We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dana Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Romantic”
Reviewed 3 January 2007

- Absolutely great in every way - service, food, views, rooms
- Would love to stay there again

  • Liked — Rooms, Views
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed November 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    93
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
309
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2006

This hotel, which is part of the Four Sisters Inns, provides excellent quality and value. The rooms are spacious with nice bathrooms (even the cheapest City View rooms). Nice touches, like teddy bears on each bed. You get appetizers and wine in the afternoon, and a great morning breakfast. There is a great view of the ocean at the end of the street, and nice landscaping and outdoor sitting areas. There are free bicycles to check out, including bicycles for two. Off-season rates were reasonable -- look for website deals.

  • Liked — Very comfortable, with good breakfast and not like a chain hotel
  • Disliked — City view instead of harbor view
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank worldwide_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2006

Pros: Absolutely gorgeous location.
Drop-dead view of the ocean from the patio
Nice comfortable room
Friendly, helpful staff
Free sodas
Whirpool tub in the room
Bathrobes in the room
Nice appetizers and wine in afternoon

Cons:
Breakfast was so-so.
Next time I'll go next door (If a Sunday) and have the Cannon's brunch
Very close to Cannon's and if a wedding is going on, you feel like you are part of it.
TV small
Bed nice but a little soft

Overall this place is a gem. We were going to book at the Ritz Carlton, but decided it was just too pricey so chose the Blue Lantern instead. We took one of the Pacific Edge rooms and it was $255 for a Saturday night. But worth every cent as far as location. I started the stay off with a nice relaxing soak in the whirlpool tub in the bathroom. It was wonderful!

This is a place for adults and couples. I wouldn't advise taking children here although there seemed to be several there. It's a little larger than a Bed and Breakfast but very cozy and quiet.

We will definitely go back! My husband and I absolutely loved the beauty of the place and it's probably the best place I've ever stayed on the ocean. The view was absolutely gorgeous.

When I got home I discovered I had left my glasses in the room and the staff was very helpful finding them for me and getting them shipped back to me promptly.

I agree with some others here that the breakfast could be better. Ours was oatmeal, fruits, potatoes and a frittata type egg dish - no breakfast meats which always disppoints my husband. I'm a coffee, oatmeal type person so ok for me. But if you are looking for a full breakfast this isn't the place.

Someone told me to try the Cannon's Brunch (they are right next door). They said it was the best brunch they ever had.

I was saying to my husband that this was probably the most beautiful place we have ever stayed, but then he reminded me that we stayed at the Ahwahnee in Yosemite last year and I had to agree with him. That was more beautiful. But the Blue Lantern had a much nicer (bigger) room and cost less than the Awahnee. And the Ahwahnee didn't have a whirlpool tub!

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YLMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2006

The Blue Lantern is a fantastic Dana Point experience!
It is located on the Pacific, it is absolutely lovely inside -- spotless - decor is charming - the staff is the BEST ever and it is an absolute joy to stay there. Make your reservation early because lots of others know how great this place is.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Go there!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank QUALITYTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

We stayed at the Blue Lantern Inn for four days and we found that for the price they charge they sure cut a lot of corners. I believe they could have offered up better food. Pancakes and potatoes and hard boiled eggs can't be a cheaper breakfast to feed someone and it was a lot of carbs! Oh they had muffins, cereal, and bagels too - more carbs! they had the coffee, tea, and juice as well but to me it looked like they could have done a better breakfast for their customers and it would not break the bank.

Helpful?
6 Thank brecla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
1.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
11.5 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
387 reviews
2.4 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.9 km away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Point
Price range (per night): $341 - $469
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious inn was featured in Conde Nast Traveler and features fabulous views of the Pacific from just about every window of this four diamond bed and breakfast inn -- dramatically located on a bluff above the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Blue Lantern Inn's guests savor a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. Other amenities include on site spa treatments, a fitness center, two meeting rooms and bicycles for exploring the beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lantern Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blue Lantern Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing