We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
72
43
16
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
43
16
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchensan clementeone bedroom unitpool and jacuzzibeach chairstime shareliving roomthrough rciocean viewmexican restaurant right next doorgas grillrocky beachwonderful weekboogie boardstrain trackslocation is greatbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We spent a 7-night stay here in an ocean-view one-bedroom unit. The complex is very clean, check-in went well (Amanda was super!), our room was nicely appointed, and the kitchen had full-size appliances, including a dishwasher.

Our king-size bed was very comfortable and the trains that run directly across the highway do not sound their horn (no crossing here so no need for the horn, we assume). It did not disturb our sleep. The units are undergoing updating and ours probably was one of those recently done units (221). The small patio had a gas grill, as well as a table and 4 chairs.

There is a cross-walk in front of the property but the elevated cross-over to the beach is not yet complete so access to the beach is via the next cross-walk up the road.

The property has a nice little community room, a heated pool (80 degrees), a spa (102 degrees), a small fitness room, underground (and above ground) parking with decently sized spaces, a linen exchange once a week, and internet connectivity at a decent speed. The beach-themed interiors are a combo of wood-look vinyl planks and new muted-tone carpeting in the bedroom.

Walkability is a bit of a challenge and it is best to bring your grocieries with you upon check-in as there is no close-by stores of any kind.

Next door is a really nice Mexican Cantina.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks for the taking the time to write such a thoughtful review - we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

There are so many activities and sightseeing close by and the ocean views are wonderful. Two excellent restaurants are next to the property and Dana point Harbor is nearby. We went on a whale watching trip there.
There is a beach access ( bridge over "Coastliner" train tracks } and complimentary beach equipment is available as well as Bicycles for cruising on beach bike trails.

Room Tip: Ocean/beach views are my reference, east side is quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobhastings7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thanks for the great review, Bob - we're glad you had a fun time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Surfside’s location right across from the ocean is ideal. The cruiser bicycles provide a tool for a short jaunt to ride right on the beach! The staff is very helpful in suggesting nearby attractions. The staff really CARES.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GlendaMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thanks for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

It is a nice place. Good location. Shower did not work. Seemed to be a timeshare. I think it would be a good place to hang for a couple of days by the beach in the summer. It had a kitchen and a small living room.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thanks for rating us, Nancy - we're sorry to hear you had problems with the shower and hope we were able to resolve for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

I thought this was a hotel booking not a timeshare. Thoroughly disappointed to have to make sure my room was clean upon leaving or pay a fee on top of the fees they already charge. No clean towels given bare minimum toilet paper rooms very dated sofa extremely uncomfortable. I’m on vacation trying to relax not playhouse maid.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Hi Carole, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your stay with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns - please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly. We would be happy to take your call. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews