing property by far exceeds and surpasses the hotel del Coronado, which we stayed at on our journey back to san Diego before departing home!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rfcflf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is very helpful. We have noted all of your concerns and preferences in our database and will ensure your next visit is flawless. We are delighted you left the resort with some wonderful memories and we look forward to creating more memories for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
9.8 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
730 reviews
5.0 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
653 reviews
17.0 km away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
389 reviews
31.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,273 reviews
3.1 km away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price range (per night): $931 - $1,562
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing